Bienvenido a Guate(Maya) ! :)

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_3606.JPG

I Made it To San Marcos, Guatemala !!
(but it wasn't a smooth road to get here)

Due to leaving my computer charger at the airport not to mention arriving in fairly different universe (possibly the 5th dimension but that's a debate ! Lol) I have not posted on steemit for the entire time since arriving in Guatemala. Therefore, its a LOT. But I have a lot of photos and I hope to f course induce some humor as well. One should also note that one of my bosses aka the hostel owner @buttcoins just won the comedy open mic contest and you should check out his posts!! Right now I'm borrowing the laptop from the hostel because The World Cup is on TV and its the muy importante if you didn't know. ;)

Madness Begins: The Flight and Shopping in Guatemala (Guate) City

As a highly prepared person traveling with everything I own; I left my apartment 2 days early so that I could camp out and be a pain in the ass. As well I enjoyed waiting at the airport from 8 pm to 2 am because I couldn't check-in for my 5 o clock flight. So prepared. I think I should become a travel agent. Check-ins went fine though and I caught a quick nap. The spirit airlines lounge was very nice in Boston and was quite a surprise.

1B3FB361-BC3B-4FCD-8686-3AE0EF480B92.jpg

Another surprise happened when I was landing at my first stop and saw that El Volcan Fuego had erupted and 100's of people were dead or injured. It was a sad realization which moved to fear because the landing strip was closed in Guate City until 2 pm. My flight was canceled and I didn't know how to get a switch. In fact Spirit airlines had no other flights to Guate City until Thursday. I then had to get on my flight to Fort Lauderdale Florida and shut off my phone and internet. In Fort Lauderdale I panicked looking fr any option but I had only 2. Stay in Florida until the 11th, waiting for standby, spending all my money on hotels in Florida. OR buy a new ticket and try to get my money back from the trip insurance I took out (note: I still haven't been able to finish the claim. I might be fked there). At that I couldn't even get a flight because everyone was grabbing them up. Finally I got one and rushed off to the terminal, leaving my computer charger behind.

IMG_3579.JPG

Landing in Guate City at night I quickly realized that my 3 year old Spanish speaking level was not going to cut it. Luckily @buttcoins was talking to the people coming to pick me up. I almost left my backpack because that's how organized I am but I gt back in to the baggage claim and took off to the adorable Quetzalroo Hostel. I highly encourage anyone coming to Guate City to stay there. Its a beautiful building, with friendly people and the bed was comfier than anything I've been in recently.

IMG_3554.JPG

IMG_3562.JPG

IMG_3567.JPG

IMG_3568.JPG

Of course I made friends with the hostel dog. Never caught his name.

IMG_3571.JPG

IMG_3572.JPG

IMG_3575.JPG

IMG_3576.JPG

The next day I was invited to help volunteer but unfortunately a car was already ordered for shopping and i needed to make the trek to Hostel Del Lago in San Marcos. We went to a humongous store that put Cosco to shame and bought massive amounts of restaurant necessities. I caught a few pics (dominos!! I have a free pizza from there, perhaps I should go back to Guate City and cash in.)

IMG_3577.JPG

Gaute City, as little as I could see of it, was quite beautiful. Lush greenery accompanied most high-rise buildings which in-turn often boasted ornate architecture. Of course the wall art in Guatemala is beautiful and special but I also adore the little tiendas nestled in between the buildings where one can buy snacks and Agua Pura. My first purchase in Guatemalan currency was for 2 litres of water for 5 Quetzales aka .67 cents USD! That's actually kind of expensive as well. Very glad for MUCHO Lluvia (rain) which was a big difference to my previously traveling experiences where water was less available.

IMG_3578.JPG

A LONG AND EXTREMELY WINDING ROAD:

I didn't take any pictures during the 3 hour van ride because I was still jet-lagged and increasingly nauseated from the winding roads though the mountain.

IMG_3727.PNG

I'm fairly certain that we took the high and indubitably mountainous road (hehe) but I did still get Mcdonalds about halfway through. I also missed a rest stop and had to pull over and pee next to a cow. There was a lot of cows and sheep being herded along the way. I wish I had taken some photos but my phone actually died before I woke up. After a much windier road alongside a mountain cliff, we were finally at Hostel Del Lago in San Marcos.

IMG_3583.JPG

IMG_3670.JPG

I then proceeded to stay IN the hostel for the next 4 days. That should tell you how awesome it is. Don't get me wrong (yes writers I'm changing tense here) There is a lot to adjust to. Del Lago is in a village along side of a lake which is surrounded by mountains and a few volcanoes. In fact here is a tourists map of the lake:

IMG_3711.JPG

Hermit Del Lago

It has been rainy season, but its still relatively warm, so often overcast. There are mosquitoes and other bugs that like my plush pinkish arms and legs (less bug bites than Kenya though if I think about it). I got a cold and then diarrhea and absolutely hate being the new person. Awkward jokes that insult people and hiding in a corner by myself with Netflix has been standard. I spent some time with my buddy The Goblin King and explored the beautiful Hostel Del Lago grounds.

