Why Australia is the #1 choice for work & travel (My experience and tips)

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

After I graduated from school, I fulfilled my dream and traveled to Australia for a work & travel year. Traveling is a really huge part of my life (and I´m sure many of yours as well). We get to know different places and experience new things. Through this specific journey I gained more confidence and didn´t hesitate in trying out new things. Australia is the number one work & travel place (especially for us germans) and I really had to find out why!

# workandtraveltips

Before traveling to Australia there are some important things you need to do and know! 

1. Having a visa

That is the very first thing you need. I got mine online!

2. Travel insurance

Medical insurance is part of the visa requirements.

3. What to bring…

Plane ticket, passport… and don´t forget a cap and sunscreen :)

4. A lot of money

Make sure you bring a lot of money, because Australia is a pretty expensive place to visit. I know people who slept under tents for weeks and spend only a few dollars for food a day! That´s an unbelievable experience!
For those of you from Europe, Australian prices are comparable to Scandinavian countries. (One night in a dorm room is between 10$ up to $30.)  

5. Find work!

Due to the cost of living, most people who come to Australia for a year need to do some kind of work to supplement the money they bring over. It is sometimes really hard to find work in Australia, but there are a large number of pages dedicated to helping you find work. Many traveler are working in farms, doing some fruit picking and others are working in restaurants and coffeeshops (including me).

6. What will you see and do in Australia?

There is a lot to see and it is sometimes really hard to choose and decide the places to visit. Australia is such a huge country, get out and explore. Make sure you get to experience as much of it as you can. 

7. Enjoy your time and have fun!

You´re by yourself and independent! Don´t be afraid ask people for help, push your limits and try new things! And with this last point I want to let you know why I kept Australia so positive in my mind. Let me go back in time, collect all the beautiful memories and secure them here on Steemit...

# people

"G´day mate, how`s it goin´?"- That was my very first Aussi `slang´I learned in Australia.


Small talk in a restaurant or even at a checkout counter is a norm in Australia. Instead of a comment about the bad weather, you get a smile from Australians. It was a new thing for me to experience such a high level of friendliness. At the checkout in my country in Germany, there will be no further interaction after a "Hello/Guten Tag". You hardly hear something like "How are you doing?" or "How was your day?" here in Germany. Germans don´t initiate small talk, because they simply don´t see the point in showing interest in you… Not that I expect it, it´s just a normal thing here :) 


Australians compliment on your appearance or style and when when we talk, it´s like we have already known each other for a long time.  That´s why I love this country so much. People don´t think too much and say what ever comes to their mind. They genuinely try and make conversations, because they like to talk and are interested in what you might have to say. 


I made a lot of friends in Australia, especially through my workplace which was a small and cosy coffee in the CBD of Melbourne. I met people from Spain, Arabic, Dubai, Kenia, Japan, the States and many other places. I have learnt about different characteristics, experiences and home customs & cultures. I was pretty shy at the beginning, because I wasn´t used to being open in front of strangers. However, their open minded mentality makes me feel comfortable being around them!

If you like anything about other people whether they are friends or strangers, talk to them or make a compliment! It makes them smile by thinking back. :)

# placesivisited

Melbourne 

Melbourne is the capital city in the Australian state of Victoria. It rates highly in education, entertainment, health care, research and development, tourism and sport, making it the world's most livable city. 

Melbourne´s harbour

I´m standing in the middle right in front of my workplace at a little cosy coffeeshop, cuddling with my workmates from Melbourne and Frankfurt. It´s a really special place to me!

Federation square

Sydney

Sydney is the state capital of new south Wales and the most populous city in Australia and it surrounds the world´s largest natural harbour. The sense that there is always something going on somewhere makes Sydney pretty exiting: it is the big food scene, crazy nightlife and endless days at the beach.

Surfers Paradise (Queensland)

Surfers Paradise is a suburb within the local government area of City of Gold Coast in Queensland, Australia. I always call it the paradise of entertaiment!

Attractions to visit:

Aquaduck tours, gold coast bungy trampolines, sky point observation deck, jet boat extreme, currumbin wildlife sanctuary and surfers paradise river cruises.

