My Kimono Experience - Traditional Japanese Wear

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Winter has come and gone. Looking back, I think I did pretty well at surviving my first winter. My friends and persons I meet would ask,

"So, how was your first winter?"

And my response that never fades is always,

"Can you believe it? I am alive!!!"

As a Caribbean queen, this was a tough fight as I am used to my warm tropical beaches and my golden sunshine, all year round. The greatest thing for me is that I am a challenger and I don't mind a challenge - a challenge is just another chance to win or to learn a lesson.

p22-knight-kimono-h-20150719-870x579.jpgImage Source

Whenever I hear the word Kimono, I think of winter. And if you know anything about Kimono, you would understand why I always associate it with winter. But in the event that you aren't sure what a Kimono is, let's add to our collection of knowledge.


The kimono (着物) is a traditional Japanese dress. In modern day, it is worn only sparingly or during special occasions such as weddings, tea ceremonies, formal traditional events and funerals. An appropriate style and color of kimono is to be worn depending on the occasion and the person's age and marital status.

Men's kimono usually have more subdued colors and are made typically from matte fabrics. Partly for this reason, it is the women's kimono that generate more interest because their beautiful designs make them art pieces as much as they are garments. The women's kimono is traditionally made of silk, but these days they are also made of polyester. Decoration techniques include embroidery, yuzen painting, and dyeing - Kimono
Image Source


Kimonos have evolved with the passage of time and new styles and designs have come forth.

They (Kimonos) could be worn in layers to provide warmth in winter and kimonos made of breathable fabric such as linen were comfortable in summer. These advantages helped kimonos become part of Japanese people's everyday lives - History of Kimonos


Now for my awesome experience...


I went to "Experience Fukuyama" only expecting to be dressed in a Kimono but the experience that I had couldn't have been disclosed by anyone with mere words.

I really had to experience it for myself. I was beautifully adorned in apparels by staff members at Fukuju Kaiman, Fukuyama who were very kind and welcoming.

On that day I learned that Kimonos used to be worn everyday but today they are only worn for special occasions, as noted in the source above.

Indeed putting together this masterpiece is an art that one has to be taught. You wouldn't believe all the bits and pieces that are involved in putting it together. Just to give you an idea, I went in search of a pictorial representation. I have also included a representation of the male's Kimono.

q_01 (1).gif


Source of Images


After being gracefully adorned, we snapped a few shots inside and then headed to the garden for my "photo shoot".

9.23.7.![9.23.12(1).jpg](https://steemitimages.com/DQmek7Vz31wTxaf2EqeNoTFwLhEuRPRzTV3iJr3ayqSzthP/9.23.12(1).jpg)jpg


9.23.6.jpg

A bit of fur for the camera.
When wearing a kimono, ladies usually carry a small bag (most times a small basket-like bag) or they use the inside of the "tamoto" (baggy sleeves) as pockets.


9.23.5.jpg

The kimono that I am wearing identifies me as a single woman (short sleeves indicate a married woman). If I didn't know better I would think it was my wedding day; I felt like a true princess as I stood as a mannequin being decorated by skillful hands.


22045754_10209896632484378_5185692319031442821_n (1).jpg

Art at its best.


9.23.23.jpg


9.23.19.jpg

This overall with the red piping that I'm wearing is worn at a wedding. It had embroidery and was breathtakingly gorgeous.


9.23.20.jpg

Japanese gardens are in a category by themselves. There isn't anything that can be compared to Japanese gardens and I am in love. I hope to have a Japanese style garden some day. I will show you some pictures of a Japanese garden in a future post.


9.23.8.jpg

The great Fukuyama Castle.


9.23.9.jpg


9.23.16.jpg


9.23.18(1).jpg

Yeah, I am always goofing around; still a child at heart.


9.23.15.jpg

The end result is definitely worth the time and patience that is required. Even the reception that I got from Japanese onlookers was spectacular. They were so enthused to see a foreigner wearing a traditional garment with such pride and poise.


9.23.11.jpg

And here are the lovely ladies who dressed me and made my experience the splendor that it was. Thank you ladies.

Do you remember that bucket list that you made? Add another bullet and write Kimono Experience; go ahead, do it now. I definitely recommend this experience to my beautiful ladies if ever you are in Fukuyama; heck if ever you are in Japan! 😊




Thank you for passing through and reading my post.
I hope you enjoyed it.




Transparent Logo.png

Sort:  

This is such a wonderful post. You are a ball of light in those photos. What an amazing experience. Thanks for posting (you always do such cool stuff on Steemit). I found you through the #payitforward contest (again). You were featured this time by @imagendevoz. Congratulations.

Aaaww thank you my dear. It was indeed a beautiful experience and I felt happy sharing it. Good to see @imagendevoz participating in the contest.

Thanks for the intel and visit @thedarkhorse. Appreciate it.

I used to practice Karate, you know? It was amazing whenever I had to wear my karate gi (often called a kimono, although I think it is a mistake for what I was told). I felt so elegant wearing it, even after a fight when it was coverd by dirt and blood haha.

Cool post!

Oh really...that is awesome man....I didnt know they referred to those as kimonos too....hmmm, will look into that. I always wanted to do karate when I was younger but the resources weren't available. I hope that my son will like it and maybe learn one day. I know what you mean about the feeling you got from wearing it.....see, youre really an all-rounder. Very nice man.

At least here in Venezuela, many people mistaken it for a Kimono. It is a great martial art! I had to drop it many years ago, but I would love to retake it.

Oh okay...I see. You should maybe.

Interesante y muy atractivo tu post ...Y tu eres caribeña, es genial ☼
Nos has aportado una completa información sobre el kimono de la mejor forma. Tus fotos y narración son estupendas.
¡Felicitaciones !

Thank you @parauri.... I'm happy that you found the information and pictures interesting. Which country are you from?

Hola @honeysim . Sí, Venezuela. Golpeada los últimos 20 años por su Gobierno :(
Saludos y un abrazo amiga ☺♥☺♥☺

This post deserves some superuovotes
You look good ina yuh kimono deh :)

Can I tell you lol.... Thank you my dear.

A really lovely post..Getting to know about the culture and its special dress codes from other countries are always makes a good feeling...

Thanks for this post..And thanks @imagendevoz for nominating this in the pay it forward contest..

Nice to meet you here and following you too

Thank you @anngelro...it is indeed an awesome experience learning about other cultures. Thank you for stopping by as well. Very much appreciated.

It is nice to know you from here too..Once in a while when free visit my pages too..

Stay blessed and keep connected.

Thank you dear and same to you. :-)

Great post! I wish you best of luck in #payitforward contest! You've earned it.

Thank you @backpackingchef....your support is greatly appreciated. I am happy you enjoyed my post. Thank you for visiting my blog.

You look lovely and radiant in the kimono! The photos capture how much joy you were getting from the experience, which made me smile too :) I found this thanks to the Pay It Forward contest!

Indeed, pictures are worth a thousand words. Thank you for stopping by. Your presence is appreciated. The Pay it Forward Contest is doing good things. Have you ever participated in the contest @mtnmeadowmomma?

Yes! I've had a lot going on so I sat out the past couple weeks.

Oh okay. That is alright....the door will be open for when you do find yourself with some time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31