What people eat... taste defined by culture

in #travel7 years ago

Since we are stuck at Hong Kong International Airport for 9 hours I had a bit of time to walk around.

And while browsing in the shops I stumbled over some foodstuffs that I am really not used to seeing in Europe.

Parsonally I do not mind to much trying new things and I would try most of the following out of curiosity but they do appear weird in my western eyes...

So check out the funny yummy things here,

Which ones would you give a go and which are a definate no go???

I will start things off with something I already ate in Peking a few years back and thats the glazed Peking Duck. It gets a bit
Weirder after that

FBE93FAD-B46D-4C2E-92F6-E3A724FDA787.jpeg

DBCB20B4-89C6-46D9-88A5-3E4E19496AA3.jpeg

775D4CB0-40B1-40B2-82FA-0993BBAFA373.jpeg

04C60140-5911-4F4A-BB21-B31BB36EF02F.jpeg

9931AC89-554B-4594-A002-E22A4EFEC8C1.jpeg

2E32EBBB-8B29-4CCD-97CF-8C3FBEA3BA25.jpeg

0C7E993D-A2BE-49B3-8FDC-863CA57D949F.jpeg

Sort:  

I'm always curious about such things and I really like Asia...

This was just an airport layover, we have newyears onthe way back with an extra day

Haha - I live in HK, and for the most part I avoid these 'treats', but I've got to say I really like cuttlefish. The smell is rank but it tastes damn good..IMO for what it's worth :)

Looking atthe quantities being sold they must be treats for the locals or torture for the recipients, kinda like a nationwide practical joke...

We are going back on 31st till 2nd early

Yes, an enduring practical joke at that. Some of the more popular food here in HK and across the border in mainland China are recent 'creations' marketed as 'status-symbol delicacies. For instance, shark's fin soup was (apparently) unheard of until the 1970's when it suddenly became an essential wedding banquet dish, with the implication that you had to have it, or you were still of peasant stock. That's one of the sad realities of sudden wealth in this part of the world, with the natural world suffering as a result. Think shark's fin, rhino horn, tiger dick, bear bile etc..

Might be an interesting topoc to write about. And a post per weird foodstuff

Hmm..food for thought! Total pun intended ;)

Ouch. Not pleasant for a person with a meatless diet ;)
UpVoted.

There was some dried fish and crabs as well
And dried mango but no pic of that

Duck kidney for the fun of it

True, that didnt look half bad

@felander, you just received an upvote powered by smartsteem. We exclusively support quality posts and authors on steem.

Everyone is invited to be a part of it and to join the smartsteem community: https://steem.ly/smartsteem

The ducks are aligned like saying
"you are gonna eat me, aren't ya?" in a voice which sounds pleasant at the same time threatening.
So ya, "i choose you roasted blazed duck."

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Think I'll stick to the Peking Duck, thanks any way. I don't think I would eat anything before my next flight. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75