Escape the Crowds at Lake Tahoe (or any tourist spot) by Trail!

in #travel7 years ago

Hey everyone, this is my first Steemit post! I hope that you like it! All constructive criticism is welcomed.

I recently spend 3 weeks travelling California by camper-van. I spend the first few days of the trip in Los Angeles as it was the cheapest place to fly into. Although I had a few good hikes in LA, the hustle and bustle mentality of LA is what I was trying to escape. I hit the road searching for solitude in the form of peaceful trails to hike and bike.

California is vast and beautiful. It's easy to find your own private beach, claim your spot and never leave. Head inland to find beautiful mountain ranges, towering tree's and mystical valleys. What I did notice at these inland destinations however, is that these spots had become monetized and gentrified. Essentially, these beautiful locations had become tourist attractions. I don't mean to insult anyone who enjoys seeing nature in this type of situation, but I know that it's not my style.

Last year during a trip to the Grand Canyon, I learned how to avoid the meandering gaggle of tourists. This technique can be applied to any popular outdoor attraction. What was the technique I applied at the Grand Canyon? Well... it was to actually walk into the Grand Canyon. That is to say, my girlfriend and I spent the better part of my day walking down the Bright Angel Trail descending into the Grand Canyon. Guess what? It was the most beautiful trail I had ever hiked... and it was also deserted. I felt like we had the Grand Canyon to ourselves. It was fantastic. Since then, I have applied the same technique in Banff, Sedona, Yosemite, Mount Washington and most recently Lake Tahoe. Hiking never fails to provide the solitude that I seek. Furthermore, my photographs have improved drastically.

I have been creating trail review videos all summer. Since I got away from the beaten path, I was able to take my time and create this video at Lake Tahoe.

I really believe that I couldn't have made this video from a boardwalk or gated lookout. Rather than being told where to look, I prefer to take a look for myself. I hope this encourages everyone to think differently on their next journey. Some of my best memories involve rounding a bend to reveal a beautiful mountain vista, or the view from a top of a mountain which I reached by my own power of will.

Anyway,

Peace and Happy Trails!

Sort:  

Congratulations @goodtrails! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @goodtrails! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @goodtrails! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59415.56
ETH 2593.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47