Currumbin wildlife sanctuary

Amazing Australian wildlife, you can cuddle a koala; feed a friendly kangaroo, experience the wild lorikeet feeding, free-flight bird show and Australiana sheep shearing. Witness Aboriginal presenters perform didgeridoo and dancers shows, test your physical ability on the Adventure Parc High Ropes Course, an exhilarating 80 challenge tree-tops ropes course, let the kids loose on Wild Island, the fun-filled outdoor adventure playground and see their wonderful vets in action within the Wildlife Hospital precinct.

www.visitgoldcoast.com

These koala´s were so cute and fleecy. They spend their lives dozing in eucalyptus trees and gnawing on a few leaves before falling asleep again.

# food

It was a big opportunity for me trying out the dishes from all over the world! I sometimes felt overwhelmed by the big multi-cultural selection of restaurants. My number one food recommendation is definitely the Korean kitchen and especially the spicy kimchi hot pot, followed by hot plates of bulgogi beef drew my attention. It was literally a experience of addiction!  

Nandos

"Nando’s is famous for its Portuguese flame-grilled, butterfly‑cut chicken, which is marinated for 24-hours before being basted and cooked in Nando’s famous PERi-PERi sauce!"

www.nandos.com

My mouth already waters when looking at the picture! 

Japanese dish - Chicken don


Conclusion:

Travel is heaven! With Australia´s unique wildlife, tropical islands, beautiful capitol cities, diverse selection of food and open minded & easy going people is it one of the most interesting continents around the world. I´m really looking forward traveling back and explore more special spots. Have you heard about the 7 km Whiteheaven beach which stretch along Whitesunday island? That will be my next destination! 

(This picture is from www.letstravelmag.com)

By thinking about my journey again I feel really thankful having the opportunity to travel! I appreciate every moment I had and want to thank my family and all my friends for making my trip memorable.

Where was your special destination or what will be and why?

Much love

Lisa

                                                                                     

Follow me

@lisadang

Sort:  

First off, I really appreciate the follow. I'm following you back as well. The support here in the steemit community is quite amazing as compared to other platforms I've utilized. Your post should definitely have more upvotes and comments. You were so detailed in thorough in your approach to explaining your experiences in Austrailia and it makes me want to book a flight over there now. That's my wife's dream destination besides a few other locations. Whitesunday island looks beyond ridiculous in the captivating scenery sector :) the one thing I would not look forward to is the many types of arachnid/spiders that Austrailia has to offer along side the other ferocious, beautifully colored and diverse animals that live there. Would love to see them from afar but not up close and personal without protection. I respect the animal kingdom give them their distance lol. Glad you had an amazing experience there, Austrailians are very warmhearted and welcoming. I would love to try their food too. Keep traveling please and lookin forward to your next post. Upvoted

Wow I really appreciate your long comment. I did´t expect that. Yes, my experience was amazing and I´m really looking forward traveling back to explore the spots I haven´t seen yet. Your wife´s dream will definitely come true!! Best regards

Great post and beautiful pictures! I'll definitely go visit Australia myself as well!

Thank you :) Yes, you really have to!

Love your Post! I've never been to Australia but your post inspired me so much now I have to! The people in America are the same. So kind and friendly! Thats why I understand what you mean. The differnece between germans and australians...

Thanks so much, appreciate that. I have heard a lot about the positive energy of americans. L.a is on my destination list for the next year!

You definitely have to visit L.A.
First time I went to California was 2011. I cried when I had to leave the "City of Angels" but after that I visited L.A. nearly every year and it amazes me every time again. It became like a second home....

That sounds pretty amazing. I always get inspired by all the americans i meet, films and pictures. Really looking forward to it next year

Love your pictures! Australia is so beautiful!

Glad you liked it! Yes, it indeed is!

Good day mate. Australia... one of the place I want to go to.
The Opera house pic is not bad.
We have Nandos in Singapore but I find their normal portion too big for me. like i'm complaining :-)

Yes the portion is pretty huge. I always share it with my friend :P

OK, then it's seem there is some consistency globally. :-)

I am happy you had a nice time in Australia...Yummm I love Nandos too

I wish they have Nandos here in Germany. Do miss the the peri peri sauce :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43