Arizona Adventures - Part 1

in #travel7 years ago

Happy Saturday my fellow Steemers! I promised I would continue to document my adventures in Arizona while I am still living here and I recently adventured to Page. Page itself is nothing special but it does obtain some pretty spectacular views. Page contains two extremely popular tourist spots that I HIGHLY recommend. I will talk about my experience and give out tips for anyone else who is interested in one day vising these amazing spots in AZ.

Tourist spot #1 - Horseshoe Bend:

DSCN0366.jpg

DSCN0395.jpg

My best friend, who currently lives in Seattle, came home recently for our long over-due girls trip! Page was only a four hour drive away for us and being Arizona natives, we were supper disappointed in ourself that we hadn't visited this breathtaking landscape sooner. Upon arrival, we spotted many vehicles that did not have Arizona license plates at all. To our surprise, when walking down to Horseshoe Bend we heard so many different languages... so many people traveled a very very long way to our state just to see it and I couldn't have been prouder.

What to expect:

Horseshoe Bend it literally on the side of the road and Siri will tell you exactly how to get there. My best friend and I accidentally drove past the dirt road parking spaces because we couldn't believe how easy it was to get to.Parking was free and visiting this tourist spot did not cost us a dime. Once you park, Horshoe Bend is only a ten minute hike up and down a small hill and it is something that I hope to visit again later in life.

DSCN0354.jpg

Tips:

Do NOT go in the summer time like my best friend and I did. There were warning signs telling people to bring water and being natives we thought that we could handle it and we couldn't. The ten minute hike back up the hill was absolutely horrible only because it was so hot, not because it was a difficult hike back up. If you can only go in the summer I recommend lots of sunscreen, hats and maybe even an umbrella to acquire some shade. The cooler you are the longer you can stay down there to capture photos. I also suggest going early in the morning because it was pretty crowded in the middle of a Saturday afternoon. The earlier you go, the less time you will have to waste waiting on others to get the photos that you want. Other than that, take it all in and document like crazy!

DSCN0382 (1).jpg
My butt was literally on fire but this picture was worth it :)

  • JAY
Sort:  

Uuugh I can't wait to go there. I live in AZ too :) Welcome to Steemit btw! I created a facebook group for us Arizonans to keep in touch and share ideas, take a look here. https://www.facebook.com/groups/117044785581376/
Followed and upvoted :)

Congratulations @justjordan! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @justjordan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53