Saigon Attractions #25 Binh Quoi Tourist Village

in #travel2 years ago

The Binh Quoi Tourist Village is a tourist attraction in the Binh Thanh District of Saigon. In Vietnamese it is called Làng Du Lịch Bình Quới. Binh Thanh District is just to the north of the business centre of Saigon, District 1. Here the Saigon River loops top form the Thanh Dinh Peninsula, a canal cut between the two sides of the river has formed a small island. The park is at the furthest end away from the city.
Binh-Quoi-Tourist-Village1.jpg

Green and serene, the Binh Quoi Tourist Village

This is actually a tourist area, set up by the Vietnamese government, two phases during 1975 and 1976 and then in 1979 and 1980. The tourist village was conceived and established in 1994. Although only a twenty minute drive or so from the city centre it is a world away in many aspects. The air is fresher and the constant hum of Saigon Traffic is absent.

The Tourist Village is to be found in lush grounds with lawns, coconut palms, small creeks, and thatched cottages. It represents a view of days long gone by in Vietnam’s fabulous Mekong Delta region. It has achieved this very successfully and represents a really authentic view from Vietnam’s cultural and historical past. It is also a full on resort with 55 bedrooms. These are in the form of cabins under trees in and around the park. There are rides for children and a water puppet theatre show.
Binh_Quoi_people_rowing.jpg

A “bridal party” arriving across the lake

There is a superb three tiered floating restaurant in the Bach Dang Harbour, which serves excellent cuisine from the Mekong and Southern Vietnam regions. It seats 700 and is busy most of the time. The set menus are very good, featuring crab and snails, they are delicious and very competitively priced. There are daily performances depicting a traditional Vietnamese wedding ceremony. The bridal party is brought over the water and as the procession arrives, there are traditional rituals and local dancing. This is a great spot to enjoy a drink and watch the sun set over the Saigon River.

!steemitworldmap 10.829927 lat 106.738620 long Binh Quoi Tourist Village D3SCR

For other Saigon attractions see also:

#1 Suoi Tien Theme Park https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/attractions-in-ho-chi-minh-city-suoi-tien-theme-park

#2 Vinh Nghiem pagodahttps://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-vinh-nghiem-pagoda

#3 Notre Dame Basilica https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-s-magnificent-notre-dame-basilica

#4 The Cu Chi Tunnels https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-4-the-cu-chi-tunnels

#5 The Municipal Theatre of Ho Chi Minh City https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-5-the-municipal-theatre-of-ho-chi-minh-city

#6 People’s Committee Building https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-6-people-s-committee-building

#7 Museum of Vietnamese History https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-7-museum-of-vietnamese-history

#8 The Reunification Palace https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-8-the-reunification-palace

#9 The War Remnants Museum https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-8-the-war-remnants-museum

#10 Nguyen Hue https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-10-nguyen-hue

#11 Hotel Majestic https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-11-the-hotel-majestic

#12 Bui Vien https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-12-bui-vien

#13 The Fito Museum https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-13-the-fito-museum-of-traditional-medicine

#14 Saigon Zoo and Botanical Gardens https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-14-saigon-zoo-and-botanical-gardens

#15 Saigon Central Post Office https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-15-saigon-central-post-office

#16 Ben Thanh Market https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-16-ben-thanh-market

#17 Pho Binh https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-17-pho-binh-the-secret-headquarters-of-the-vietcong

#18 Dong Khoi https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-18looking-up-dong-khoi-from-saigon-saigon

#19 Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theatre https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-19-golden-dragon-water-puppet-theatre

#20 Dam Sen Water Park https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-20-dam-sen-water-park

#21 Cu Chi Wildlife Rescue Station https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-21-cu-chi-wildlife-rescue-station

#22 The Bitexco Financial Tower https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-22-the-bitexco-financial-tower

#23 The Chieu Loc-Thi Nghe Canal https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-23-the-chieu-loc-thi-nghe-canal

#24 The Ho Chi Minh Fine Arts Museum https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-24-the-ho-chi-minh-fine-arts-museum

I have been developing the InSeAsia website for three years. It genuinely is a labour of love. I have lived in Southeast Asia for 9 years and have no plans to ever leave.

I am extremely grateful to anyone who follows me, up votes, comments or re-steems my work.

Come and check me out. If ever you come to Saigon, Vietnam get in touch and we can meet up.

Website: http://www.inseasia.com

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@inseasia

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/InSeAsia/

Facebook group for Southeast Asia Steemians: https://www.facebook.com/groups/846253152208905/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4YQUTrPwK190V4vbJDLt_A

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/inseasia/

Sort:  

You got a 1.22% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @inseasia!

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=inseasia
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=saigon-attractions-25-binh-quoi-tourist-village


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Nice pictures brother. Appreciated.

Thanks as a;ways, appreciated.

My last time in vietnam was in 2007. Never seen Saigon that beautiful before

I love Saigon, I have been here for 5 years now. Thanks for your comment.

usual beautiful told you. a place I have learned more, thanks

Thank you, it is nice when people make positive comments.