Turning Your Code into a Company

The Parts They Don’t Tell You

I've given various talks at PHP and tech conferences over the years and at the end of 2014 was asked to do my first keynote at the PHP World conference in Washington, D.C. Here are the slides for the talk. I wasn't sure how it would go, given I'd never been on the "big stage" as a keynote speaker before, and I was the opening keynote for the conference.

According to joind.in, it actually went really well and was rated 5 stars with 29 votes. The talk is 40 minutes long, so feel free to read the joind.in reviews before deciding if it's worth your time. Here's the original talk description:

Somewhere around 2005 and 2006 my friend and I started tinkering around with building a better shopping cart experience because all the others sucked. Since 2007, we've processed over half a billion dollars worth of transactions and enabled thousands of online stores. It was really, really hard. This talk will tell the story of taking some code and persevering it into a company called FoxyCart. If you've ever wanted the liberty of being your own boss, hopefully you'll find yourself in this story and determine if you have what it takes to succeed.

(Note: the video says 2015, but it was actually 2014)

Are you working to build your software into a company?

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this me. Massively useful and greatly inspiring. There's so much to say. But I will say only one thing. You are a genuinely good human being with great values!

Thank you. :)

Wow, seems you have a nice vote following trail.

It's an experimental service by MinnowBooster. One or more of my comments are promoted automatically but it is not free. On average, MB sells my 2-3 votes of various percentages and I get 85 % of what users pay to get voted. I use that balance to promote comments and it helps them rise at least above the spam, and sometimes at the top. More visibility basically.

I myself didn't know where they were coming from until I check my MB history on their site.

Watching it now. I hope it gives me advice for screem xD

I hope so too. Please let me know what you think once you get through it. If you have any further questions, I'd be happy to help however I can.

Great post @lukestokes . I believe coding in schools needs to start as early as 3rd grade. Not only does it teach organizational skills, cause/effect, but mathematics. Scratch from MIT works well.

Oh, I love scratch. I need to do a post about this site I built with my son a couple years ago: https://gamesbydevon.wordpress.com/

Genius. Only if everyone was thinking this way. :) A lot of people have a mind of "i am going to work for someone and build stuff for them" rather than "I'm going to create something and make it profitable".

Thanks Tessa. :)

Needed this! Bookmarked and upvoted, but I know it is worth the upvote and will respond further a bit later.

That's a lot of transactions - imagine you would have had graphene to speed up the process a bit ;-) Bookmarked this one for later watching ;-)

Thanks @steemuwe. If you do get through, I'd love to know what you think about.

Will give you my feedback - from an entrepreneur perspective with no coding skills beyond some javascript reverse engineering when working on wordpress backends ;-)

Great post and video! As a developer and an entrepreneurship writer I find this to be very useful information. Thank you!
~ Np

Thanks for sharing, really enjoyed watching this and was helpful...

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45