Visiting Ta Prohm, Cambodia

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemians,

In this post, I will talk about the temple Ta Prohm in Cambodia.

Ta Prohm was built in the late 12th and early 13th centuries as a Buddhist monastery and university. The temple's inscriptions tell us that the site was once home to more than 12,500 people (including 18 high priests and 615 dancers). Over 800,000 additional people worked in the surrounding villages, to support the temple. They also inform us, that the temple once had considerable riches, like gold, pearls and silks.

After the fall of the Khmer Empire in the 15th century, Ta Prohm was abandoned and reclaimed by nature. When the effort to restore the temples of Angkor began in the early 21st century, a decision was made that Ta Prohm would be left largely as it had been found.

You can see in the pictures the extent to which the trees have "invaded" the temple. Now they are part of it.

And a little tip for the cinefils: Ta Prohm and Angkor Wat have featured in a Hollywood film, none other than Lara Croft: Tomb Raider (1).

Entrance of Ta Prohm

Views from Ta Prohm

And that's the end of today's post. I hope you liked it, and that you will follow me to my next post. Have a good day, and we'll speak again soon!

References:
1.Text from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ta_Prohm.

Sort:  

Hi there I just upvoted you
If you like me then please
Follow,upvote my posts and also feel free to reestem

Thanks

these are really great shots!
dragged my VI to boost it
at least it works for this one

edit : keep it up it'll get you far
and most of all keep the right attitude around

VI ?? was ist das?

thank you! your stories are fun u know.

when you get to 58 you'll see that too
or go to @felixxx's page read his blogs
don't compare posts we are all different :)

will do.thanks.

no prob bro

Amazing place ... exploring it ..
Can you please leave a feedback "Anura The Guest of steemit ?"https://steemit.com/story/@slefesteem/i-am-special-guest-of-steemit-the-frog-part-ii

thank you slefesteem.

i will love it .. if you read The frog story and leave a comment

cool place man ! love this kind of trip and I love nature! I ll be following u , check my blog!ì, you may like it!

thank you fmd!

good post!

thank you sol25!

The Angkor temples were one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen! Thanks for sharing! Followed! Check out my travel photos also.

thank you flip-flops!

Amazing trees and tree roots.

thank you team101!

Added Cambodia on my "must visit' list, after seeing your pics.

yes, quite impressive country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80