My birthday at The Shire!

in #travel5 years ago

Kia ora, Stemmt! I recently learned this New Zealand greeting and I’m pronouncing it like a pretentious asshole. My blog, my greetings! I’m at the Auckland airport with Miss Victory Violet about to make our way to Christchurch for another round of dark pinup photography shoots. So far, this trip has been incredible. There have been countless Steemit posts where I’ve complained about the crypto-market, because that really is why I’m here. It was a work necessity. I also acknowledged that this all may have happened for a reason. If STEEM was still $8, I can guarantee I wouldn’t have come to New Zealand.

Now that I’ve been here for a few days, I’m becoming aware of just how tragic that would be. This has been on of the most memorable trips of my life. I arrived in Auckland on my birthday [New Zealand time]. Ella took me around Howick, her current residential town. I had once day to recover and on my US birthday, we went to Hobbiton, the film set of The Shire in Lord of the Rings. I am a huge, unapologetic Lord of the Rings nerd, as is @vermillionfox and @guthrie. The moment our tour began and with the first sighting of a hobbit hole, I was overcome with joy.

Seeing The Shire has been a bucket list check off since the films came out. I always wanted to see New Zealand, but the fantasy and lore of Lord of the Rings made it a must before I die. I wasn’t at all disappointed. The entire set was alive, in a way that wouldn’t happen in a US theme park or attraction. There was legitimate cliffs you could fall off of. The vegetable gardens were growing real vegetables. It was so authentic, every area was believably lived in by hobbits. I just wanted to see it all, but left with an even deeper appreciation of the the films.

Ella has been a better host than I deserve. Months ago, I told her I wanted to visit The Shire. As booking for New Zealand came in, it seemed like an obvious choice to scrap the Saturday drive to Hobbiton in leu of taking additionally bookings. To her credit, she refused. She said “You told me this was something you wanted to do.”. Another example of how the stress of finances has clouded my decision making. I would have forever regretted not making it to see this magical place. I have hundreds of other photos from The Shire to share, all in future Steemit posts I’m sure.

I’m boarding for Christchurch soon, so I’ll need to wrap this up. Ella and I just wrapped a series of dark pinup shoots at Shanghai Lil’s in Auckland yesterday. The space was breathtaking, and during shooting, the bar tender told me it’s the original set from Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon! The ladies we shot were outstanding to work with and I have a number of photos to share from those shoots soon. I’ll be posting as often as I can while traveling throughout New Zealand and Australia. For more photography, art, illustration and travel, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Happy birthday mate and that indeed does look memorable. I would love to head back to New Zealand as I have only been once and that was almost 25 years ago (getting old).

It must be awesome to shoot in a place you have so much connection with already :)

It's been amazing so far, @tarazkp, and if there is a silver lining of the market being so disappointing these last few years, it's things like the necessity of traveling as far as New Zealand. In a couple days, I fly to Melbourne and I'm looking forward to that city as well. You should absolutely come back, man. You sound overdue for a visit to Middle-earth!

I loved looking out at the mountains from Queenstown, they are gorgeous. I have some photos somewhere that I took with an instamatic film camera - it was 1996 :)

Melbourne is great as it has such a mix of types and backgrounds there - the food is awesome.

Amazing shots, like always. Happy birthday @kommienezuspadt

Thanks, @bronkong! These will be memories for the rest of my life. Next year's birthday is going to be hard to top!

For sure ;)

Happy birthday to you...I pray to the Creator, spend the rest of your days very well..! My friend @kommienezuspadt

Posted using Partiko Android

my dream place !!! I wish to be married in Shire ahaha

What a great day to spend your birthday and get one of the best attractions for a LOTR fan..

Greetings from Mexico and have a great day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, @neuerko! This was definitely on my bucket list. Worth the trip! Thanks, man!

Happy Birthday... in what ever time zone it is! 🥂

HAHA! Thanks @cornerstone! Because of the time difference and the 24/hr day line, I actually had two birthdays!

Happy Birthday man!
This is really great!! I also would love to see LODR locations, thanks for this amazing post, if you could record videos of those places too, it would be really awesome!
Thanks for sharing your photos with us! :d the ring must be in one of those little houses! But maybe Smeagul will attack you if you find it! Lol

HAHA! Thanks, @davidfar! I did make some videos. I'll probably be uploading those in a future post. Sadly, we weren't able to go in the houses. It was still outstanding, though.

Thanks man, that will be great :D , though I would loved to see inside those houses, but still it worth much to see the location's videos :D <3

Thank you, @lighteye! I've gotten reacquainted with my camera in a very intimate way on this trip. Also SO grateful that I don't use lighting equipment. Nothing to bring but my camera body. The entire 2 1/2 weeks tour, I'm only carrying a backpack. Also, I brought my 50mm lens on this trip and I'm falling in love with it all over again.

Wow! Big LOtR fan! So jealous!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You need to add Hobbiton to your bucket list, @nateaguila! It was life changing event.

Happy belated birthday man! So glad the trip’s going well and you got to celebrate in the Shire! You’re even making a homebody like me yearn for a bit of travel!

Thanks, my friend. It's been really incredible. Exhausting, but incredible. I've been taking surprisingly good care of myself. I've been sleeping at least 8 hours a night [...I feel most of that is because of the jet lag and time difference]. I've been eating better. The vegetarian diet has been greatly beneficial for energy. Things are pretty good, and like I said in the post, ironic that I'd never have made this trip had things stayed like they were during the bull market. Thanks for staying in touch, @bryan-imhoff!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71