Love's Epic Journey Through Latin America: How I have Traveled For a Year With a $1000.00USD

in #travel6 years ago

Don't tell me you can't travel because you don't have enough money.


HOGWASH!, I say!


It's not the money that holds you back, it's your fear and lack of experience.
Trust, trust, trust is what you need.
My initial $1000 was all gone last August.
I was so scared I was in the bed for several days from stomach sickness.





Listen to your heart, not your fears.
This is the story of how I am coping with the fears and am manifesting sustainable travel.





My story begins with these two guys, Ezequiel and Ovat whom I met in Monterrey, Mexico.

I love, LoVe, LOVE these guys!


Our meeting was divinely ordained.
I had never hitchhiked before but thanks to them for breaking me into the world of hitchhiking I am currently a super confident hitchhiker.
I've successfully put my thumb out in 3 countries now.
Within seconds to a few minutes I get a ride.
Because of my curiously interesting appearance, I suspect, is why it is so easy for me.
People who pick me up want to know...wuts thuh storee with this laydy?


The Mexican Magical City Tour:
Real de Catorce y el éxodo dos




For more details about these awesome guys check out the above blog.
They truly put me on a course of confidence and success.
Now they are my soul friends.


Epic Journey Through Latin America: CATCH UP TIME! The Accumulated Links






This is Luzby and her 4 year old son, Lamar.
They are Panamanian.









This woman has been an awesome and amazing friend since I met her in 2013 when
she began supporting me in learning to make the
macrame jewelry of the street artists.

I believe she is my #1 Supporter.


During my visit to Panama in 2013 Lamar was only a couple weeks old.
She is a professional artesania, supporting herself and her son solely with her handcrafted jewelry.
Without ever really knowing it she has changed the course of my life in so many positive ways.
Click below to view my blogs about her and her art.

Handmade One of a Kind Panamanian Street Art: Supporting Art, Freedom, Single Moms and their Children SERPENTINE


When I broke my arm last October she opened her heart and her home,
happily housing, feeding and generally supporting me while I was basically handicapped.
She continues to support me by continuing to teach me whatever
I want to learn and by selling my handmade jewelry in the
tourist area of Panama city while I am traveling elsewhere.





When I travel in the city I ask around to my new friends, other travelers, locals, police, and hostel workers for information on cheap transportation such as buses, subways, taxis, trucks and motorcycle or human driven carts. Walking is often a great option.


Sharing taxis (which is way, way, way cheaper in Latin America than it is in the USA) and riding a subway with other travelers or locals is a great way to cut cost.
More often than not someone pays for me.
If I am invited somewhere the one who invited me is happy to sponsor the expenses.
They are in support of my travel intentions.





Going to the feria.


In the photo above you can see my new family that I adopted...or did they adopt me?
We are all packing up to hit the Panama Summer Fair scene.
Their summer is the same as the winter months in the
United States because that's when the rains stop.
I didn't make much money but I got a real taste of Panama culture.
There will be a blog coming up to describe what that was like.
I found free food, showers, and a free place to put up my tent.





These woman I met at the feria in Anton, Panama were happy to trade my handmade jewelry with me for food when I explained that I was hungry and don't have money for food.
I was immediately invited sit down. They gave me cold drinks,
hot creamy yucca and some amazing grilled beef.
We chatted as I ate.
The mother explained that she has 6 daughters, and a few grandsons.
They were curious to know my story.
All of them were very happy to have met me and hear about my travels.
Most people, I guess don't have the balls to do that but
I can truly say I have gotten pretty close to experiencing the hard life of the feria people.
Besides, look at the beautiful new people I was able to engage with.
Soon I will post a blog about with more about that experience.


~~~~~~~~~_~


It's important to explain here that not having access to food on occasion is
very doable for me because I actually fasted a few years ago for 30 days.
Because of that I can let go of my attachment to food control.
When I trust in the Universe and let go of attachment,
all that I need flows to me.





Working on an Ayahuasca farm in the middle of Panama for a couple months in trade for food, a place to hang my hammock, phone power cards, many free rides and a few other personal expenses that the owner covered just because he appreciated me and he's a great, supportive guy is one of the many ways I have sustained myself.


Using online services such as
Couchsurfing.com and HelpX.org
is another basic way I have been able to eliminate costs.





Selling my jewelry and dream catchers.
giving badass tarot readings both online and in person
cooking for people in exchange for food, money, and/or a place to crash.
I give massage,
run fundraisers,
teach english
and make trades.


Sometimes I am able to maneuver getting gifts sent stuff from home through local expat connections traveling to and fro the USA. Since I don't really eat much and my needs are basic and I can find a peaceful place inside myself when a need arises and just trust the Universe to provide.
A solution always presents itself as Everlove has grilled into my head.
And she is right.
I have not slept in the street or struggled with hunger.


Living at the Garden of Eden @gardenofeden for several years and being apart of the negative carbon footprint lifestyle that I learned from Quinn Eaker @quinneaker and Everlove @everlove with Sara Miller @saramiller is another
HuGe reason why I can do what I am doing.
Much of my success is owed to my family community, for
making me
tough, flexible, vulnerable and resilient in my
mind,
body
and spirit.





These are just a few stories and examples of my life after
the money was gone and how I am able to continue going.
But in truth my biggest secret is
trusting in the Law of Attraction.
I know that prosperity, abundance and what I feel I deserve from my subconscious, all need to be in alignment.
This is a daily journey.
Everyday I am more aware of where my fears lie.
Everyday I continue to introduce myself as Love.
And everyday I become more and more in alignment with my true love nature.
Then the Universe magically opens doors to meet all my needs.
I set my intent and it just happens.
No joke...no kidding.


So, you see, I have proven that you can go anywhere you want.
The only thing stopping you is

YoU




Keep Following.


I got many more fun-believable experiences,


and amazing photography,


I'm serious!


My stories are continuously unfolding as I continue my unique journey south.



Your UpVote, Follow, Repost and Comments support me to keep the...


Sort:  

This is a very valuable post. Great to see you showing off all your master training finely tuned with lots of dedication and hard work @gardenofeden
It is true, don't need money to do anything really if its of the utmost importance.

Blessings on the way~*~

I give credit where credit is due. You definitely get credit for a huge part of my ability to live like I do. There are many perspectives and experiences I had at the community that prepared me. It's a part of me everyday.

Any UpVote you feel inspired to give me is great blessing.

Loving the Steem!

Hey! I really enjoyed reading this!
I have been travelling for a long time in South America too and it is always nice to bump into a fellow explorer on Steem! I'll be in Peru for another month or so if you come this way!

Currently I am house sitting in Costa Rica through the beginning of June. The plan is then to continue south back to Panama then into Columbia. Actually getting into South America seems to be becoming a huge milestone. Peru is on the list but not for a few months from now.

Grateful for the reply.

Keep on Steeming!

Right on! Well yes, it can be a little daunting at the borders going south to be sure. Try to hit them between 1a.m. and 4a.m. for the least traffic, and if you have the extra pesos there are always handlers around that can help you skip lines. If you are on foot it will go much faster than waiting for buses or for the vehicle inspection as well. Good luck! and maybe we will meet in person when I return to Peru in October!

nice posting ,very valuable story

It's great to be appreciated and my experiences valued.
Grateful for the comment.

Great post @loveon. It's to fun to hear how your enthusiasm and capabilities grow as you let go and trust. Also glad this master training has paid off! It's potent stuff that will enhance a lifetime for sure!!!

Hoping to receive some of your badass cooking skills here soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93