You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beggar Conflict: Tight Pockets, Exploring Compassion, And Making A Difference (Or Not)...

in #travel7 years ago

This was a good read on a topic that has been on my mind a lot lately.

I recently took to the streets in Sydney (Australia) after raising $1,300. I used this money to make up care packages and buy food which I took with me and handed out to those in need. I also slept on the street that night, learning about the people who are in those situation. It was very humbling and gave my life a lot of perspective.

I'm not sure about other places in the world, but most of the people I met were struggling with alcohol or substance abuse and giving out money to these people would only be used to fuel there addictions.

I share a very tough story of one man I met and with my thoughts on those struggling with homelessness here

Keep doing what you can for those who you feel deserve it!

All the best
harrynewman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64