Our First RV Adventure - Newbies at the Wheel - Part 4

in #travel6 years ago

For those of you who have been waiting anxiously for my next RV adventure update your patience is about to be rewarded.

Day 6 - We arrived at Arcadia Lake State Park which had some nice water views but was otherwise unimpressive. They didn't do anything to clean up the trash around the place which was a shame because otherwise the park would have been nice. The guy camping next to us was a friendly sort who offered me some tools when he saw me climbing underneath my rig as well as some beer and pot later in the evening. "Thanks, but no thanks bro!"

Day 7 - Our trip to our next destination at Palo Duro Canyon State Park was uneventful (YES!). We were treated to a gorgeous view as we descended into the 2nd largest canyon in the U.S.

1.jpg

3.jpg

Shortly after reaching the bottom of the canyon my wife Julia realized we no longer had a wireless signal and had not checked in with anybody to let them know we were still safe. After setting up camp we started a fire and attempted to send some smoke signals but no one got the message. Later in the evening I got to share the bathroom with THIS big boy.

4.jpg

Day 8 - I was a little concerned that Mini Mack (the name Julia has given our rig) was going to make it out of the canyon but he did awesome. Yes, Mini Mack is a he, Julia named him so she got to pick the gender as well, which is just as well because there were definitely things hanging from the under carriage on day 6 (see previous post at https://steemit.com/rv/@jbreheny/our-first-rv-adventure-newbies-at-the-wheel-part-3).

Days 8 through 10 - We made it safe and sound to Colorado Springs to the home of our daughter Kristin, son in law Jake and grandbaby Nora. I took this time to make some needed repairs on Mini Mack including roof tape over leaking area and then covering with elastomeric, new power window switches (fixed driver side but not passenger), removing the bent up step on drivers side due to our dual blowouts on day 6 and general tightening up of screws and bolts. On day 9 Nona (Italian for grandma, that's my wife Julia) couldn't figure out how to work the recliner at the kids house and she figured if she pushed hard enough the legs would extend. How's that working out for you Nona?

5.jpg

She was inside the house kicking her tiny little legs to get herself extricated from the chair. I wish I had been there to see that. We had planned on having a day of fun and going to see some sites in Colorado Springs but opted for a lazy day instead. Hanging out with the kids and grand baby was fun enough for us.

Day 11 - As Willie Nelson so succinctly put it "On the Road Again". Our next stop was Wilson Lake State Park in Kansas, and I must say KANSAS I owe you an apology!

6.jpg

7.jpg

I always thought you were just a flat mass of barren land. Who would have thought? We took a hike through a small wooded hilly area...

9.jpg

and upon returning to camp I felt a bite near the top of my shorts and pulled up my shorts to find my first ever TICK feasting on my flesh. Jake, Nick and myself all got to share this wonderful experience. I had a total of 3 on me. Julia ran into our rig to grab some tweezers and I could swear she did the dishes first. Then it was time for a fire, some s'mores and then bed.

Day 12 - Here are some gratuitous pictures of our start to the day:

10.jpg

  • Julia thought it would be funny to snap a shot of me sleeping in the tent.

11.jpg

  • Son In Law Jake and I dumping the dookie tank.

12.jpg

  • Almost forgot, this guy jumped in front of me on my way to shower house at 11:00 pm the night before.

Our next destination is Robertsville State Park in Missouri.
Stay tuned and we'll see you on the flip side.

Sort:  

I also recently had my first experience with ticks! I didn't get any on me (this time), did they hurt? I am looking forward to your opinion of Missouri state parks as that's where we're headed next.

The tick did not hurt but was more of a painful itch, although it was a bit painful when my wife pulled it off with the tweezers. We stayed at the Mark Twain State Park in MO during this trip and enjoyed it very much. With the state parks you don't get the amenities you would at a typical campground such as activities but everything you need for living simple is included. Bathhouses and full hookups. What we truly like about the state parks is the fact that you are not crowded in like you are in campgrounds and RV resorts. I do have to warn you, my son in law got very bad chiggers on both of his feet when he and I hiked through the backwoods so I strongly recommend some type of repellent if you plan on hiking.

Congratulations @jbreheny! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Today is my #newbieresteemday - Congratulations on your quality content Newbie and as always, Keep Steemin’!

I invite you to learn more about the initiative and Come Join Us!!! at the Newbie Resteem Initiative.

Jump into our discord channel to meet new friends, find great content and contests as well as ask for help: https://discord.gg/FjjfbNR

Hey there! Your post has been featured in this week’s #MinnowMondays post - brought to you by the #newbieresteemday initiative. Feel free to stop by and check the post out HERE

hahaha loads of adventures there! DO watch out please with those ticks of you get any strange symptoms that could point out to Lyme disease

I have heard that. Scary stuff.

Hi @jbreheny, I found this post through amariespeaks Minnow Mondays.I wish I could also go for an RV adventure. It looks like a lot of fun and you're traveling with your family.

Also, you may wanna check out the travelfeed tag. This is a new travel curation team and you can use this tag for your next travel post if it has a minimum of 250 words. :)

Hi @wanderlass. Thank you for reading my post and for the tip on travelfeed. It does take same major life changes but all you have to do is set some goals, move towards them and push through and you too could be having RV adventures with your family. I never thought this was something I would be able to do but knew I wanted to. Just had to make it happen. We are now living on the road full time and will be having many more adventures.

You're welcome and thanks for this inspiring reply. Glad to know you're living your dreams :)

At least there is an honest display of the good and not so good. But at the end of the day, this was one of the best 3 weeks of my life. Cheers to many more as we start the next one in a month.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66