Memories of Egypt: Cairo Calling

in #travel7 years ago

egypt1.jpg
We arrived at Cairo and the temperature at 10.30pm was 28 degrees Celsius! The blast of hot air that hit us when we got out of the plane was surprising but welcoming.

We were not going to need any of the warm stuff we packed.

We just blindly followed the crowd and climbed aboard the bus that they did. Luckily it took us to arrivals, where we were met by the Imaginative Traveller rep (despite being about 3 hours late, we were a bit worried that we would have to make our own way to the hotel).

We already had our VISAs so we were in the fast queue, but had to spend ages waiting for our bags and then we discovered the delights of Cairo traffic...

Now considering it was midnight by this time, driving consisted of a lot of horn tooting and weaving in and out Wacky Races style.

(Mental note: Never drive or own a car in Egypt, or attempt to cross the road for that matter).

It was about a 45-minute drive and although it was dark, we glimpsed a peek at the citadel, crossed the Nile, which is a hotbed of activity, with fishing and people sitting chatting. We were told that this is where the poorer Egyptians congregate.

Not long after that, we got our first glimpse of the pyramids all lit up. They were breathtaking.

When we got to our five star Hotel Mena House (thank you Dad for funding this amazing trip of a lifetime), the hotel was gorgeous.

They took us on a tour down this corridor and that, showing us the room that Tony Blair had stayed in and lots of photos showing the last 100 years of history.

He finally took us to our room and promised us that there was a wonderful view of the pyramids from our balcony (at this point it was pitch black).

When showing us the bathroom, he said "show the queen the bathroom" and my husband walked in first. I did laugh.

This is the view we woke up to..

Read About the Hope Bank Project

Sort:  

How nice your photography is!I like your photograph.

hmmm....28 Degree Celsius great after feeling chilly weather these days. Hotel Mena House seems to be cool. have a nice stay at cairo. keep sharing @hopehuggs Resteemed & Upvoted

It was truly amazing, but it was also 10 years ago, but I am loving reliving the memories from my diary that I just recently found hidden in my attic.

Mental note: Never drive or own a car in Egypt, or attempt to cross the road for that matter.

Lol. You just painted my life here

driving consisted of a lot of horn tooting and weaving in and out Wacky Races style.

I wish to give you a hug to support your post by up voting and paticipating in the #hug-challenge organised by #air-clinic 's team lead @nairadaddy . You are most wAIRcome to join our discord channel too!

HUGS!!!

I'm in the #air-clinic. I love @nairadaddy's vision and dedication to it and how everyone is rallying around to make it a huge success. I love your country. Egypt is beautiful.

Thank you ma'am @hopehuggs! Your efforts are always appreciated. Cheers!

Lolx @cwen. @HopeHuggs is already in there. She's our Director of COUNSELLING even. Anyway wAIRdone for participating in the #hug-Challenge!

#AIR-CLINIC

I can't imagine my life without the traffic chaos here haha. Actually, we enjoy it. Egypt is a great place to visit, by the way. Try to spend two or three days at most in Cairo, then you can see more monuments in Luxor and Aswan, the Suez Canal in Port Said, the beautiful beaches in Hurghada and Sharm El Sheikh, and many other fantastic places.

Thanks a lot for sharing this beautiful places!

It was a multi-destination trip actually, we spent time in Cairo, Aswan, A riverboat on the Nile, Luxor and Sharm El Sheikh.

My memories of Egypt will include these destinations too, but Sharm El Sheikh might be a little hazy, as I didn't complete the diary, but have some amazing photos and videos to jog my memoryEgypt is very beautiful and I am in love with its history.

Egypt is indeed a beautiful historical place. We had been there on a holiday few years ago and it was just amazing. Yes, the hardships could be overcomed by the breathtaking sight of the pyramids wirh the sunrise.
Regards Nainaz
#thealliance

Yes, the sunsets and sunrises and the huge moon left us in awe.

oooo wow, I have plans to go travelling next year. This can be in my bucket list. The other one is Cape town

I have a good friend here on Steemit actually who is from South Africa, I have been invited, so definitely on my bucket list too :)

The place looks amazing and glad to see you having a nice vacation. :)

A long time I did enjoy it @sharoonyasir. It was 10 years ago.

Sorry I got a little confused and thought it was from a few days ago. My bad :(

Thanks for sharing more about your Egyptian adventures. This definitely looks like a fun trip. Perhaps if I go to Egypt, I'll take all of these things into consideration, including the advice about driving. haha

Thanks for sharing!

Lots more coming. I have also located lots of balloon ride photos as well. I will have to make a video out of them I think. Tomorrow's post will have all the advice out guide said to us as well.

I've enjoyed your Egypt series for sure. I'll be looking for the photos!

Too hot for me. I like cold winters and hot summers. Hot 24/7 ain't my thing.

However, that hotel and the pyramids are fucking impressive! Good that you took many pictures, this is a nice memory to have!

Yes, when I got home, I made a point of never complaining that it was too hot ever again. 55 degrees celsuis is not a comfortable heat at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71