My Road Trip to Hogenakkal Falls

in #travel7 years ago

Hey Steemians,

I'm sharing my photos and experience from one of my recent road trip to Hogenakkal Falls, located in Southern India.

Hogenakkal Falls

About Hogenakkal Falls

Hogenakkal falls is located in Tamil Nadu(one of the southern states of India). It is 180km from Bangalore. The Kaveri(a.k.a Cauvery) river flows from Karnataka and then enters Tamil Nadu through Hogenakkal. As a matter of fact, Kaveri flows southeast some 800 kilometres(500 miles) to enter the Bay of Bengal.

The best time to visit falls is soon after the monsoon. It is known for medicinal baths and hide boat rides.

Our Day Trip

We(me and my wife) started around 8am from home(Bangalore) in our car. We took Hosur route which is 180km. There is an another route which goes through Anchetty. I wasn't sure about the road condition, so I took NH44.

Route: Silk Board > Electronic City > Hosur > Krishnagiri > Dharmapuri > Hogenakkal

map

Hogenakkal falls can be covered within a day from Bangalore. There are not much staying options(and it is not required too, unless you want to rest or don't want to drive late). The road was fantastic and joy to drive. NH44 is a 6 lane highway. From Dharmapuri we need to take diversion onto left and then drive 44km to reach Hogenakkal falls. 44km comprises some hairpin bends and forest area but the roads are well maintained, very less traffic and it was a smooth drive.

Hogenakkal Falls

Hogenakkal Falls

Hogenakkal Falls

Hogenakkal Falls

Hogenakkal Falls

Hogenakkal Falls

Hogenakkal Falls

Hogenakkal Falls

Hogenakkal Falls

Hotel TamilNadu is a great choice for food and accomodation. It is very spacious and parking facility is available. We had our lunch there, pretty decent and reasonable cost.
Tip: Opt for AC rooms, they provide better view from balcony.
Hogenakkal Falls

My car taking rest under the tree,
Hogenakkal Falls

Do not miss the fresh fish fry, sorry that I didn't take any pic of fish fry.

All the photos were taken by me. Here is the photo of myself,
Hogenakkal Falls

Please leave your feedback in the comments below, upvote if you like it and that will encourage me to post more in future.


Follow me @lifecruiser

Sort:  

WOW! such a nice place it is.. I would like to travel here soon...

The water flow is good now due to monsoon rains. Also try coracle ride, I missed to mention in the post but you can google it out.

Looks like a good place worth visiting :)

Yep, make sure you visit after the monsoon or when there is good flow in kaveri. I forgot to say about coracle ride, it is a nice experience.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Awesome post. I love the waterfalls best. Found your post thru @qurator. Upvoted.

Beautiful landscape

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50