IMG_3600.JPG

IMG_3691.JPG

IMG_3586.JPG

IMG_3587.JPG

IMG_3686.JPG

The sun did come out though and did enjoy the amazing dock as well as the rest of San Marcos. There is a thriving ex-pat community that mingles with the local Guatemalans. Many of the Guatemalans here are Mayan! They speak another language called Kaqchikel (kah chee kel). To me, their cultural art and jewelry is very similar to the Native Americans of the Pacific Northwest (more on that later). I have spoken to the cooks in my bad Spanish and then listened in amazement when they spoke Kaqchikel. Its a beautiful and mellifluous language.

Adventurer Del Lago

After the first week of whinging and itching and sneezing, I have finally started to adjust so that I can see the beauty and benefits of being near Lake Atitlan. This is especially true for Hostel Del Lago. We attract so many talented people and have something happening every night whether its movies (I drew the board

Salsa Night (in food and music)
IMG_3688.JPG

Drum Circle Night
IMG_3684.JPG

Or just hanging with friends and the hostel pets.
IMG_3650.JPG

IMG_3652.JPG

Then I had the whole day and took the boat to San Pedro, a beautiful city on the side of a mountain with lots of amazing shops, art, and food/fun with some coworkers.

IMG_3696.JPG

IMG_3705.JPG

Immediately I chose the most gringo cafe (mostly for its WIFI, bathroom, and power but also fr its amazing latte and pan con canela (cinnamon roll). My Spanish lessons paid off because I used it everywhere albeit kinda terribly.

IMG_3699.JPG

IMG_3706.JPG

We found an amaaaaazing tienda, CAZA SUENOS, in which a very sweet local artist, Chona (or Chano but I can't remember) with leather and bead work and adorable shirts and skirts.

IMG_3703.JPG

IMG_3704.JPG
This is Chano!!

To me there was a distinct similarity to Native American clothing and I'm most likely going to go back. Let me know if you are in the US and want something from here (as well are willing to wait 3 months to get it heheh.)

IMG_3702.JPG

I proceeded to run allover San Pedro (okay actually I was chasing my friends) where I DID not find a computer charger that fit. I went a bunch of places but no luck. Weird. However I did enjoy the cafe again and more beautiful art and architecture!

IMG_3708.JPG

IMG_3710.JPG

IMG_3709.JPG

Then I came back to Del Lago to find more adventures awaited me by the people. A cool DJ (DJ Duncan) a hula dancer and a fire dancer who happen to be staying here!

This is Hostel Del Lago.

IMG_3778.JPG

IMG_3720.JPG

In the coming weeks I will start working on teen-programming and social media for a burgeoning local community center and some songs to perform.

I have taken up flute as well. ;)
IMG_3741.JPG

Thanks So Much For Reading!! I will try to post more often and possibly some more poetry. As well I have not been voting at all. :'( I'm so so sorry for that. If I get a better schedule then I can spend some time doing that when the internet is working! I will say that the work I have to do in order to pay for my room and board has been taxing but often pleasant. I sort of enjoy working in a restaurant like this through low season.

Sorry for sideways photos but it was so hard to upload them 😂 im done.

I wish you all Love, Power, and Resilience;

LIMABEING AKA CAPN GIRLPOWA

IMG_3787.JPG

Sort:  

Yay I am so glad you are down there! Always an adjustment period when you are the new person somewhere but sounds like you are already settling in. Yay flute! I hope you can share some of the songs with us all here :) That really sucks that the laptop charger is so hard to find. WHY DO COMPANIES MAKE PROPRIETARY CHARGERS?!? So stupid. Have fun! Much love - Carl

Funny thing is there are lots of hp laptops around here and a lot of different adapters!! But none fit mine. 😩😩

So neat glad you're having fun :)

So neat glad you're having fun :)

Awww thanks girl! ❤️❤️❤️


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

That all looks so cool! :D Glad you took the time and effort to update us, despite all the challenges, lol :')

Enjoy your stay there and am looking forward to the next updates you'll share :D Please more awesome clothing shops and stuff! I live for that :')

Ok!! Will do. I have a post about a guy that draws first and working on my spanish and mayan astrology but in panajachel there is lots of stuff there fir cool pics of tiendas with art and clothes

the quetzalroo dog is called peanut. great post... if it makes you feel better...im still adjusting to being here....and thats after 8 years...so id say your are doing a great job adjusting!

Congratulations @limabeing! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63