The New World: One day in Huacachina!

in #travel6 years ago

11858E36-20F0-4F4F-AB2F-C9D3A06DBEA3.jpeg


After one week of staying in Lima, Huacachina is the next destination in Peru I want to visit. Huacachina is a desert in Ica area, and also one of the most attractive tourist attractions in Peru.
I spent just 1 day in Huacachina because I wanted to move to Cusco as soon as possible and also because I think 1 day is enough to explore this desert. I'm gonna share what did I do within one day in Huacachina.


1. Take a "super bus" to go Ica.

Experiencing Peruvian Bus is really awesome. I took a bus of Cruz de Sur company - one of the best companies in Peru. I dont remember exactly how much I paid for bus ticket, maybe around 70 Soles.



Source


I call it "super bus" because it's service is so good. I felt like I took a flight, not a bus. Not like bus in Vietnam, to take this kind of bus, I needed to get in bus station before departure 30 mins, to "check in", check my luggage, get security check to make sure that I can't bring anything prohibited on the bus. When I got on the bus, they will provide blanket, pillow, TV, earphone,... They have the staff to take care customer and serve food and drink. Service is even much better than some cheap airlines. I spent 2 hours on the bus but I felt like just 30mins because it was so good. Thank to this kind of bus, I could take such long trips around South America by bus: 12 hours, 18 hours, 22 hours trips. Just stay on the bus, sleep, wake up, watch movies, eat, drink, and sleep again,... Like that.



Source


After I got Ica bus station, I took a Taxi to go Huacachina. You should take a taxi in the couter inside bus station, with the driver who wears uniform and have the name card because they can speak English and they will not rip you off. You can also ask them for some recommendtions about hotel, dormitory in Huacachina. They are really enthusiastic.


2. Where to stay in Huacachina?

I stayed in a domitory, not an apartment like in Lima because anyway I meant to stay in Huacachina just one day, no more. The taxi driver brought me to a domitory which was quite good with swimming pool and wife, hot water,... with 27 (~$7)Soles per night. Not expensive.

There are a lot of places to stay in Huacachina, so you dont need to worry that can't not find out one. Just go around and look for the room. Dont' forget to bargain a bit to have good price. Make sure that there aren't mosquito or bed bug in your room. Better you should prepare spray, just in case. :)


9DD58CE6-6B4A-45F9-92FF-C10980EBF61A.jpeg

Swimming pool


3. Things to do in Huacachina?

Explore Huacachina desert, of course. I got Huacachina at 2pm. and I booked a tour right away to see sunset on the desert. It was around 30 Soles (~$9). This price didn't include tip for the driver. You need to tip a bit more for them.


316DD9EE-40D6-4EA5-9A98-EA034FD5C9FA.jpeg


The jeep car climbed to sand dunes, went deeply to the desert. This is the first time I go to the desert, and seeing myself surrounded by sand on all the sides was so impressed. After some slowly moves, the jeep car gradually raised speed. Within a second, I understood that why I have to pay tip for the driver. Their skill was so great and professional. The sand dunes were really high. Our jeep car climbed upright to the top of sand dunes and plummeted on the opposite side constantly. It made everyone on the jeep car so excited. We kept screaming and laughing. Feel like crazy. Super high sand dunes, strong wind,.. I even worried that the car could be capsized but fortunately, it's not.


After getting crazy with jeep car, the driver stopped in the place that was the best for taking photo. It will be long enough to you take every kind of photo and the driver is even willing to let you go up on the top of jeep car to take better photos. You can feel the blazed sunshine on the desert, you better bring sunglasses if you dont want to close eyes in your photo.


After taking photos, the driver brought us to top and super high sand dunes to slide on the sand. I needed to lay down on the board to slide down. I thought it was so challenging and scary a bit, but it turned out to be really fun and excited.


0BFE5414-67B9-4651-8CA8-4DE0A3B55EB1.jpeg

I took this photo when I was waiting for my turn.


After finish several times of sand sliding, when everyone felt tired, they brought us to another place to admire sunset. The sunset on Huacachina desert was one of the most impressive sunsets I have seen in my life. The sun looked like a red rock gradually going down under the horizon of sand. I felt like I was seeing a scene of the movie named "1001 nights". All of sudden, everyone was being quiet, stayed side by side and admired sunset.


35F4D471-3125-4419-A07C-B9C5E3D037C0.jpeg


Standing on the top of the sand dune and overlooking whole the Hucachina oasis. It was really impressive. I was staying in the oasis but I couldn't imagine that it looked so gorgeous when seeing the whole scene like this.


5F6BBA91-EC84-48C6-B89A-8DF57F656F25.jpeg

This is a photo that I love the most


4. What to eat in Huacachina?

There are a lot of restaurants and bars near by the center lake. Mainly is for tourists. When I was walking around and looking for a good place, I saw a restaurant named "Huacafuckingchina". Really outstanding. And I decided to get inside without hesitance. lol.

I ordered a food named Lomo saltado (?!). It had rice and beef cooked with tomato and chips,... It was quite good. I finished all since I was supper hungry and tired because of the tour in afternoon. There were a lot of different choices for you about drink and food.


61437061-5577-468E-A66D-5C07FD4F93E9.jpeg


By: @hanggggbeeee


Related posts you may want to read:
The New World: Where to go in Lima, Peru?!
The New World: Tips for traveling Lima, Peru!
Something you may want to know before traveling Vietnam!


Sort:  

Amazing my friend. I like your post,

You are welcome

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

em kết nhất là cảnh ngắm hoàng hôn đó, trong không gian thoáng cỡ đó. mặt trời xuống sâu tít vậy đẹp sao cưỡng nổi

Ừ. nhìn bằng mắt thì đúng là,... chụp bằng máy cùi nên lên ảnh vẫn không đẹp lắm. ^^

Looks amazing and alluring! I'll put that place on my bucket list of places to visit.

Are you sure that the bus did not have wings? It's definitely more streamlined than some of the budget airplanes I've flown on!!

That photo of the oasis is my favorite, too. As soon as I scrolled down to it, I stopped and thought "Wooow!"

that bus has invisible wings. haha. Visit Huacachina and try that bus asap.
But I worry that you can't bear jeep car. staying on jeep car to climb up sand dunes is like playing an adventure game. Can you?

Not sure. I prefer comfortable travel, but a bit of action and adventure now and then is okay, too.

But, unfortunately, I probably won't get to South America any time soon... Still hoping and dreaming about traveling there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71178.18
ETH 3871.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50