Saigon Attractions #21 Cu Chi Wildlife Rescue Station

in travel •  9 months ago

Head out of Saigon to the North West on the road towards the border with Cambodia and you come into the village of Cu Chi. This of course, is famous as the location of the Cu Chi Tunnels, where Vietcong fighters hid from the American forces in the Vietnam War. Read about the Cu Chi Tunnels here. https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-4-the-cu-chi-tunnels Just three miles past the entrance to the tunnels you will find the Cu Chi Wildlife Rescue Station. This wonderful animal sanctuary run by a superb organisation, is responsible for rescuing many animals from captivity.
bear-in-cu-chi-wildlife-rescue.jpg

A rescued bear at the Cu Chi Wildlife Rescue Station

It is a common occurrence in Southeast Asia to find animals in less than perfect conditions. Otters, pangolins and even bears are kept in wholly inappropriate conditions in many locations in city centres. The people here, rescue these unfortunate animals and nurse them back to health, in many cases they manage to reintroduce them to the wild.
Cu-Chi-Wildlife-Rescue-Station.jpg
Cu Chi Wildlife Rescue Station

The station can be found at 50 Road No. 15, Cho Cu Ha near to the An Nhon Tay crossroad. Admission is free, but they do ask for people to leave a donation. Every dollar spent here is a dollar well spent.
It is possible to volunteer for work, either on a daily or a weekly basis. Many people who do have spoken of the positive experience as being life changing. Animal welfare in Southeast Asia is not always what it should be. The world of these dedicated individuals is helping to redress the balance in this most worthy of causes.

!steemitworldmap 11.119143 lat 106.518026 long Cu Chi Wildlife Rescue Station D3SCR

For other Saigon attractions see also:

#1 Suoi Tien Theme Park https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/attractions-in-ho-chi-minh-city-suoi-tien-theme-park

#2 Vinh Nghiem pagodahttps://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-vinh-nghiem-pagoda

#3 Notre Dame Basilica https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-s-magnificent-notre-dame-basilica

#4 The Cu Chi Tunnels https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-4-the-cu-chi-tunnels

#5 The Municipal Theatre of Ho Chi Minh City https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-5-the-municipal-theatre-of-ho-chi-minh-city

#6 People’s Committee Building https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-6-people-s-committee-building

#7 Museum of Vietnamese History https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-7-museum-of-vietnamese-history

#8 The Reunification Palace https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-8-the-reunification-palace

#9 The War Remnants Museum https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-8-the-war-remnants-museum

#10 Nguyen Hue https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-10-nguyen-hue

#11 Hotel Majestic https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-11-the-hotel-majestic

#12 Bui Vien https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-12-bui-vien

#13 The Fito Museum https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-13-the-fito-museum-of-traditional-medicine

#14 Saigon Zoo and Botanical Gardens https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-14-saigon-zoo-and-botanical-gardens

#15 Saigon Central Post Office https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-15-saigon-central-post-office

#16 Ben Thanh Market https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-16-ben-thanh-market

#17 Pho Binh https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-17-pho-binh-the-secret-headquarters-of-the-vietcong

#18 Dong Khoi https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-18looking-up-dong-khoi-from-saigon-saigon

#19 Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theatre https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-19-golden-dragon-water-puppet-theatre

#20 Dam Sen Water Park https://steemit.com/travel/@inseasia/saigon-attractions-20-dam-sen-water-park

I have been developing the InSeAsia website for three years. It genuinely is a labour of love. I have lived in Southeast Asia for 9 years and have no plans to ever leave.

I am extremely grateful to anyone who follows me, up votes, comments or re-steems my work.

Come and check me out. If ever you come to Saigon, Vietnam get in touch and we can meet up.

Website: http://www.inseasia.com

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@inseasia

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/InSeAsia/

Facebook group for Southeast Asia Steemians: https://www.facebook.com/groups/846253152208905/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4YQUTrPwK190V4vbJDLt_A

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/inseasia/

Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post.
If you enjoyed what you read here, create your account today and start earning FREE STEEM!
Sort Order:  

The animal, seems so cute. Keep posting.

·

Thanks, it a good place

·
·

yeah, looking very beatiful..

Interesting post

·

Thank you

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=inseasia
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=saigon-attractions-21-cu-chi-wildlife-rescue-station


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)