2017 Europe Trip 06: London, England Visit

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

After my splendid visit to Edinburgh, Scotland ... I return to London, England for the third time and as the saying goes, third times a charm. My visit to London once again did not disappoint me.

Since my first two visits to London were more to see the tourist sites, this third visit, I decided to simply see old friends and made a LOT of new ones through hanging out at new parks and new pubs.

Visiting British Museum to see the Hokusai Exhibition

I once again stayed with my good friend who lives near Finchley, which is on the Northern line, up towards the north of London. Knowing that taking the tube to the central London would take at least 30 minutes or more ... I wasn't really keen on doing so many tourist hotspots that I normally did on my first two visits to London.

That being said, my friend bought two tickets to a special exhibition at the British Musuem, the special exhibition was showing artwork by famous Japanese artist, Hokusai. He's famous for creating the infamous "Great Wave" etched painting that is seen around the world and influenced and inspired the Quiksilver logo. So I spent the first majority of the day on Friday walking around that exhibition. 

Also little did I know that one of the remaining fragments of the Rosetta Stone is also in that museum in London. Makes me laugh how I run into these artifacts randomly without even knowing. Shows you how much of a tourist I am ... which is pretty much none. 

Spending Saturday Afternoon Having Proper English Tea at Kenwood House

Again, majority of the time that I've spent in London in my first two visits was visiting in central London. This time around, I was invited to go stroll around Hampstead Heath that's once again in North London. It's an extensive outdoor park with lots of grass and ponds to swim in. You'll find ponds that are roped off so that people can jump off the dock and swim in the pond with lifeguard nearby. There's one pond for men and another for women.

At the Hampstead Heath also is the Kenwood House. This manor is quite infamous for being a filming location for Hollywood films such as Notting Hill. The house itself contains millions and millions of dollars of fine art. One of the most expensive one is the Rembrandt self-portrait original, which by itself is over 60+ million dollars. Funny thing is the security at the manor was quite lax, but usually I find that in Britain, people mind their manners.

The Kenwood House also had these funny Victorian English lingo, which I found quite hilarious.

Which one of the below Victorian lingo are you?

After strolling through the park and checking out some artwork at Kenwood House, my friends and I went to have some proper English tea time ... which consists of English tea and some scones with butter and jam (strawberry or raspberry). Of course, I had to be stereotypical for fun and lift my pinky out. Okay, don't shoot me, but I just had to do that!

Having Some Fun in London

The rest of the time during the late evening and night was simply just going out to pubs across central London, specifically in the Soho area. I'd just hang out with my friends and/or wonder off to other places on my own and befriend new people who were also having fun.

Luckily, the London Tubes started to run certain lines late night, essentially having 24/7 service so getting home from central London to Finchley area was not a problem anymore using the Northern Line. Quite convenient.

Would I Want to Move to London?

Now that this is the third time I've visited London, I've considered wanting to move to London. Yes, I know people tell me it's overrated and quite expensive. But then again, any place can be like that. 

And my situation personally is different in the way that I don't work a normal job, and that I work remotely as web designer and can dictate my own hours. I wouldn't need to do those mindless morning/late evening commutes where people are literally stuffed like sardines in a can on the tube.

I do feel that London has quite rustic culture, and a culture of fast-pace but then also one where after good days of work, people go and relax at pubs with a beer. Not a bad way to live honestly.

_______________________

- Do you think London is quite hectic?

- Would you consider living in London even though it's expensive?

_______________________

Feel free to see my full 2017 European travel plans.

Next Location >> Seville, Spain

Previous Location >> Edinburgh, Scotland

And follow me @hustletoparadise to stay up to date on the European adventures and travels.

Sort:  

You really had fun over there, the pictures you took were excellent. Good one, enjoy yourself.

Looks like you had a lot of fun. That's good.

Keep enjoying yourself , beautiful locations and all looking happy. More success

You took very nice Pics , I hope you still have fun taking ones!

@hustletoparadise nice post :) London is great but have you even been in Poland? It's much cheaper! In Warsaw you may find many entertaining places. For example Nowy Świat Pavilions. If you have a moment please check my post for details:
https://steemit.com/travel/@radzioha/warsaw-by-night-2-the-nowy-swiat-pavilions-heart-of-warsaw-s-nightlife
all the best to you!

Wow how awesome! I cant wait to go there myself always wanted to! I just added you to my list, new here and love travel bugs like myself;) check out the article I just posted about my trip to Tulum where I became a first time property owner in Mexico! Add me to your list if you could, trying to grow my friends on Steemit! Love it here!!

that trip looked hella fun

Congratulations @hustletoparadise! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60930.55
ETH 2367.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48