2017 Europe Trip 04 Part 1: Paris, France Visit

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

After visiting hot and sunny Rome & Florence, the fourth visit on my 2017 Europe Trip was to Paris, France. This visit wasn't my first time to the city and actually is now the fourth time I've come back (2011, 2015, 2016 to be exact). My visit to Paris was more to attend the two-day conference called Wordcamp Europe, a conference for Wordpress users and developers. 

Enjoying the Day Along the Seine River

That being said, there were a few areas in Paris that I hadn't seen in my last three visits as well as some areas that I simply didn't mind seeing again as they are quite iconic locations.

The Airbnb I stayed at was near Voltaire metro, which is close to one of Paris's big plaza called Bastille. It was also a short 20 minute walk towards the Seine River, where on nice sunny, warm summer day, the river front is lively with people picnicking and enjoying the sights.

I ended up meeting one of my good friends who lives in Paris for a wine and cheese afternoon along the Seine River near Notre Dame cathedral. Just laughing and enjoying conversation is the main reason I travel - to simply experience and enjoy life.

My Short Visit to Chateau Versailles

One of the newest locations I never got to go to was Chateau Versailles. I've read a lot about French monarchy while I was in high school and college, so visiting the opulent Versailles estate was a must. That being said, I arrived to the Versailles around the late afternoon and the line was still quite long just to go through security. So I opted just to view the free gardens around Versailles. My suggestion, show up quite early so you can beat the lines, although people already start queuing to the entrance one hour before the chateau even opens.

The outdoor gardens are constantly being maintained to precision, and you could aimlessly walk around the gardens and property for quite some time ... although I only viewed a portion of it and got tired from the heat as well as the hordes of tourist and French school children romping around loudly through the gardens. Again, would have been nice to enjoy the outdoor gardens in more quiet setting, but I guess that's asking for too much. 

Why I Won't Come Back to Paris

I'll be honest, besides my visit with my friend in Paris, I honestly did not like my visit to the city. Again, if the Wordcamp Europe conference was not held in this city, I definitely would not have come back. I feel that each time I come back to the city, I just have a more and more negative feelings about the vibes in Paris. Also, as someone that learned French in schooling, I've found my encounters in this trip to run into French speakers who were not nice at all.

If you aren't a French speaker, than honestly don't expect much kind reactions as the stereotype that French don't want to communicate in other languages mostly holds true. 

Worst yet was my experience getting fined 50 euros simply because of just a one-time mistake of not being able to locate my valid metro ticket, and the ticket checkers didn't bother trying to understand my situation. This definitely put a damper to my impressions of Paris. If you visit Paris, don't be like me ... get the Navigo Decouverte, I wrote a post about why you should get that. Also be aware of zones, although I believe the whole zone set-up is quite stupid. I had to jump the turnstile once late at night because I wasn't sure why my ticket didn't work ... but after getting fined 50 euros, I felt justified jumping turnstiles and giving zero f*cks about it.

That being said, this is ONLY my opinion of Paris, and not of the entire France. 

I repeat, just my opinion of Paris, and not the rest of France. 

I've been to Beaune in Burgundy to stay in countryside for 2 weeks and absolutely loved the wine country area. I've also stayed in Lyon, which is a relaxed city with amazing French food local to Lyonnais area. And lastly, I've been to Marseille and the coastline and again, the French living in the southern parts of France are quite relaxed. My future plans is to visit Brittany and Bordeaux, along with Biarritz (as a surfer myself). So yes, I still plan to come back to France, just NEVER through Paris.

_______________________

- What have your experiences of Paris, France been like?

_______________________

Feel free to see my full 2017 European travel plans.

Check Out My Wordcamp Europe post

Next Location >> Edinburgh, Scotland

Previous Location >> Rome & Florence, Italy

And follow me @hustletoparadise to stay up to date on the European adventures and travels.

Sort:  

hahaha Parisian 🙄
Next time you should come to Lille, juste an hour from paris, the city is ugly as f**** but people are more sympathic, but anyway, Bretagne is an awesome place, but be prepared, you need a solid liver cause they drink a lot over there ;)
Enjoy roaming ;)

Thanks for the suggestion. There are many areas of France that I still want to check out :)

Beautiful architecture. Thanks for the post.

The Paris is so awesome :D

Awesome! So wanna visit too, after seeing this. Upvoted!

great post i am now following and upvoting too

The image impressed me

Lovely pics. Though sorry your visit was less then stellar. Paris has been a place which I'm semi curios about but eh. Lots of other places in Europe I would rather visit first.

Yes, there are plenty of other underrated places in Europe to visit. Actually, the latest underrated place I feel is Edinburgh in Scotland. Nice time is May/June, but is not hectic at all and is great place for digital nomads.

I will keep that in mind then. I do hope to go visiting Europe sometime in the next few years.

I have both fond and, somewhat, sour memories in this city. I made a trip, several years ago and quite recently. Paris has changed a lot & in many ways seems to becoming unmanageable.

But this will be true for any city at the pinnacle of its time. Rise and fall of cities is unavoidable. But you cannot avoid taking a bit of culture back with you, after you have truly lived and stayed in a great city like Paris.

You are right ... Paris is undergoing some kind of transition, and time will tell if the city will eventually work itself out. For the time being, I'm totally avoiding it in my European travels.

Haha... loved your honesty about not really digging the parisian attitude ...I guess nothing has changed there since I was there a few years ago hehe ...

Well, honesty is the best. Something that is true, I will not hide. I guess everyone's experience is different, but honestly ... I've heard a lot of other people say the same thing about Paris and local Parisians as not so nice. That being said, the countryside of French towns/cities like Lyon, Beaune, Marseille ... I had lovely lovely time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43