Traveling without kids

in #travel5 years ago

This week, my husband and I will pack up the kids and drive over ten hours to begin our vacation. After spending a few days with the in-laws, we will be packing up and getting on an airplane for some mommy and daddy alone time.

While we've been busy buying snacks for that really long car trip, I've also been getting our papers together. Since we will spend several days without our kids and ahem, our wills are basically non-existent, I had to act fast.

I looked up the will laws for my state online and I could have a written will, as long as it was signed by two adults in my presence. After hashing out details of who would become the guardian, establishing trust funds from life insurance policies and who should reside over our estate in the case of our deaths, we still had a lot left to do.


source

In another envelope, I included the details needed in case something did happen to us. I specified some of the wishes in regards to money, our kids' education as well as pertinent info regarding disposal of the bodies (cremation, with ashes scattered). It also included some of that information a potential caregiver would need to know, such as location of all our documents and names and numbers of all the doctors who care for my children.

In a third envelope, we have the information for short-term care of the kids. One includes a list of the things one needs to know to care for two toddlers (one pretty much refuses to eat meat while the other will eat most anything except tomatoes) and tips and tricks for getting through the day in one piece (warn the girl before flushing public toilets). In addition, I included another piece of paper with a "waiver" saying I allowed my in-laws to seek any medical attention for my kids. At the bottom of that paper, I decided to add a bit of information. Thinking on my father-in-law trying to fill the paper out while my mother-in-law helped the child, I added in information such as drug allergies (none) and the kids' dates of birth and current weights.

While I hope none of these papers will need to ever be used, I feel a lot safer leaving my kids knowing that many of the loose ends are tied up.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hnub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @hnub.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33