The Shipwreck of the Peter Iredale ⛵️🏴‍☠️

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The Peter Iredale was a steel sailing vessel that ran aground on October 25, 1906 on the Oregon coastline and was abandoned to decay over the next 100 years. Find out more here!



The ship has become a popular destination for locals and tourists alike as it is located conveniently close to Fort Stevens State Park where you can camp in a tent or cabin, and have access to explore the abandoned military fort! Two ghostly remnants of days gone by in one trip!


All pictures are snapped by me, on my trusty iPhone 6+. No edits!



The water pulling away from the boat created the most amazing reflections on the beach and sand.



At high tide the ship sits at least waist-deep in the ocean, but at certain points of day the water draws back allowing adventurous explorers to climb aboard!



Needless to say we thoroughly explored the vessel, experiencing the ghostly presence of the ship’s bones.



We left as the water started to come back in, the breeze picked up, and sea foam skipped across the sand.



Here a friend stands between sky and ocean. Where one begins and the other ends, I’m not quite certain.



break.jpg


Hi friend! Thanks for stopping by, I’m really glad you’re here!

I’m an artist, writer, and creative consultant based in the Pacific Northwest. I see steemit as an incredible asset to artists and creatives as a way to share their work and connect with like-minded people. You can check out my intro post, read more about the theatre projects I work on, or follow me! I’m especially interested in finding other performing artists on this site. If that’s you, please say hello! See you around the steemosphere! @lilyraabe


SS-pansies-EN.jpg



Sort:  

Epic shots! This looks like a fun place to explore. I've never been to the northwest before, but I'll definitely get up there one of these days.

You gotta, it’s a beautiful place! <3

That is pretty cool (and kinda creepy). It could be a good setting for a ghost movie or something.

We went out there at night too...even creepier!!!

I'll bet. Likely some "heebie-jeebies" to be felt there at night.

I know this story too! And wait a minute....did I already know that you're in the PNW?? Where do you live? Can you come to our Portland meet up on Sat Feb 24? Would LOVE it if possible xoox https://steemit.com/steemit/@natureofbeing/calling-all-pacific-northwest-u-s-steemians-for-a-meet-up

I’m in Seattle! I just left a comment on that article--but I wanna come to one! So cooollll! <3

Wow ! Looks like a Virgin beach ! No One Around :D

Ya, ours was the only group around! Perfect day. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lilyraabe
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-shipwreck-of-the-peter-iredale


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I LOVE photos of the ocean and love old things like this. We saw a shipwreck 'carcass' in Bimini two years ago on our travels and I just found it fascinating. I hope we get to the west coast at some point so we can see this one, too! Fabulous photos!

@byn

Yesss, there is something positively magical about the ruins of days gone by! Certainly hope you can make it out to the PNW!

A great place to travel and search for ancient treasures.

Indeed! Thank you for stopping by. :)

Oh wow, I wish this wasn't all the way across the country (waves from the East Coast)! I swear I could feel the sea breeze on my face whilst enjoying these captures. Funny, I usually prefer straight up scenic shots, but my two faves in this group are the ones with your friend in them. And that last shot needs to be framed!

Aw, thank you so much for the compliments and glad you enjoyed the shots. Twas a magical day at the beach. <3

You're very welcome, and it shows! 😊

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

wow .. this is a sad picture. a quality shot that really reflects the emotion.
Congratulations my dear friend. I like the compositions very much. your narration has become more meaningful!

Thank you so much, that means a lot from someone as expressive as you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67