Campervan Philosophy: Minivans and Feeling Old

in #travel6 years ago

I have a dilemma in my campervan search: many of the best vehicles are NOT AVAILABLE IN NORTH AMERICA!

Ahem. Sorry for shouting. I’m feeling frustrated on many levels. Shall I name them for you?

  1. Mom guilt.
  2. Money and availability issues.
  3. I can’t get what I want (right now).

This whirlpool of problem solving has sucked up much of my attention, and I’m determined to find something that will work for my needs. (Don't worry, I'm actually enjoying myself, for the most part.)

Let’s explore these areas of frustration and see if further philosophy emerges...

But first, check out this campervan they totally don’t offer in North America:

marco polo
image source

That’s the new Mercedez-Benz Marco Polo. Wouldn’t that be a sweet ride?

I found a 1997 Marco Polo Westfalia with 77,000 km on it in Alberta (a province over from me) for $36,000. Not that I really want a 20 year old van, but even if I did, enter problems two and three: that’s out of my immediate budget and therefore I still can’t get what I want.

But let’s start with problem number one:


Mom guilt.


Road tripping is part of me. My soul demands it.


All gifs via giphy.com.

But before kids, I’d been raring to toss some stuff in the car and get on the road. Now I’m cautious of every little thing that could go wrong. And up until now, it hasn’t mattered what I drove, as long as I could sleep in it. Life is different with twins; I need more space!

The whole reason I’m looking for a different vehicle is because I have two wonderful kids to haul around with me. I’m excited to show them country you don’t see if you skip over all of it on a plane.

I want to make a map dotted with places where we’ve hiked, or discovered a new playground.

I have friends, old and new, scattered throughout Canada and the US (and the rest of the world, but we’re talking roadtrips here). I have friends in Chicago I haven’t seen in over a decade, who I wave to when I manage to get over to Facebook. I really want to see them again.

Some of these friends have kids similar ages as my children, and it would be fun for my boys to have friends in many places.

But both my partner and my father think me driving long-distance in our current vehicle is a bad idea. “More things can go wrong,” they say.

Dammit, they’re right. Frustrates the hell outta me.

But I have to road trip, one way or another.

Am I going to live my life in fear, get on a plane like a good girl and miss all the miles in-between? If I do that, will I get to see those friends of mine in Chicago?

Do I have to keep telling myself, “Wait till the kids are older?”

I hate that. Just wait, while I keep getting older. I feel like I’ve been waiting for YEARS, ever since I got pregnant.

I’m a NOW kind of person. This moment is all there is. I want to LIVE, dammit.

Still, I do want to be smart. I want to be as safe as possible.

To be safe, I feel like I want a newer vehicle, though I still find myself looking at vans like this Japanese import.

hiace
image source

This is a 1996 Toyota Hiace 4x4 campervan, which sleeps 4 and has a kitchen, on sale for $23,800. Only 133,000 km on it, which is relatively low, but… I guess I feel like a 22 year old vehicle shouldn’t be that much money.

This leads me to the next issue in the frustration equation:


Money and availability issues.


When did everything get so expensive?

I just aged myself with that question. But seriously, inflation is blowing my mind.

The other thing blowing my mind, and the thing that makes me more mad than almost anything else, is that they simply don’t make what I want in North America.

I want a modern, dependable version of the VW Westfalia, and I want it to be all-wheel-drive (AWD) or 4x4.

I’d love to get one of the Japanese 15-year-or-older imports, like the Toyota Hiace above. (Must be 15 years or older to be imported to Canada, then converted to Canadian standards).

I’ve had an import before, my Mitsubishi Delica that I lived in for more than a month, which was probably my favourite trip ever. But it broke down, and most mechanics aren’t prepared to service it, with neither the know-how nor the parts.

Breaking down on road trips with kids isn't really an option. If it happens, I don't want a mechanic telling me I'm stranded.

So, yeah. Dependable vehicle. Check.

Let's keep on with the wish-list brainstorm:

I want a pop-top with a bed above, a bed below that also safely holds their car seats when driving, and enough space for a little portable potty on the floor. There needs to be a kitchen of some sort as well.

European and Asian markets have these options readily available. People have been asking for them in North America, but for the most part car manufacturers have decided there aren’t enough people who want them. They're all like, "Well, there are some people who want them but those voices aren't loud enough, and we're selling enough of the models we make, so we're not going to go out of our way to deliver that modern small campervan. Besides, this is the land of bigger and bigger, more and more. Go out and get yourself a gas-guzzling RV."

And, for the same reason, there’s only one freaking model of minivan that offers all-wheel-drive! With all the mountains in the United States and Canada, your main options for AWD or 4x4 are to get an SUV or a truck.

The only minivan offered in AWD is the Toyota Sienna, which is currently looking like my best option, with some customization.

There are a few companies that do custom pop-tops, like the Illusion from 5Mars, based on the Dodge Grand Caravan.

dodge caravan campervan

This is such a cool camper conversion, and at $50,000 or so, very affordable compared to other campervans, but still out of my price range right now. Unfortunately, the companies that do custom campers are few and far between, and usually range $70,000 and up. So... back to thinking of mini vans.


Reality check.


I’m turning 40 this year, and I’m about to buy a minivan.

The minivan bit is a blow to my ego, I will admit. Not the turning 40 part, ‘cause at this point I’ll claim every minute of experience this life has brought me. I’ve earned those years, just like my stretch marks. I've learned a lot, and I'm proud of the fact that I've turned out okay despite it all.

