Sleeping On The Streets/Donating Food And Care packages To Homeless[A Visual Recap/Sydney Australia]

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Fast recap of the weekend! Thank you to all those who donated and showed me your support!

IMG_3359.JPG

Packs were made up, thanks Lillian for your help! 30 in total however I could only take 20 with me. I'll be going back down to hand out the rest this weekend!

IMG_3370.JPG

Healthy food was purchased

IMG_3386.JPG

Prepped up with the help of Demi!

IMG_3396.JPG

There was some serious Tetris style packing required to fit in as much as we did

IMG_3399.JPG

The crew that was meant to join me had all fallen ill, so I had to proceed alone! I was set up like a pack mule!

IMG_3407.JPG

Met William on the train in to Central Station (Sydney). He had been doing it tough for a while but considered himself still full of hope, and warned that I would meet some tonight who were not so hopeful...

IMG_3410.JPG

This is Bil! He has been running a charity organisation called Homeless Run for the last 5 years. He invited me to set up my butane cooker and food stuffs on his table. We served up fresh made wraps for countless peoples dinner, plus gave out a container of spaghetti for breakfast the next morning!

This is also where I handed out many of the packs. I wish I had captured more photos, but I was busy being in the moment.

IMG_3411.JPG

after the food was handed out and it was decided to pack up. I returned to Central station where I met this man outside

IMG_3412.JPG

His name is Anthony, and he shared many stories and lessons with me. He give me so much information on how I can best help those doing it tough on the streets.

He made it clear that there was no lack of food, that the toiletries definitely help and clothing and sleeping bags are a must have. But that the most important thing needed to be donated was loving compassion...

Inside the station there were plenty of people lining the walls in sleeping bags, resting up for the night.

IMG_3417.JPG

I placed a pack next to some of those sleeping, who didn't seem to have much and could use them best.

This man had no socks on, while he slept under a thin blanket. The fresh set of woolen socks hopefully make his morning.

IMG_3414.JPG

I spent the night sleeping next to Anthony, sharing stories and learning from him. I awoke to this gorgeous view of the city, that would no doubt be a reminder to some here on the streets that they still don't have a stable home.

IMG_3421.JPG

This was how we slept, both on our own little foam rollouts and sleeping bags.

IMG_3424.JPG

Anthony and I received a free coffee handout, and enjoyed our morning together.

IMG_3428.JPG

This city has many homeless, and many stories. I wish to share Anthony's later this week. And return to the streets to gather more insights into the lives of others.

IMG_3423.JPG

I hope this has inspired you do what you can for those in your community doing it tough. Thank you again to all those who helped support me!

Follow to hear Anthony's story later this week and see more of life living on Sydney's Streets.


Yours, with Purpose

harrynewman

Sort:  

This is what giving is all about.
Continue this trend and teach them well.
Good luck and stay safe !!

Thank you for the support! I felt amazingly safe with the company I had met and look forward to going back for round 2 :D

Loading...

Great job! We need more compassionate and generous people like yourself in this world. Keep doing what you do and stay blessed :)

Thank you friend :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81