Rama and Sita and Kecak Dance in Uluwatu Temple #smartphonephotography

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

This is my #Saturday entry for @juliank's #smartphonephotography. Photos were taken using Sony Xperia.

1209291_10151750365877850_23442348_n.jpg

995970_10151751438747850_1966567981_n.jpg

This is the first place that I visited in #Bali - Uluwatu Temple where the play of Rama and Sita and Ramayana is performed as well as the famous Kecak dance. Rama and Sita is a Hindu mythology that tells of a love story, deceit and how far you can go for your love. Kecak Dance is a traditional Balinese dance. It is originally a ritual accompanied by male chorus. It was in the 1930s that it was incorporated in a drama basing it on Ramayana.

Such an amazing location of a temple because it has a beautiful view of the Indian Ocean. The temple is built on a cliff where monkeys liberally roam so be careful because they are said to suddenly grab things from you. Fortunately, we have not had encountered such snatching moment. They are fed by staff but peddlers sell bananas that you can feed the monkeys. Before entering the temple, you are to wear a sarong to keep the sanctity of the place.

Let me tell you a story about our first day, first time to travel to Bali.

From #Baguio-City to Manila, we traveled by bus for at least 7 hours. We timed our travel so that when we arrive at the airport we have a couple of hours to spare. We have already approximated the travel time from bus terminal to the airport because of the dreaded traffic. At the airport, we have checked in and everything. Only to be informed that our plane is delayed. We waited four hours before we were able to board. Understandably, it was a bad weather then.

It was another four hours by plane from Manila to Bali.

When we arrived, we went straight to our hotel and rested for at least an hour. However, it could be shorter because I was excited and raring to explore the place. Mind you that when I travel, I cannot sleep much. So roughly I was awake for more than 15 hours but no rest for me lol!

Probably I was caught up in the excitement of all that I forgot to charge my phone and my camera's battery.

We then decided to go to Uluwatu Temple and then call it a day.

I managed to take a few photos using my Nikon camera before it died on me. Imagine my frustration that I cannot document my first travel in a foreign land. The blame is on me. Instead of dwelling in unfortunate event, I tried as hard as I can not to beat myself and move forward. Just enjoy the moment.

1146496_10151767347467850_808260849_n.jpg
1236458_10151767347442850_664037471_n.jpg

We arrived in Uluwatu Temple with enough time to tour the place and enjoy the sunset and watch the Kecak dance. I was able to capture some photos using my phone before that too died on me. I was lucky that I was able to take a photo of the dance for remembrance. My phone died earlier than my camera. What I did was waited for a few minutes and then turned on my phone. For the few seconds that it was on using whatever power it has, I was able to capture the photo above.

As you can see above, the mini amphitheater was filled with people almost to the center giving barely enough space for the performers. I was afraid the place will collapse. Thankfully it was sturdy enough to hold as much people.

I was feeling moment! I was great to be alive. To witness such culture and witness an epic story of ancient days being kept alive through dance and play, add to that the warmth of the sun, the balmy wind from the Indian Ocean, the waves crashing down in the cliffs below for longer than you can imagine - it was so surreal. This temple and this play bring different people of race, color and culture together. I did not mind how noisy are the people behind us. I just thought they were as excited as I was to be there. Or how I can smell a stinky feet! Probably the guy next to me. I stink myself from being drenched in sweat and had no time to freshen up before leaving the hotel. So I did not mind that. We live by the moments.

It is unfortunate for my partner because my partner was trying not fall asleep during the play. I guess our travel to get here took its toll and fatigue overcame. As much as I want to go out and explore what happens after dark, I am not that cruel to drag my partner around or selfish to go on my own. Plus, I am in a foreign territory with no knowledge of the place and cannot speak the language. From Uluwatu Temple, we went straight to our hotel.

Upon arrival, I was overcome with fatigue myself but it was worth it! I can still remember that day like it was yesterday. No camera or phone can ever document the feeling of being there. Of course, I say that to console myself of the frustration lol!

1170714_10151749883242850_1766275690_n.jpg

I also felt like a millionaire when I was there lol! No amount of money can pay for the experience I had in Bali. Eat, pray love? It was more like love, love, love!

You can read more about @photocontests here.

The schedules for other categories for @juliank's photo contest are:

Monday: #foodphotography and #animalphotography
Tuesday: #landscapephotography and #cityscapephotography
Wednesday: #architecturalphotography and #vehiclephotography
Thursday: #macrophotography and #colourfulphotography
Friday: #streetphotography and #portraitphotography
Saturday: #sportsphotography and #smartphonephotography
Sunday: #goldenhourphotography and #longexposurephotography

~~~

REMINDING YOU AGAIN TO BE CAREFUL AND PROTECT YOUR ACCOUNTS FROM PHISHING/SCAM.

HACKED - Don't be a victim by @magicalmoonlight
Phishing report and Scammers started disinformation from @arcange
Protect people from scam by @simplymike
Protect your ASS by @omitaylor
⚠⚠ WARNING FRIENDS ⚠⚠ by @johndoer123
PLEASE DON'T be the NEXT VICTIM of a PHISHING SCAM !! by @lynncoyle1

!steemitworldmap -8.829102 lat 115.085194 long Uluwatu Temple d3scr

Sort:  

Why you didn't invite me?

Why should I? lol! This was probably 5 or 6 years ago. I wish to go back.

I know right? I was still there lol!

@leeart i think it related to hindu religion and i heared about manali that it is a nice place .

Yes, you are right. There are some places in Manila you can visit but to really experience a great visit, go outside Manila.

happy for you ..life is for travelling and enjoyment

Buti ka pa sir nakahawak ka ng milyones.. At sa foreign land p.. Hehehe!

Haha! Indonesia, vietnam, india pwede na maging milyonaryo hehe

would love to go there too and be a millionaire!haha

Dapat adda pic yo koma dita nagsala koma!
Soooo beautiful!

Sayang garud awanen pang pix haha!

Ayuuu ya. Tadtam iryar amin nga pics mon. hehe
Agkitkitak mayat nga pics tayo eh. Kayat mo la kitdi ipost ko haha

Haha! Iblur mo na lang rupak

Ang ganda naman dyan sobrang nakaka relax. Magandang gabi leeart.

I wanna know more about your trip in Bali!
It's funny when we share the same sentiment about not being able to sleep on the day before of the travel because of the excitement. HAHA

Excitement is my drug lol!

Honestly, it was a short visit in Bali. After Uluwatu, we went to Padang Padang Beach and then decided to go to Central Java to visit the Borobudor and Prambanan. Twas a short visit.

I don't know much yet about Indonesia pero looks like dami mo din napuntahan although short travel lang. May post ka ba about it other than this?

Thanks! Ang tagal na pala. Gusto ko din mapuntahan etong Borobudur Temple! Nakita ko sya as twitter header ng finafallow ko tapos Indonesia pala. Cute!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=leeart
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=rama-and-sita-and-kecak-dance-in-uluwatu-temple-smartphonephotography


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice pictures!! I heard it so often that some monkeys suddenly grab things from you. Even though they look cute and innocent :D

Yes, they do. I heard it from my friends who experienced such incident. It's better be safe when you are around them.

yea definitely gotta watch out for them!

Nagmayat meten dayta. Nawitness mo ti kasta nga culture da. Nkakatakot lng ung sa dagat ang taas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62622.35
ETH 2442.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64