Stopping in St. Augustine on the Way Back Home

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

anchor_shot.jpg
(credit: @corinnestokes)

We're on our way back today from Miami Florida for a conference I've sponsored and attended for 6 years straight. Oh, I also did a quick unconference session with a handful of people in attendance talking about @utopian-io and STEEM. Blew some minds for sure. This year we visited Epcot before the conference, and today we hung out in Historic Downtown St. Augustine. We also really enjoyed the Colonial Quarter.

If you ever find yourself in St. Augustine, Florida, I highly recommend the Colonial Quarter tour. It was fun seeing old blacksmithing techniques, a flintlock arms demonstration, and just learning some interesting history as well. Here are a some pictures from our day. I know I have a lot of comments to reply to from my previous post. I've been busy at the conference the last few days, but I will get to them eventually.


IMG_9199.jpg

Give me a lever, a pulley, and a blockchain, and I can move the world.

IMG_9194.jpg

Are you familiar with this confederate flag? I wasn't. I've only known of the traditional battle version.

IMG_9219.jpg

Devon practicing some knots with a boat construction going on in the background. This is an example of the same boat as the Niña & Pinta from the Columbus expedition.
IMG_9193.jpg

IMG_9196.jpg

IMG_9197.jpg

IMG_9198.jpg

We've come a long way from this:

IMG_9195.jpg

IMG_9200.jpg

The kids in our tour got to drill a bit with wooden guns.

IMG_9201.jpg

The blacksmith workshop was my favorite part of the tour.

IMG_9204.jpg

IMG_9206.jpg

IMG_9207.jpg

IMG_9208.jpg

They used to fire off the cannon also, but apparently the noise was a little too much for the neighbors (though they did fire off a flint lock pistol, which was pretty cool).

IMG_9205.jpg

Climbing the lookout tower was really cool as they had numbers on the ground you could align yourself with to see historical landmarks.

IMG_9209.jpg

Last time we drove through here we visited this fort which was also a lot of fun:

IMG_9210.jpg

The leather shop example.

IMG_9212.jpg

The armory.

IMG_9213.jpg

IMG_9214.jpg

They also had a really cool example of a print shop.

IMG_9216.jpg

IMG_9217.jpg

IMG_9218.jpg

Here's the kitchen inside the original home which was really neat.

IMG_9220.jpg


After the tour, we walked around a bit and got lunch including some really good fish, chips, and chowder on the main strip. Devon wanted a silly picture.

IMG_9223.jpg

They even listed which boats caught the fish we enjoyed (the blackened Po Boy I had was great, as was the clam chowder).

IMG_9222.jpg

Washed it down with a local Florida beer.

IMG_9224.jpg

I gave in to the kids, and we shared some ice cream for dessert.

IMG_9226.jpg

I even grabbed a couple cigars, which I almost never smoke.

IMG_9232.jpg

IMG_9231.jpg

There was a hot sauce place with some amazing flavors also. Even Devon tried a couple and liked them.

IMG_9230.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this little picture trip through St. Augustine and Colonial Quarter.

small_movie.gif


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, STEEM witness, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Visit UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

I really liked the pictures. The colonial quater is beautiful. Seeing these picture makes me wish I was present in those times.

Though I'm still quite new to Steemit, one of my favorite things about it is this fascinating window it affords us into the lives of others – people we'd never otherwise have access to. It occurs to me that, these candid conveyances of one's personal experiences – something as universally relatable as a family outing, expressed in snapshots and words – they have the ability to sincerely cultivate compassion in the viewer. Indeed – in a world so torn between imaginary sides, this is not only a rare gift, but an imperative one if we ever hope to find peace amongst ourselves. • Thank you for sharing a part of your life with all of us.
Here's a bit of my world – I'm obsessed with raindrops and macro-photography. ;)
steemit-posts-1.jpg

Very cool picture! Thanks for sharing.

I try to be the same person offline and online. I think, in the near future, when people consider the word “integrity” they are going to think about this more and more. Some people have their “work” selves and their “home” or “family” selves and their “out with friends” self. I prefer just being me. Those who appreciate me for who I am will appreciate that. The rest would never be satisfied with someone trying to impress them or act as they prefer anyway.

The blockchain gives us a chance to timestamp who we are now. We may be different in the future (hopefully we’re always changing, growing, and improving), but today we are here. Today we can post and remember it later, whoever we become.

The steemit blockchain always blow peoples mind when it's talked about;

I also did a quick unconference session with a handful of people in attendance talking about @utopian-io and STEEM. Blew some minds for sure.

You have great and amazing pictures from this tour and believe the kids really had fun and did enjoy your mini picture trip.

Thank you. This photo shared this photo is very nice. This is an awesome photo, and you're really a good photographer.

woo, photography very much and more beautiful, I really like this picture. thank you

The ground work being done one of the most senior Steemians (a witness) is a golden example for everyone else. We all benefit from spread of good things about Steem and the apps built on it. We should all do what you are doing even on a vacation. Your act of letting people know about Utopian and Steem is an amazing service. I try to do that a lot in my interactions now.

Best of luck for the conference. I would like to watch a video of what you say there. Hoping to watch it soon.

Thanks. :)

It was just a quick unconference session a couple days ago, and it went really well. A lot of the PHP conferences I go to have unconference sessions and they are often empty, but I was happy a handful of people showed up. They were pretty excited about it, and Chris Tankersley started blogging because of it, so that's cool.

I plan to do a lot more conference speaking about STEEM in the future. Maybe eventually I can give a keynote, like I did in 2014.

Welcome back @lukestokes.
You should have got the blacksmith to make you some bitcoin or steem while you were waiting!! I think one of the byproducts of making the bitcoin and push it into the water it creates some Steem too so double whammy ;)

Haha. That’s not quite how mining works. :)

ha ha I know but wouldn't it be nice if it did!! would save me a lot of hassle from investing in mining farms.

Lol its amazing when u tell people about steemit and blow their mind off !!! Specially when they don’t believe you, 😂

And thats really sweet of u that u reply everyone and if not, you take good care of your commenters!!

That boat caption is hilarious! “We have come a long way from here” 😂😂😂. I wonder how did they sit in such a lean boat at that time 😅 Just look at it , not even a single person can fit in there !!

Nice post @lukestokes :)

19BC2FC5-99D3-4669-AAE1-BFB8C52A2963.png

I'd tip the thing over, for sure, but maybe with some practice... :)

you must have had a great time! that place looks awesome i bet your kids had a blast:) st augustine is a special place!

This is lovely. Living with history is always beautiful. Nice moment then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82