Pashupatinath Temple In Kathmandu

in #travel5 years ago (edited)


Pashupatinath Temple - Nepal


It's been a since since I posted any of my Nepal photographs and today seemed as good a day as any.

This cityscape of the outskirts of Kathmandu includes the Pashupatinath Temple which is now a UNESCO World Heritage site. It dates back to the 17th century although many of the surrounding buildings are even older than that.

The entrance to the temple is at the top of the steps, through the gateway.


pashupathi2.JPG

Be sure to click on the arrow to view it full screen!

I took this picture from the opposite bank of the Bagmati river since non-hindus are not allowed in the temple area.

Pashupatinath is Nepal’s oldest and most important Hindu temple and is dedicated to Shiva in his Pashipati form, the lord of beasts.


pashupathi.JPG

Be sure to click on the arrow to view it full screen!

It is considered an auspicious place to be cremated and attracts pilgrims and worshippers from across the Indian subcontinent and the rest of the world.

Whenever you visit you will see cremations taking place on one of the numerous “burning ghats” by the riverside. So be prepared!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

If you look through the windows in the second picture it just look like wow

image-66-678x381.jpeg

BTW the name of Temple is Pashupatinath not Pashi.....
Love From Nepal #VisitNepalYear2020

Thanks or the correct spelling @jindabaad2. I wasn't sure and it is different depending where you look.

I'll change it here though. 😊

Okay, so the temple, is the tallest building in the image with the bronze looking roof and spire? If I'm right, it's interesting how it's surrounded by other buildings. Is that all part of the temple complex, too, or just some sort of urban growth around it?

I'm not that familiar with different kinds of temples. The ones I've been to, both ancient and modern, are generally standalone, with grounds around them, so the temple itself stands out, and I think, to give it some solitude, or maybe even peace and quiet.

At any rate, very interesting and I like the sideways photo, too. Kathmandu is a very intriguing place.

The other buildings are all part of the temple complex too @glenalbrethsen.

I don't like the sideways photo. No idea why that happened. &#128546

Kathmandu is indeed an intriguing place although I've heard it's been "cleaned" up since I was there and even more touristy. I'd love to go back but wouldn't want to be disappointed if it's been "sanitised".

Nepal is definitely worth a visit though. You should save your pennies! 😁

How many pennies would you say I need? About 20,000? :) Maybe a little more? My wife would probably want to come with me.

I have absolutely no idea @glenalbrethsen. 😂

It was a long time ago I went and I can't remember how much it cost me. I wasn't really counting as it was a 'trip of a lifetime' sort of deal. Prices are pretty cheap once you get there though.

I booked a couple of hotels before I left and then found the others once I was there. The latter was a lot cheaper.

And you would definitely want to take your wife. I went alone but I know John would have loved it as much as I did.

Hey, @jindabaad2.

Well, thank you. :) I haven't been yet, and I don't think I'll make it next year, but every time Gillian puts up photos of Nepal, I find them very intriguing.

One of these days, maybe. There's so many places to go and see and so little time and resources to do it with. I guess I could just runaway and become a world travel and work my around to different places.

Maybe at 25. Since I'm almost 53, I'm just tired thinking about the possibility. :)

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 47% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Nice photo view

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.409 which ranks you at #2304 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2301).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #125.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33