😎 Likedeeler in Darjeeling 😎

in #travel7 years ago

Himalayan range




From Kathmandu I went to Pokhara from where I wanted to go on some trekking tour.
I fancied doing the “pancake trek“ around Annapurna. Though touristy and crowded, you could trek from lodge to lodge and get food there as well, so there was no need to carry to much provisions.
Unfortunately, though October and November were considered the best months for trekking in Nepal, it was raining all the time in October, so I just stayed in Pokhara and chilled there.

I don´t know what´s it like today, but in those days Pokhara was known for magic mushrooms.
There were elderly Nepalese farmer ladies coming to the guesthouses, supplying the tourists with all sorts of mushrooms in different shapes and sizes. To my surprise the smaller ones were actually the most expensive ones.
“Golden Spot, very strong.“ was the expert lady´s explanation.

Since I was not comfortable with taking halucinogenics, never tried any in my whole life, I didn´t buy any, but it was sure interesting to see the goods and I thought it would be funny if we had elderly farmer ladies going from house to house selling mushrooms in Germany, maybe then us Germans would be a bit more relaxed.

After altogether one month in Nepal I crossed from Nepal to Darjeeling with my new six months India visum, because I had been invited by Nipponzan-Myohoji, the Japanese Buddhist order I had stayed with in Leh, to participate in the inauguration ceremony of a new Shanti Stupa there in November.
This was basically also the reason why I did not stay longer in Nepal, waiting for better weather for trekking in November.

I met quite a few of the monks and nuns I had got to know in Leh again, so it was all very nice and felt like family. This time I did not have the luxury of my own room, instead I slept on the floor, in a big room with lots of people, but that was also a good experience and it was just for a few days anyway.
The new Shanti Stupa was also impressive and the inauguration ceremony colorful and grand, with lots of locals attending.



Shanti Stupa, Darjeeling



Darjeeling is not only world famous for, in my not so humble opinion, the best tea in the world, where you can also visit some tea gardens, it is also famous for trekking.
Since I had not done any trekking in Nepal because of the rain and my epic Kashmir trek had been a while ago, I felt definitely ready for some mountain adventure again.

So I went for a very nice trek in Darjeeling for a few days where you basically follow a ridge north towards Kanchenjunga with epic views of the big Himalayan mountains, like Everest, Makalu, Lhotse and of course Kanchenjunga. And the best thing, the trek was not too hard, once you were on the ridge, and there were guesthouses along the route.

I remember one day when we, the other travellers I met on the trek and I, got up in darkness to walk to some peak, to watch the sunrise over the Himalayan range and now, writing this, I still get tears in my eyes, remembering the absolute beauty of it, sitting there in silence, in absolute awe of nature.
Words cannot describe this moment, but to give you an idea about my fulfillment, in that moment, I thought, if I would die now, I would die perfectly happy, no regrets, since I had seen the ultimate sunrise, I was absolutely at peace and so thankful to be able to see and experience such beauty.

We also had the opportunity to try Tongba, the local millet drink in those guesthouses. It´s some kind of fermented alcoholic beverage, you get it in some traditional jar and drink it through some kind of pipe, like a big straw.


Tongba



After that I went to Sikkim.
In those days you could only visit four places there with your tourist permit, Gangtok, the capital, Rumtek monastery and two other places I forgot the names of.
To go to the really interesting northern part, where the forest gave way to a barren Tibetan style landscape you would have needed to go with a certified trekking agency to get a permit for this region. That was quite expensive so I did not go there.
In Rumtek there was some Tibetan festival going on, monks playing the typical Tibetan horns and overtone singing, so that was also quite some experience.

After Sikkim it was time to go to “Hey Calcutta, gay Calcutta!“ as one photo of a billboard in my guidebook announced. If you now think, “Hey, how progressive!“, I have to disappoint you.
Whoever in city marketing came up with this slogan had no homosexuals in mind, but was using the word gay in its original meaning of merry, cheerful etc.




I have now combined all my Pakistan travel stories into one chapter, which can be found here.


For more adventurous stories check out my blog @likedeeler


For more inspiring stories and a group of inspiring and supportive people check out @ecotrain.



Sort:  

I missed out on darjeeling on my Indian travels which I was quite sad about, hoping one day life will bring me back there. The ladies selling magic mushrooms sounds like my cup of tea but I also would be very cautious too... I do think the Germans do need a few of those sellers going door to door and in England lol

Congratulations @likedeeler! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Follow @rasidulislam0433 i'll vote your post and Follow 👍

upvote and follow me for the knowledge of new exciting places...

I'm catching up on your page today. I haven't been over here in a while! I'm really glad to see all your traveling posts going strong again, and I've loved catching up. I really love reading them and have a special fondness for the difference in era. It really was a whole different deal traveling in the 90's. I love your adventurous spirit and your willingness to try a lot of different things. I love your passion for beauty too. I had a similar sunrise experience watching the sunrise from the top of a 1000 ft waterfall. In this case, watching the mist and fog roll up the river and rise up to the top of the waterfall was more magical than the sunrise. Truly one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen.

Thanx. Yes, the nineties were great for travelling and now, reminiscing about them, I sometimes sound like some of the old hippies from the seventies I met in India in the nineties, complaining how touristy, developed and expensive everything has become. 😉
And now, in my very unadventurous life, I´m looking back and think I should go travelling again, to spice up my life, but alas, I am so lazy nowadays, that´s why it´s good to start travelling when you´re young.

I'm definitely itching to travel again. We just need more money. I really want my younger two kids to get used to traveling because it's such a good education and also because I really want to travel a couple months out of the year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63