My Travel Stories | A Small Surfing Island Near the Pacific

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


996580_10151575452862724_1341668734_n.png


A good friend of mine invited me to their town fiesta in Cantilan, Surigao del Sur and I can’t refuse the offer. I was still in Can-avid, Eastern Samar that time when he invited me to come over. I was in Eastern Samar for two weeks.

After my Eastern Samar mini surf trip, I then packed my bags for Surigao del Sur for a town fiesta.

Small Island

There is a small island a few kilometers away or about 40 minutes on a boat ride from Cantilan Town where local surfers usually go. It is located on the Pacific side of the Philippines. During monsoon season, huge swells can be experienced. We decided to check it out. The moment that I step foot on that island, it makes me not want to leave.




Surf Spot. Swells are not that huge as it was not the season for surfing.


We only stayed for just a day and left in the afternoon but we enjoyed the waves. I have tried a wooden surfboard and it was fun. I wish we could stay longer. Maybe for a month?




We're going surfing!!!



Me and my friend


Some Quick Facts:

  • Almost all the kids on the island knows how to surf. They handmade their boards using breadfruit trees which are abundant in the area.

  • Fishing & Copra Farming is the main livelihood.

  • Ayoke island is a marine protected area and it’s an awesome view underwater. Best for Scuba diving and snorkeling.

  • Peak Season for surfing usually falls on the Monsoon Season (October - March). We went there on an August so the waves are somewhat cute. lol

  • Solar Energy powers the island. There is no electricity yet but they have panels.

  • Surfers from parts of Mindanao usually stay there to chill and make their own boards. It would usually take 2 weeks to a month to finish a board.



Fiberglassed woodenboard drying. Check out our burnt skin! lol

And yes, still want to return to that island and probably stay longer.

Let me know what you think? Please leave a comment below.

Looking closer at things fascinates me. I also like black and white photos.
If you like my work, please follow me.

Sort:  

beautiful place

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jamiz
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-travel-stories-or-a-small-surfing-island-near-the-pacific


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 0.18 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88