Travel Memories #1. Finland (eng)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I start a diary from my first foreign trip - a tour of Scandinavia. And the first country in which I found myself, after crossing the automobile border near Vyborg, was Finland.

13_Finland.jpg

As was to be expected from my parents, I traveled with them. The bus tour was a compromise option for all of us: my father doesn't fly on airplanes, my mother was afraid to go without a guide, and I dreamed of breaking out somewhere!

Since the 90s, Finland has occupied one of the central places in popular rock music. Today in Russia there are many admirers of suomirock - gloomy pseudo-gothic, metal, pop and rock bands. I was not an exception when I was a teenager: I listened to HIM and The 69 Eyes on cassettes, wrapped in a black coat and believed that no one understood me. And with the advent of the Internet, even engaged in translating interviews for Russian fans from English, German and Finnish. So, the language and mentality were clear to me, and the country itself caused nostalgia and mystery at the same time.

What can I say about the first visit to Suomi? It failed! We lingered in a traffic jam on the border and then drove west, not having time to see Helsinki. It's impossible to describe how upset I was! All the way I was looking sadly out the window at the endless northern forest. I saw only the Cathedral in Turku, several streets, and we immediately set off on a ferry to Stockholm. On our way back, we failed again! A couple of hours in a gloomy, rainy, dull and empty Helsinki. I do not even have beautiful photos, just water. And I decided that I will definitely return here in the future.

This future came in three years! And it marked my first independent trip abroad. Alone, 1,5 days by "Demidov Express" to St. Petersburg and 3.5 hours by high-speed train to Helsinki. I was in the heart of the city at noon on December 29, 2011, and after 2 hours it began to get dark! Shock .. is it a polar night? The following days showed that it is lightening here at 10 am, and dusk already at 2 pm. But this didn't stop my busy program.

8.jpg

5.jpg

10.jpg

In the light hours I went around the whole city and studied it thoroughly, even went by ferry to the sea fort Suomenlinna. In the twilight I met with friends from the Internet, was visiting, went to museums and even got to a rock concert. And one of the evenings gave a concert in the famous "Church of the Rock" (Temppeliaukion kirkko).

2.jpg

New Year I met on the Senate Square. For the first time in the street! There was a magic fluffy snow, sparkling Bengal lights, and then everyone warmed themselves in a cafe of the XIX century - Kappeli.

46.jpg

In general, the architecture of Helsinki is a separate topic, and I won’t be distracted by it in this article.

13.jpg
9.jpg

I also didn't forget about favorite rock band of my youth and gave gifts to the frontman from the fans through his father. And I received souvenirs in return.

111.jpg

In general, the "maximum program" was carried out! Despite the wet snow, strong wind and dusk, it was a fun trip! With New Year's mood, the first impressions of an independent tourist and full living in the city.

My view of the journey was formed by this way. No guides! Only walks and full immersion on Wednesday. I even realized why the Finns write such gloomy music. A long dark winter, damn it. So, come in the summer!

44.jpg
7.jpg

PS

If you want to feel the atmosphere of Finland, as I understand it, watch any film of Aki Kaurismäki. For example, «The Man Without a Past» . And listen to music.

Thank you for reading! Bye-Bye!

  Thank You!

Upvote, Resteem and Follow Me Please!
@freshkarma
jennifer-lawrence gif.gif

Sort:  

Awesome Post! Will doing some UpVoting now!

Свитхарт, бьютифул))

в натуре, бьютифул!
киитос, дарлинг =*
ай велкам ёр свит 666 ин май харт

Я яя вериимач бьютифул)

а вот Вилле - Герой Финляндии

Вилли Хапасаало))

неа, мы тут про другого)

That's some beautiful photography!

thanks
the camera is an obsolete model. quality is not very good. at least I did not shoot on the phone

beatiful travel. I Like your post

Thank you!
I will have a series of posts devoted to 25+ countries that I visited. Read, please!

Thank you @freshkarma for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 0.85% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Very very good post!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65