My bike travel (Helsinki - Vyborg 283 km in two days)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Day 1

After a short cycling trip (5 days) to the Aland Islands I was on my way home.
The trip to the Aland Islands was quite easy for me and I felt that I had not done enough to just take the bike and get on the train home. I decided to cycle part of the way. From Helsinki to Vyborg, and then a high-speed train to St Petersburg.

After saying goodbye to the guys from the Alands trip, I set off from Campi Square at 10am.

1.jpg

The weather was cloudy but quite warm. And sometimes the sun came out. The first 20 km I rode in the suburbs of Helsinki, looking for an exit on road 170. There were a lot of bike trackers on it, mostly road bikes, and they quickly overtook my clumsy bike. I was in no hurry and my task was to go far, not fast.

After the first 30km I stopped at the S-market to top up my water. And to find a Wi-Fi network. I bought a big sandwich and lots of chocolate bars.

After another 20km I reached Porvoo. A beautiful place where I ate my meal. Many tourists were looking at the sights, making a small circle around the town, I kept going.

2.jpg

3.jpg

After cycling about 12 km from Porvoo, I saw blue spots in the green grass. Oh yes, it was the blueberries! It was so big, bigger than my thumbnail.

5.jpg

Remained only half a liter of water. But after half an hour I went into the K-market. Which is the beauty of bike riding in places where civilizations are in bulk.

Already the evening was approaching and I was not yet sure where I would spend the night, I planned to visit camping in Loviisa, especially when I saw the advertisement along the road. Running into another supermarket and buying a meal, I was looking forward to a fast rest, especially since I wound up enough km for me.

I found the camping and its administrator very upset me, because there is no way to put a tent there, and places only for autocampers. I was upset more because I wasted my time.

There was no need to worry, because the sun was shining brightly and until evening was still far away (17:00)

6.jpg

And it's true, literally an hour later I saw a roadside toilet with hot water, for a traveler this is a great success. :) Although I could go on, I decided to look around and saw a small lapel from the road where there was some kind of interesting old bridge.

7.jpg

There was a place for autotourist to rest, this means that it was impossible to camp there. I walked a little to the side and there was a comfortable glade, of course with blueberries, having a good dinner that I bought at the store.

9.jpg

I set up a tent and went to bed around 7:30 pm

10.jpg

I immediately fell asleep all the same 123 km was already behind.

8.jpg

map.png

Day 2

I woke up at 5:20 rested. Gathering hastily the camp, I went back to the hot water place :) Where I ate is 1 liter of yogurt for 500 g of muesli. To carry it was better inside than on my backpack

2-3.jpg

at 6:10 I left this nice place. The road was absolutely empty, no cars and no pedestrians for 2 hours. But somebody I met. It was a small deer. We stood and looked at each other for about 3 minutes. Then he awkwardly jumped to forest.

2-31.jpg

All around was an unreal beauty, glitter of the dewdrop like snow, the glow of mist like a magic clouds. I've never seen this. Early morning is a great time for really beautiful pictures.

2-4.jpg

2-8.jpg

2-9.jpg

2-7.jpg

In the Hamina I was on my way to the store first to replenish the water supplies. Supermarket as expected was closed (it was a sunday). But little market still is open. Big luck for me.

Also in the Hamina, I going to 3513 road (goodbye 170 road). This road is narrow, and no cars here. The pace was changed due to constant descents and as well as sharp turns.

2-11.jpg

Landscapes of fields and forests replaced each other everything was fine, the only thing that upset this quality of the road surface, and of course not a single bike path. After another 20 km I again came to the store ... (I need only water i am not shopaholic)

2-12.jpg

Next to this I met a group of tourists from Russia who also rode a bicycle, but not very far around.

The next hour and 20 kilometers and I have already replenished the food reserves of the last supermarket in Finland, and I'm catching wi-fi, saying that soon I will be at home.

The road to the state border was quite different, which I remember from traveling by bus. Perhaps because it was at night. And now it was a bright sunny day. It was a little a bit scary first time to cross the border by bike.

2-13.jpg

The officer asked me for a driver's license, But I do not have them. I said i have only bicycle and got a smile back. :)

But everything was fine, I quickly crossed the border received stamps in the passport. And hello russian common life. Very big road with very very fast drivers. Remaining only a miserable 50 km and 2.5 hours before a high-speed train departure.

2-14.jpg

While I was resting for 5 minutes and eating a bar, I was caught up by another cyclist, when I found out that there was a little time left before the train, he got ride as a madman and I did not see him anymore :)

And for 3 minutes of departure of the train, I was already in it! :) 159.4 km for this day. This is my personal best. After 2 hours I was already riding along Petersburg to the side of my local train to my house.

2-15.jpg

Where my beautiful girl was already waited and met me at the station! My haste was connected with the fact that I wanted to see her as soon as possible.

2-16.jpg

map2.png

This is how my journey ended.

Some stats:
total distance: more than 283 km
avg speed : 16,64 km\h
max speed: 57 km\h

PS: May be I'll tell about Aland islands or my bike equipments.

Sort:  

I hope your trip ends successfully, mate.

Of course, thanks)))

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those wheels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Wow !! This is an incredible journey!!! So much beauty around! So many encounters along the way! Blueberries :P !
And I think you are very brave, determined and hardy ( such a long way by bike 0.о ! ! ) It's VERY COOL!!!
I think it was a great trip!!

Thanks for these very beautiful and inspiring photos !!
And it is very interesting to know that these photos have such a story:)!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67104.23
ETH 3509.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21