Baptism of fire!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I took this shot at my very first assignment from a travel magazine that I meant to work with, for more than 3 years. It was a job that I took with zero experience based on a portfolio made of vacations shots!
A very convincing portfolio, I might add, since the first assignment they gave me was to take all the pictures for a whole issue! When I realized that I am the only photographer on the spot, I was almost petrified. I was really afraid that I couldn't handle the workload and that I was lacking the knowledge and the experience to pull it off but fortunately I was wrong :)
This is one of the pictures I took those days that helped me to gain self-confidence and move on to this job.
It is from the island of Antiparos in Greece and after all this years I still think that it illustrates very vividly the island's vibe!

_MG_6869.jpg

Camera: Canon EOS 40D
Lens: Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 EX DC HSM
Focal Length: 10 mm
Aperture: ƒ8
ISO: 100
Shutter: 1/90 s

Sort:  

This picture is money, man. Dope as hell. Just out of curiosity, is this anywhere near Mykonos? I was there a couple years ago but didn't get to explore any of the neighboring islands.

Thank you @jocqua!
Yes it is very close to Mykonos. Both islands are part of the Kyklades complex.

Awesome. It's a very beautiful part of the world. I hope to go back one day. Well thanks for responding and thanks for sharing the photo!

A beautiful photo, it captures the serenity so well and the foreground adds great context. Thank you for sharing this with us !

Thank you for your beautiful comment :)

I love that story about being the only photographer on the job. People rise to the occasion like that and in retrospect these things become the steeping stones that get you though life.

Yes it was quite a challenge but I believe it helped me to evolve.
Thank you for your support!

Are you still a full time photographer?

No I quit 5 years ago and moved to Crete. If you care for the whole story you can read my introduction post.
I spent a couple of years where my cameras where hidden in a closet but gradually I started to find a place for photography in my new life and now I can say that about the 1/3 of my income is from photography but full time no, not even close :)

Wow ok; I will have to read it.

Congratulations @fotostef! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @fotostef! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49