BoldspiritTravels on a budget: PADI Open Water Certificate through my eyes. # 1 😅 [Solo backpacking on a budget in Latin America]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Scuba-diving is about making the connection with the underwater world, experiencing its beauty. Enjoying the fact that you are able to breathe while being in the water, all against human nature. And most importantly, each dive brings you new opportunity to observe wildlife and its variety. Chances are that you will earn more respect to Mother Nature and the environment.

Yet, in my today’s story, I want to write more from a perspective of a person who does not really feel at ease under water.

1.jpg

I have heard so many stories from people who scuba-dive. Most of my friends got the opportunity to do it already in high-school or during their first years at a university.
Scuba-diving is an expensive activity. The truth is that my friends could do it because they got it sponsored by their parents. And I wasn’t in a similar financial situation. But I knew I will try scuba-dive because I felt attracted to the underwater world. Additionally, I like to push my limits. After all, water is not my natural environment, I have learned how to swim when I was 19. And although I love to swim since then, having my head underwater or diving makes me a little bit uncomfortable. On the other hand, I feel that this may simply be a question of practice. 😅 When I was taking care of my lovely niece and we were spending a lot of time in a swimming pool, where she was learning to swim, she was encouraged by her trainer to have fun, dive, make spins etc. So obviously she got accustomed to the feeling of having water in her swim goggles or to other disturbing things and felt at ease. 😁

PADI Open Water Certificate doesn’t allow you to dive alone. Well, it basically is only necessary if you want to continue with diving and deepen your abilities. I did it because I would love to master mine one day. Anyway, my course lasted 3 days (it generally can last up to 5 days depending on a school) and provided me with practical activities. What concerns a theory - I got a book that I had to study after “classes”. I ended up with learning all during the last evening. Classic! 😉 😂

I already used a term “challenging”. Yes, the practical part was a challenge to me. While diving you need to learn some basic ways of behaviors under water. It is crucial that if anything unusual happens, you don’t panic. So, for example, I needed to take off my mask being 4 meters under the water. I don’t really understand why it was so difficult. All lay in our heads, I am fully aware of it. In this particular situation, I was afraid that I would lose my contact lenses if I open my eyes without the mask. And it really made me uncomfortable. So even though there are other activities much more demanding and difficult, I remember this one as my personal challenge.
Something that I have heard was causing problems to many was an activity that required you to take off your mouthpiece (a part of a regulator i.e. something that allows you to safely breathe under the water). I didn’t have issues with this one, but you can see my point - there are some tasks that may make you upsetting.

Most of the people I know were training in the swimming pool and then had the scuba-dives in the sea. I had all of the activities directly in the sea which I found exciting and super amusing. No faking, no emergency exit.😉 😂

Ah, I just remembered how funny it was to me to breathe with my mouth instead of a nose. And experiencing weightlessness. 😅

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until next time!
Pura Vida and enjoy your journey! 💛

Sort:  

Hi @k-a-s-i-a

This is a beautifully written article on scuba. I think it is very impressive the way you are confronting your fear of being underwater and like I've said to you before, it will get easier. Once everything slows down for you the real fun will begin.

If its any consolation, my struggles during my open water were also with my mask. To this day I am still a little twitchy about it. During my test when it was time for mask removal I couldn't get the strap around my head, I panicked and I pushed to the surface. I had to compose myself and try again and got it right the second time.

Removing the Reg is a weird feeling as well. The last thing you want to do is remove your breathing source and drop it. Madness! It all becomes straight forward in the end though.

Keep on achieving! 😃

Gaz

Thank you! your comment is so reassuring! 🍀 It is important to be nice to ourselves. But if you are an achiever, it's not always so easy.. ;)

You're welcome.

Being nice to ourselves is, weirdly, not a given! I'm am very critical of myself and sometimes I need to stop, think about it and maybe give myself the odd pat on the back for a job well done.

More recently, for ordinary people of our country the best entertainment in the warm season was a trip to nature. If near the chosen place there was a lake or a river — the happiness of tourists was not the limit. And it never occurred to anyone that a bright hurricane would soon burst into the everyday life of a person.For me, a special attraction to these types of entertainment gave movies with Jacques Yves Cousteau. Fascinated looking at the TV screen, the man indulged in vivid fantasies, where he was irreplaceable characters, scuba and the sea. Technology and the process of globalization have made it easier to translate desires into reality. Now almost every foreign resort, and the town, located near the water, will provide tourists with this fantastic pleasure - scuba diving.

Thank you very much for your comment! Where do you come from? I am so sorry to hear about the hurricane..! What concerns Cousteau - i absolutely adore the guy! I watched him in TV when i was a little girl, his stories were so captivating!

I understand you fully well @k-a-s-i-a when you say that diving makes you feel uneasy, because I feel the same way! I WANT to love the sea, but sometimes I just have a hard time doing so.

The thought of diving is cool, but I can't help to feel terrified at the same time! 😂 I guess you're right - it needs practice and familiarity. And whatever happens, keep your calm.

Great story!

Thank you Michelle! It's somehow soothing to know that there are other people who feel the same ;) hugs!

Ahahah! I share the same feeling! Although being completely at ease underwater, having swimmed most of my life, removing the mask completely was also the hardest one for me in the course :) True... it´s all in the head!

Ah, so in the end I'm not as lame as I thought, haha ;) Thanks!:)

Not at all! A few more dives and it will be absolutely natural ;)

Very informative
I love the post

We could not understand the how beautiful scenery under water, only they know who drive under water. Under water tons and tons beautiful animals and colour full fish their plying there.
Best wishes for Scuba-diving.

Thank you and all the best to you!:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74