The New Zealand Escapades (Pt. 2) Off the Edge ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜˜๐ŸŒณ๐Ÿฆ‹

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago

Here's a quick catch up of my NZ adventure while I'm on wifi! My plans are 'off the edge' but... there's really pretty waters!

23714994_10155136473497934_1345399603_o.jpg

Snooze. I pressed the button on the cool, flat face of my phone beside the bed, stopping the taunting jingle beckoning me to wake up and rolled back over for what I told myself would be"just five more minutes.โ€

Originally I thought I would be out of the door, on my way, wind in my hair by 11am. With what I mapped out to be only a two hour journey up ahead, I figured that would be putting me at Mount Sunday, the Lord of the Rings film site of โ€œEdorasโ€ well before bedtime. I overshot that big time!

See, Day 1 ended up being a slow start out the gate and involved a lot more hustling and bustling city time than I had mapped out in my mind. I didnโ€™t even leave myself enough time to make brownies to go- knowing how much of a chocolate-a-saurus I am, you all know how much that would have crushed my soul to leave without a taste treat in hand!

Getting on the road proved difficult for me. I was already having a hard time with the transition of my own, homey-home set up in tropical weather to frigid winds of Christchurch living under a roof that didnโ€™t belong to me. I was staying with this wonderful man (you need to hear this story so Iโ€™m going to make sure to tell you about it another time!) who had opened up his home to me after meeting him the last time I was here but more on that later. The adjustment from Bali, jungle life to the city was draining for me.

Energetically I was like silly putty, always tired and zombie-like dragging myself around and I was quickly losing touch with wanting to go explore the great unknown. After almost two weeks in that big, swanky house in the center of the city I was confused about who I was and what my mission was in life. I had been dealing with a lot, I have been mentioning just a small fragment of it in my previous posts but overall my lack of time on here is an indication of how much is happening for me behind the scenes. I was really losing focus and drive, falling into self-pity, regret, anger and even depression.

I had a series of events trigger my anxiety since I got to New Zealand and they were weighing on me whenever I was deciding to take off in my camper cross country but I gave myself some time to recoop, had the van disinfected and prepared for the journey and finally stuffed myself back into it!

So here I am writing this the night of Day 2 to catch up on this wild experience. Obviously, I did not make my first location on the first day like I had planned but, let me show you what I did manage to get into!

23732220_10155136473287934_529288078_o.jpg

On the side of the highway, along the road to the famous film site I was after, was this wonderfully blue gorge.

23760240_10155136473407934_551212156_o.jpg

โ€œGorgeโ€ as in gorgeous in my opinion. The water was a romantic crystal blue that just made my heart pitter patter and I could not get enough.

23732206_10155136473232934_1747150962_o.jpg

Finding myself back in nature my heart opened up the previously stowed away happiness the city was draining and I felt my legs dancing along the waterโ€™s edge, chasing the white fluffy โ€˜fairiesโ€ that were floating through the indescribably beautiful blue skies. I breathed in and out and my stress released itself into the sky and far away from my smiling future. This was the medicine I needed!

23715324_10155136469542934_903570395_o.jpg

I was suddenly swimming with new possibilities of an excitingly bright future! All of the joy and wonder of what these next few weeks could bring was singing through all of the uncertainty of being away from my home and missing my comfort zone. The world opened up to me again like an endless adventure and I am so excited to share this journey with you!

23730582_10155136473272934_947778111_o.jpg

Day 1 ended up being so much fun even though it didnโ€™t go as planned. Just letting life take me by surprise and admiring the gifts that come along when I stop stressing has been so much fun!

23759953_10155136473557934_1996016404_o.jpg

I needed to find a last minute camp site and I found this serene, private spot by the lake underneath pine trees that danced into my senses while I slept. It was perfect and I canโ€™t wait for more!

Until next time, sending you a big hug from out here in the wilderness! I find that travel always does change me in just the way I need at the time so I am excited to see who I come out as ๏Š

So here I go again my Steemian friends, off until another Wifi op presents itself ;)! I hope to catch up with you again soon!


Sending you love!

XO,
๐Ÿ˜˜


SignatureAvatar Collage.jpg

Sort: ย 

Beautiful!

Looks like your having so much fun you don't even want to post any more!

Thats good for you and bad for us ;-)>

I have been traveling for over month and not posting much either. Haven't really checked others content in a long time so coming to catch up with you!

See you when I see ya!

Blessings~*~

Hey Quin! I actually couldn't have posted if I wanted to! I had no wifi or electricity and every day was filled with reconnecting to nature so I wouldn't change it for the world except I did miss you guys ;)

Now, times have changed a bit and I am going to still be on the go but now a but more connected so I hope to be able to catch up more!

I'd love to hear about where you've been and how Steemfest was <3

Glad to hear you're doing well <3 Big hug my friend!

Reconnecting to nature is priceless.
Though as with all of life there is give and take.
Great to connect with you again and I have posted many posts so far on SteemFest and have MANY more from the epic adventure!

Hope to see you tune in.

Very nice picture. Please vote back me

thanks.please vote and follow me.

My brother used to manage the Rotten Apple hostel in New Zealand. he said it is a shithole but it's full of drug addicted, fun loving, adventurous travelers. If you drive by you should stop for a good story.

Hahaha oh my goodness, I wish I would have seen this before leaving the country! I smell a story there for sure ;) Thanks for the recco @themadgoat! Unfortunately I didn't have any wifi or electricity haha so no Steeming for me ;) Now I am in Thailand so hopefully I can catch up a bit more! Hope you're well my friend!

Beautiful and interesting post, upvoted!

Thank you so much for your support, I love being able to share the travels with you :)

wow its like so good....good post

NZ is beautiful! I will post many more pictures to share with you :)

Yo im doing a travel piece on my recent tour of Portugal. Would be an honour if you checked it out big fan of your writing especially the crazy drugs escapade and your poor mums travel debacle.

Hey stickchumpion I would love to read it even though I am very late on the uptake of this, I didn't have wifi or electricity on my journey! I am going to open it up now and will have to read it later but I am on it and am honored that you want me to read it <3

No worries about being late the written word is on the block chain and always their to be read which is the biggest accolade.

Nice post

Hi my dear! I missed your post! Am very happy that i see you enjoying this natural beauty to forget your stresses , i hope see you soon in another post, because i missed your veggies Wednesday.

Hi @creativewoman! I have been having a wonderful time making the most out of not being able to be home right now! I won't be able to run the contest for a little bit longer as my flight back home was canceled and now I am in Thailand with my dad but hopefully I will be back to normal soon- might as well enjoy the beauty while I am able to though, right ;)

Thats beautiful! How could you visit and then convince yourself to leave! Thank you for sharing.

Oh I know! I struggled to leave last time which is why I left my stuff there!!! It's just a dream <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99