Our First RV Adventure - Newbies at the Wheel - Part 3

in #rv6 years ago

Day 6 continued - After an hour our friendly neighborhood roadside assistant came and took off our blown tire and put on our spare. We took this opportunity to make the 30 minute trip to a highly rated tire shop to get our shredded tire replaced and 20 miles later POW!, our spare tire (now installed on the driver side front) blows (BOO!). I almost swerved into another lane of traffic but luckily managed to maintain control.

DQmZzPKUu7EgCQ1389aFrbgWaB1QUSc8Wf6enHAgYDWziPE.jpg
This is the same image from the prior post. By this time I wasn't in the mood to take another picture of the 2nd blown tire.

So I called our Roadside Assistance and talked to Iris (we're on a first name basis now), who now scheduled us to be towed by a heavy duty tow company to the aforementioned tire company. After almost 2 hours the tow guy shows up and I ask him how me, my wife, my son and my dog are all gonna fit in his truck which is huge in terms of towing heavy duty vehicles but the size of a large toaster oven in the cab. He says to me "Dem dere folks din't say nuthin bout 3 of yea and a dawg, but that's ok, I'll git a wrecker out here to take one or two of yea." So the wrecker shows up and he and his buddy climb up under our rig to disconnect our drive shaft (whaaaaaaat?). Yup has to be done and no, they are not allowed to reconnect it. So I did some research and the tire company has a LOT of services listed on their website so fingers crossed they can do it. I hop in the wrecker and follow my wife, son, dog and rig to the tire shop.

2.jpg

Turns out the tire shop in fact can NOT reconnect my drive shaft nor could the TA (Travel Association)down the road but they recommended a mobile mechanic company who probably could. So the tow driver drops our rig in the lot at the tire shop but unfortunately we have to wait until after hours when one of their roadside guys gets back into the shop because we can't even limp our rig into their work bay (remember the disconnected drive shaft?). The tire store representative tells me it will be awhile before their mobile tech gets back so I should go ahead and call the mobile mechanic. Ten minutes after calling the mobile mechanic I look out and see tires being removed from my rig (I hope these guys don't get in each other's way). The mobile mechanic comes out and gets the drive shaft on and about 45 minutes later we're ready to hit the open road again. In total we spent about 7 hours either on the side of the highway or hanging out at a tire shop.
Special shouts out to:
AAAA towing
T&W Tires
Truck Doctor
All based out of Oklahoma City, for getting us back on the road and helping us spend some of our money.
At this point we knew we weren't heading to our original destination just outside of Amarillo TX so picked a spot less than 30 minutes away. On our way we missed our turn (thankfully) or we would never have discovered this odd gas station/restaurant/convenience store which had hundreds of assorted pops on the walls called Pops (off of historic Route 66). They also sold hard to find sodas, old tyme candies and other cool sundry items. Very cool place.

800px-Historic_Route_66_Oklahoma_-_POPS_Gas_Station_between_Oklahoma_City_and_Arcadia_-_panoramio_(1).jpg
(image courtesy of https://commons.wikimedia.org)

Then on to our destination for the night at Central State Park at Lake Arcadia. I won't be able to say much about this place since it's just a place to lay our heads after a long day.
All in all a memorable day which ended with us all being safe.

Sort:  

RVs on tour!!!

Shooting a flat is already annoying but not being able to fix it yourself is even more difficult!

Glad you know roadside are going to be your best friends hehe :)

That was a pretty frustrating day but all part of the experience.

I finally got around to checking out your page, and went back to your "introduce yourself" starting point! What an awesome story, and it's one I can totally relate to.

My husband @briancourteau and I used to live in Canada, but for different circumstances, started off doing what you are doing now. He has cancer and went through treatment, but we had just decided that we didn't need all of the stuff we had accumulated over the years. We originally sold our houses (2nd marriage) and got an apartment. Then got rid of that, bought a big 5th wheel and lived and traveled in it for 3 years! We loved every second of it, but I can relate to your flat tires etc for sure :) After that time was up, we rented it out to our friends and made the move to Mexico, where we are currently residing. His health decided to be uncooperative, and this was the place we had originally planned on retiring to, so we just made the move sooner than later. The best part is that we came with a backpack each, one suitcase and our cat!

It is such a liberating experience getting rid of 'everything' isn't it!

I'm so glad you decided to journal your experience here! Congratulations for taking the big step of jumping off of the hamster wheel and enjoying your life together !!

Cheers and happy traveling; :)

My wife and I both came to the realization that we were busting our humps to try and get to a comfortable retirement that there was no guarantee we would ever see. It's people like you who inspired us to do this. We have talked about expatriating to a foreign country as well and that is something that is still on the table for us in the future. I'm very happy to hear that you two decided to take the leap but saddened to hear of your husbands condition. How is he doing now?

Once you do it, you sure don't miss the rat race! Brian is doing ok, going downhill, but hanging in there. The weather and relaxed lifestyle really helps a lot I think. We take it one day at a time, and most days, enjoy a cerveza or two...so it's not that bad yet :)

Thank you so much for asking! Wishing you continued happiness on the road :)

Oh man. The joys of life on the road. I'm glad you were able to stay safe. Here's to a stress free Summer with no more hiccups. Following along 😀

Thanks for reading my post @jessicaoutside. I hope you enjoyed it. We just went full time about 6 weeks ago so many more adventures to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67