Introducing the not-so-humble Peppadew

in #travel7 years ago

One of the first delights I discovered when I first visited South Africa in the early '90s was the peppadew. A small, round pepper about the size of a large cherry tomato, it's sweet and a little bit spicy at the same time and utterly delicious. Fresh, they're crunchy as you would expect them to be, and sold in jars in grocery stores, they're - well, a bit mushier, like peppers in a jar. Because they're mass-produced peppers in a jar.

But not peppadews by Shelley. My partner's cousin's partner (following that?) tried her hand at pickling the peppadews she swears grow like weeds on the KwaZulu Natal South Coast.

Peppadew jar
Photo credit: me
Picking and pickling credit: Shelley

As you can see, the jar is half full. Those peppadews are going into everything I can think of and they are sunshine distilled into crunchy little cells of yum.

A note about the South Coast, particularly Port Edward which is where these delicious peppadews came to life: the climate there is mild and subtropical, the area is characterised by rolling hills covered in sugar cane waving incessantly in the breeze, people sell avocados in the emergency lane of the highway (yeah, haven't figured that one out yet - is an avocado really an impulse purchase?), and the place is really sleepy except during the December holidays and the sardine run in May or so. Port Edward is located on the southern border of KwaZulu Natal on the coast, and is the local metropolis. And that, fellow Steemians, is a question of scale.

But back to the peppadew, because how could I show this to you and not give you some ideas of how to eat it? You could -

  • toss them chopped in half into any kind of salad (they go well with feta cheese)
  • keep a bowl of these pickled peppadews with some goat cheese for dipping for consumption while sharing tales of the day over a frosty glass of beer or chilled white wine
  • chop a few up and mix with some freshly cooked corn sliced off the cob and use as a salsa (I also add chopped black olives to this blend of flavours and textures to bring in a contrasting salty element)
  • add them to a tomato sauce for texture and flavour.

Those are just a few ideas to get you going. Once you taste them, you'll want to add them to all kinds of dishes.

And I do hope this entices you to visit the South Coast and sample the fresh peppadews there. I promise to post more on the South Coast - there's a phenomenal little (really little) desert I'll be telling you about shortly. But that's for another post on another day. Today we celebrate the pugnacious peppadew. Salut!

Sort:  

I've never heard of them but your description makes them sound so delicious!
Hopefully if I do go to the South Coast one day I'll be sure to try these peppadews :)

Appreciate that, @arckrai. You can get them commercially in jars and I'm sure that the company of the same name (I didn't want to give them a commercial plug in my post) exports them to a number of countries around the world. You can usually find them where clusters of South African expats gather, too. But the South Coast itself is really worth the experience, especially if you're a diver and time your visit with the sardine run.

That's my country :D

steemit logo.png

Nice graphic!!

Thanks I made it for the community :D

Great! Will appreciate an explanation to the graphically challenged (that's me) how to access it 🤔🤣

I can make one for your country too? Just post the flag here :)

I'm also from South Africa 🤣

hahaha aaah lekka. Then you can just right click and save the .png image for later use :) Credits would be lovely too if you chose to use

Oh, that easy? Duh 🙄, and thanks! And of course I would credit you 🤗

Best thing

Thanks, and thanks for the resteem!

I saw your up vote on my "along came a spider" post so I came here to say thank you. When I did I found this very interesting post. I think I might like some pickled peppadew. So thanks, I do appreciate it and if it would be okay with you I will be following you now. I will be waiting to see more on the South Coast. Again, Thank you!

I absolutely love critters, especially 8-legged ones when they're far enough away from me that we can agree on territory. Thought your photos were fabulous. But territorially >aaaaaugh<!! Glad you liked the pickled peppadews post. I'm putting together my research on the Red Desert (sneak preview) which will give further insight into the South Coast. Thanks for reading and commenting :-).

Thank you! I will be looking for your future post. Now where is my pickled peppadews? :-)

Lol! I think Peter Piper picked a peck of 'em.

Well of course he did. The question is if Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppadews. Where's the peck of pickled peppadews that Peter Piper picked? :-)

Slurp. Burp. Urp. 😎

Oh wow I'm South Africian and never knew the pepperdews come from here, awesome! Yeah it's delicious on pizza 🍕 it's like a sweet juicy fruity chilli but not hot. Cool post!

Pizza - good idea! Thanks for the inspiration and the kind words :-)

Oh, and pelargoniums are native to South Africa as well, so I suppose we could say South Africa gave the world geraniums. I hope that's not too much of a biological leap!

Sup dude :D

Lol no way, hey guy!!

I live in Port Edward and I have never seen any! lol

Oh hi fellow country person ;)

Hi there. Wow there are so many South Africans on Steemit. We should make a list of all the SA steemians to follow and support each other.

ja no lekka man

That's a rad idea!! Kiff vibes!!

They must all be in Shelley's garden - lol!

@kiligirl if I ever take a vacation in south Africa these would make it to my must try list...)) thanks for sharing.

Totally! And you're welcome 🤗

I do bet they are delicious @kiligirl
I like to eat pickled things like green mangoes as well, perfect side dish for a rice meal with fish.

Yum! Thanks for the suggestion - peppadews will go nicely with fish 🤗

They sound the perfect pepper, sweet and spicy. Wish I could get some here. X

They are indeed! Depends where "here" is , but you may be able to find them in jars under the unsurprising name "Peppadew" 😎. Nice to meet you.

I've seen something pretty similar to peppadew in some parts of South Europe. People consume it mainly in winter when there are not so fresh vegetables.

Nowadays, you can find fresh vegetables even in the winter, but many of us follow the old tradition:). It goes well with vodka by the way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52