Biked Over 230km During Vacation

in #travel6 years ago

The bike-trip vacation to the Quebec countryside is over. My girlfriend and I arrived late at exactly 9pm, travelling from St-Jerome to Montreal.

bike-trip-main.jpg

We left at 11:15am of so from St-Jerome. It took us about 10 hours to get back home. We took our time. Also, I was peddling with 1 leg the whole way since I had injured my knee the day before travelling from Brownsburg to St-Jerome which took about 4-5h to do. If I tried to peddle with my right leg my knee would have shooting pains (I think it's a ligament issue... :/), so it was 1-legged biking for me the whole 72km back home.

All in all, we did over 230km from Montreal to Lachute (96km); Lake Louisa to the Pine Hill corner store and back (8.7km x 2); Brownsburg to St-Jerome (43km); and St-Jerome to Montreal (72km); with a little period of getting lost on the way back in Montreal-North (5-10km).

The total travel time was about 24h, not 12h like google maps says. We went at our own pace and stopped to eat and take breaks. We aren't pro riders ;) This is only our second bike trip.

bike-trip-all.jpg

I lost a screw/bolt on my rear bike rack being driven from Lake Louisa to Brownsburg, along with my water bottle. After getting it replaced in Lachute, I lost another one in a different place after we left St-Jerome. My backpack weighed 20+ lbs since I was bringing back some maple syrup made at Lake Louisa. Losing screws/bolts was a big problem with that much weight on the rear rack.

I'm glad to be back home. I will have to give my knee a good break for a while. Hopefully the issue will get healed in time...

I also ended the delegations I had made. I will review delegations to some users on a permanent basis in the near future. For those that have the delegations from last week, you have a few days left before they get removed from your account as I wait 7 days to get the SP back ;)


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50.

Sort:  

a very enjoyable trip, I also like to travel with cycling to enjoy the beauty of nature

It's a good way to travel indeed.

I hope you had a great time anyway, though the injury must be unpleasant. I bike myself to school and back regulary. Sport is great!

Yup it was good :) Cycling is a good way to get around and work out too ;)

Other the other hand I spend my own vacation eating pizza 🍕 and playing video games

😁

it was 1-legged biking for me the whole 72km back home

That's impressive @krnel. Hope your knee heals soon with just some rest. Looks like you had a very nice vacation.

Thanks again for the delegation. It has been fun being able to upvote people more, especially as we learned this week about the dust threshold i.e. our upvotes of less than 0.03c are just wasting our voting power as they don't get paid out. 😢

I will continue to upvote and make the most of your delegation until it runs out.

Thank you again. It has been great! 😁

Wow, steem code scamming the users from their voting power and penny rewards... that's lame... why even allow $0.01 vote if thats the case... not helping the small users at all...

I couldn't agree more @krnel which is why I'm trying to get the word out.

One witness was actually talking about upping the threshold to 10-25c in an attempt to combat spam. He clearly has no idea at all what it's like to be a small useful. 😢

Now that your vacation is over .. Return to work, I hope you recover from your knees, you just have to rest and do therapy on your knee ...

yup, thanks ;)

Physically it would be tiresome to ride bike for such a long distance, but the mental rejuvenation it brings out is incomparable. Hope you enjoyed your vacation. Give your knees a good break.

Btw, I am one among many who have enjoyed the SP delegation you had gifted. I really thankful to you for choosing me for that. It was unexpected. I was able to upvote myself and some other people with a little bit bigger vote value than what I had before. I have voted you for witness. Once again, thank you!

I did, thanks :) You're welcome.

Holy shit dude you're a freaking beast!!

LOL thanks ;)

"We went at our own pace"

I love that!

No need to stress, no need to hurry. Decelerate from the hustle and bustle most people partake in.

Such biking tours have an adventurous character, instilling jouyous adrenaline in me which makes me feel like being exactly where I want to be in that very moment, and nowhere else. As if the lure of unknown miracles awakens the gift of being present in us.

I hope you both enjoyed it greatly! :)

During vacation ? wow on my vacation i just lying on the beach

You are really strong... Must have been really fun riding

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54