But I’ve scoffed at minivans my whole life, always a truck girl, or a sports car girl, too much of a snob for the big, decidedly-not-sexy mini van.

Now I’m a mom. Safety is #1, and a close second is space. A minivan fits the bill, even if it makes me feel like I’m taking my first official climb over the hill.


Patience, grasshopper.


Maybe I can’t call myself “Grasshopper” if I’m over the hill. Maybe I’m not over the hill yet.

Either way, even with all the patience I’ve cultivated since giving birth to twins, I still want my camper van NOW!

Only child syndrome? I dunno.

For some reason, this gif seems relevant.

"Hit it!"


So what am I gonna do?


I’ve come to the realization that I want a van as an every day vehicle. Being able to take quick overnight trips with my kids or have a snack or nap on the go is a priority for me.

No, this isn’t a long-term trip solution, especially if we were going as a family of 4, but we could bring a tent if we wanted to camp. And, really, I want an every day vehicle, not a big RV that I only use a few times a year.

Maybe we can eventually get an RV as well, but for now, give me my getaway vehicle that can haul the kids, the gear, and satisfy my wanderlust.

My immediate solution seems to be to get a dependable minivan and do a DIY camperize job on it. I think I could do this for around $10,000, which is a comfortable amount for where our lives are at the moment. Of course, I’m a Gemini, so I might change my mind tomorrow, but here’s what I’m thinking...

Things I need from my van:

  1. It must be dependable, and able to be serviced easily if something goes wrong.
  2. Space for at least me and the kids to sleep inside.
  3. Space to have a camp toilet.
  4. Space to build a mini-kitchen.

Toyota Sienna camper van


Here’s a wicked Toyota Sienna camper conversion done by a couple who write the Mini Yet Mighty blog, which sadly only has a few posts on it.

Still this tour gave me some great ideas. I might even be able to build a bed that would work with the kids’ car seats still in place in the back seat, if I stick my feet in the space between.


source


What do you think? Do you have any suggestions for my minivan/campervan mission?

Thanks for reading. Keep dreaming your dreams and living your life to the fullest!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

the alliance

steemusa

The Alliance and SteemUSA Banners by @bearone

Sort:  

Yes, lady, live your dreams and travel with your kids! The right van will come along. We looked at A HUNDRED BUSES before we found the Slow Rolling Home... and that came to us through a friend of a friend of a friend. The more people you tell that you're on the lookout - the more you put it out there exactly what you're looking for - the quicker it will find you.

Lol, now that is the most in-depth article I have ever read about someone thinking about what kind of camper van to get. But, having kids definitely does change the parameters on what you need. But, wow, lol. Fun to read though :)

So glad you had fun reading. I'm enjoying the search for a van, even if it's leading me places I wasn't intending to go. Yes, kids change EVERYTHING. Thanks for reading. :)

Well, you said you wanted to do more road trips...all this research is just another kind, hehe. :)

Exactly this has been on my mind a ton! So relatable! AWD is essential, being able to sleep in back is essential, dependable, not too spendy, and not a gas guzzler- I’m thinking about this all so much right now too- it’s so nice to see such a well thought out post on it! Thanks!

OMG
The gifs are too funny!
Go for it my friend ;) what could be the worst case senario? You'll have to cell it if you regret buying it? :D

I thank going for the vehicle that you can use more often is a great choice. It sounds like it's where your life is right now so no point in fighting it! 😊

I was also a bit of a nomad before I had children. With m first I was still able to mange a trip backpacking around the world. She missed the first year of school because of it which did her no harm.

Once I had my second, I was in a long term relationship (a man I met whilst travelling interestingly) and felt that it was now way too complicated to continue with the nomad thing.

I wanted the kids to have stability in their schooling and be able to make local friends so I "settled down".

At times it was really hard and I was very depressed when my son was a toddler. I felt totally trapped and couldn't see anyway out of the dilemma but, eventually, I stopped fighting it and learned to enjoy the positives of being in one place.

Now I've got so comfortable it's hard for me to book any trips at all although I enjoy them when I do! 😁

We have also been looking at camper vans and smaller vehicles that can be converted but that's as far as it's gone.

Good luck with your search. Sounds like you're moving forward nicely!

This post honestly made me laugh! I used to have a sports car which was oh so fun to drive...but now I have an SUV so I can go hiking and put outdoor gear in the back, haha. Lifestyles and priorities change I guess! <3

Iol had a lot of fun reading, the thoughts of a mom looking for a comfortable and affordable car for my twins! jejejeje I have only 1 and really life changes, that will be of me with 2... I hope you have the trip you want very soon, greetings friend

I was waiting for this post. I now know what a camper van is which is really cool but damn no wonder you get so involved in looking, there was a lot to think about. By the ways those gifs freaking cracked me up. I think a minivan is a good thing for you at this time, I mean like you said, it is more reasonable cost wise and hits at least some of your things (for now). I know you can't wait until the day you can get an amazing campervan or rv and such. I also must say for the record, this was in no way lazy or procrastinating. Good job lady. Much love to you.

lol! Not lazy, no. I've spent an obscene amount of hours looking at vans in the last few days. So glad you enjoyed the post and the gifs. Thanks for your support, as always! ((hugs))

Hope you find the perfect one! :-)

This post makes my feet itch for travel.

I liked the look of the toyota 4x4 import the hiace.

I definitely know the feeling of being a little bit older and having to let go of ideas of myself which no longer are realistic.

I love my memories of road trips with my family as a child, it can be a challenge to travel with children. I believe it's totally worth it though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52