A Sabahan tourist in Sabah, the land below the wind

in #travel6 years ago

I was never that person who wanted to explore my own country because that is so NOT cool and so boring. If I ever had a chance to time travel, I would go back in time to the young me and smack that kid in the head eyes rolled all the way to the back that I can see my own brain That young me never think that Malaysia is an awesome country especially Sabah. Like nothing to be proud of.. HAA!! WRONG!!

borneo(2).jpg
Even have a unique dog head shape. How is that not interesting?

I pursue my study in Tourism Management and worked in the industry for about 5 years. That totally changed my perspective of Malaysia, mainly Sabah. And that is when I become a tourist in my own place. For goodness sake, we have beautiful islands and beaches, pristine rainforest, exotic wildlife, the iconic Mt Kinabalu, world class diving spot, etc right at our backyard! Oh so blessed to be born here.

Sabahans are also super chill and friendly. Ofcourse theres pros and cons to that but they are willing to assist strangers that need help especially tourist (I often got mistaken for Chinese or Japanese tourist - cant blame them). I personally think that the locals always makes a trip more memorable. But we are not used to let stranger hitchhike. We watched too much tv. Thats why 😂. But you can try your luck! A few friends of mine spotted more and more qhitchikers over the years. Some even give them a ride. And by some, I mean very very few.

The only thing that I would change is the weather. Its either very hot or raining. Pretty much nothing in between. I dont recommend travelling here during the monsoon season. Its usually starts around Oct or Nov and ends around Feb or March. But even so, the weather here is very unpredictable. If you somehow travel during the rainy season, I hope you like the indoors like malls or indoor market 😅

My next few post will be about the places to visit in Sabah and how to get there. 👇hints 👇

7674ebae2b68670ad8dcfecd9c60432a.jpg

downloadfile(1).jpg

I was also lucky to be able to visit some of the places for "work inspection". Some places can be very pricey but not to worry. I have a few tips. 😉 Dont get me wrong, I'm not selling tours here 😬 no longer working in the industry but Im just trying to help because when I visit other countries, travel blogs are very useful. Trying to do the same for others. I do wish more and more people would come and visit us. Especially the locals because we tend to ignore whats infront of us. We look too far that we missed the gems right on our doorstep.

Thats it for today. Till the next post~

Sort:  

Congratulations @kamenlim! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Uploading image #1...
Do you want to spend a happy married life with your husband but your marital relationship is not happy then you can consult with Islamic expert Molvi Ghulam Ali Dahlavi Ji and can get dua for happy married life in Urdu. Some alternative Islamic Surahs can also result in a happy married life if recited with proper guidance. To know about duas that can make your life happy with husband visit : https://fajrdua.com/dua-to-make-happy-life-with-your-husband/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44