Canadian Rockies: Additional pictures & afterthoughtssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Good evening friends!

On every one of my trips, I come back with too many pictures I consider worthy, it makes it difficult to choose which ones to display without turning a post into a book. I thought separating the days would be an easy way to divide the trip to have every moment get a bit of sunshine, even dividing as such I still had to pick my moments. This trip alone I came back with over 100 pictures I am partial to. I thought I would add some of these views or moments along with future plans for our return hopefully after the holiday season.

lake louise7.jpg
Lake Louise, Ab. Shot 1/250 sec. f/10 10mm, ISO 200

I don't think there is a wrong angle to view Lake Louise from the boat house to the mirror view of the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise in it's clear waters. I can't get enough of it, I would like to see it with the lake frozen in a few months although I am not sure if we will have enough time to go on our next trip but certainly on my to do list in the future. Each season dramatically changes the landscape of each area and offer different activities for different seasons and it's even harder to choose between activities chasing new thrills and visit locations we haven't seen while at the same time chasing the perfect conditions and a better picture of a previously visited landmark than the last one taken or an experience yet to be had. It takes many return trips to fully enjoy everything the back-country has to offer.

lake louise8.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/10 20mm, ISO 220

On our quick drive on the British- Columbia side of the provincial border and admiring the landscape and scouting for new locations to visit, one thing caught my attention. I'm sure some of you know that western Canada battles many wild fires in the summer months, we came across an area that burned maybe 3 or 4 years ago. As devastating and destructive as the fire had been, It left a clean slate for rebirth. To see how the land healed and wildlife's return to the habitat, new trees emerging among the charred remains lush and green even for late october was refreshing and a good reminder of the cycle of life. I suppose our own daily lives work in a similar way, sometimes when it seems like life is tearing us down, maybe it's only to rebuild us better and allow us to grow freely? Nature is always a great place for reflection and wisdom if you are willing to pause long enough to notice.

bc1 (1).jpg
Shot 1/60 sec. f/8 14mm, ISO 500

I originally wasn't going to share this next picture because I don't really like it but it's one of those unique moments I got to witness for the first time so I changed my mind. I will still be on the hunt for a better version of this one...someday. When we were driving back from Lake Minnewanka, we encountered the same herd of elk both to and from the lake, on the return they were getting aggressive and some started to battle. The first two I couldn't get any clear picture of but further there was a second fight starting I was at a bad angle and I didn't want to move so I didn't start a stampede but I got to take a shot of them locking horns for the battle. I suppose it's one of those shots be thankful for the moment but try again later! hehe

elk17.jpg
Shot 1/250 sec. f/4.8 125mm, ISO 500

I was pleasantly surprised at the constant change of temperature and climate of each area, I expected a bit more winter from what remembered on my last fall visit. It made for an exciting photography journey. Next time I see the mountains, I hope to see them buried in tons of snow, maybe after the holidays, it would be a first for for me. Jasper National park is the most likely destination since it's close to home.

mountain12.jpg
Shot 1/200 sec. f/10 14mm, ISO 400

After spying on me, facebook suggested I go visit frozen waterfalls and ice caves and get a tutorial on ice climbing... for once it might be on to something. Explore Maligne lake's and Athabasca fall's frozen territory and dog sledding are also on our next agenda. Nothing is set in stone, I always come across new things worthy of attention along the way we allow ourselves enough time to deviate from the plan. We still count on visiting Mount Robson, that's for the summer trip (depending on fires).

mountain13.jpg
Shot 1/125 sec. f/9 34mm, ISO 400

I still have many pictures from the trip I would like to share in time, they will be slowly released at some point here and there. I have other projects I would like to be working on for the holidays. In the meantime dare to dream, once upon a time this landscape was nothing but a dream to me. For the last decade, it's been my reality, no wonder I took on photography as a hobby!

elk13.jpg
Jasper, Ab. Shot 1/60 sec. f/8 46mm, ISO 400

All images taken with Nikon D7000 and Sigma lens.

Cheers for now! xox

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ladybug146
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=canadian-rockies-additional-pictures-and-afterthoughts


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Very good post, an impressive photo. By taking a picture that is so very natural, really enjoy seeing the days with natural scenery like this. I will wait for other interesting things and stories from you, hopefully today is a beautiful day for you @ladybug146

everyday is a beautiful day for me!! hope yours is just as great. Thanks for stopping by and taking interest :)

I love how much I can see in the reflection in the water in all your photos!

yes, lucky the lake was so still to be able to capture the reflections so well.

Hi!
My name is Natalia and I’m a community manager of the TravelChain project.
I really like your blog, your fantastic trips and stunning photos!!! I would be happy if we could collaborate.The thing is, right now I'm looking for people who will share the same interest in blockchain startups as we do. Our project is creating community of people who excited about making changes in the way of traveling. We're creating our decentralized travel database on our OWN BLOCKCHAIN. There are a lot of things I can tell you about our project, team and what we’ve already achieved. You can find the information by this link
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2364466
https://t.me/travelchain_bounty
In addition, if you will be interested in our project, I would like to talk about cooperation in our bounty campaign (of course, with reward).
I really hope to hear back from you!

Thank you for stopping by and your kind words Natalia! Your venture sounds interesting, I will look into it for more details. My concerns is that I really don't know much about blockchain, in the process of learning the basics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48