Life After Graduation... YemensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My first year in the Middle east was coming to an end. I still didn't want to come home so I applied for another job, this time in a school in Lebanon. Little did I know before my trip how popular a destination Lebanon would be. Everyone wanted to go there, "The Paris of the Middle East".


Sana'a
Memorable architecture of Sana'a, Yemen

As fate would have it I did not make the cut but I was accepted to the sister school in Damascus, the capital of neighbouring Syria. I thought at the time, great it's only a short drive over the mountains to Lebanon, I could go at the weekends.

Taking this job would turn out to be one of the best decisions of my life. The only problem was I didn't have any Arabic, or very little at least (Remember the segregation I was talking about in the UAE).


Join me for some experiences on a trip from from the UAE to Syria. There were highlights in each place that will stay with my forever. I am writing now many years later but I would like to share some of the memories that have stayed with me. Travel is so much fun, if you get the chance, get out and explore this great world.

Just a few short years after I made this trip, it's now 2017 but impossible to visit some of the places I was on my travels.

Go and Travel when you finish College. Never Stop Exploring!!!


Yemen

To rectify the language situation I decided to head to Yemen for the summer. I enrolled in a language school in the Capital Sana'a and booked my flight.

Yemen occupies the southern tip of the Arabian peninsula, separated from the gulf states by the Great Empty Quarter, mountains of beautiful red and yellow sand.

An Ancient Land

Yemen was home to ancient the land of ancient Sheba, a great trading state that flourished for over 1,000 years. Its no surprise that Yemeni are renowned as traders and merchants all over the middle east. Yemen is a poor country and has been war torn for many years, the country does not have a strong central government and is still very tribal. Outside the main cities it can be dangerous and travel limited. The north of the country is mountainous and the capital Sana'a is at an altitude of 2,300, so even during the summer time temperatures are not too hot. In that respect it was an ideal place to go to learn Arabic.

I was not prepared for what I was going to find.


Sana'a
Skyline, Sana'a Yemen

One of the most fascinating, unique and memorable countries I visited on my trip. This trip just kept getting better and better.

The Rub Al Khali (The Empty Quarter)

Between the UAE and Yemen is the vast expanse desert known as The Empty Quarter, mountains of the most beautiful coloured sand stretching as far as the eye can see. I had read many stories of Wilfred Thesiger traversing this great desert and living with the local Bedouin Tribes but I was hoping to take the easier route.

From 36,000 ft, I thought I would have a great view. I booked a window seat but alas the haze meant I could hardly see anything out the window. The trip was short and uneventful.



An extract from my diary

I am in the air over the desert on my way to Sana’a will just give a few thoughts about leaving the UAE. I am really relieved. I am finally on the plane out of there. I had a great time there and it is a nice country but at the same time I am not sorry it’s over. It was a stressful year full of little mountains to climb. There is no doubt but I am a stronger and happier person for it, I faced all the little challenges and came out on top. I have now got another little challenge ahead of me. I am absolutely * * * * * * * * myself. I actually feel physically ill that I am on the plane. It doesn’t help either that the turbulence is really bad here in the Gulf. I am happy though that I am finally on my holidays and I am doing exactly what I want to do. I just have to get out of the high pressure anonymous mentality of Sharjah and Dubai before I land. I am on holidays and I want to enjoy them. I am such a lucky person! Why am I on this journey is anyone’s guess! It’s a bit like the reason I did theoretical physics, I seem to have some one up there guiding me along the right path. I just hope that he is right all the time!

The Old City of Sana'a

Situated in a mountain valley at an altitude of 2,200 m, Sana’a has been inhabited for more than 2,500 years. In the 7th and 8th centuries the city became a major centre for the propagation of Islam. This religious and political heritage can be seen in the 103 mosques, 14 hammams and over 6,000 houses, all built before the 11th century. Sana’a’s many-storeyed tower-houses built of rammed earth (pisé) add to the beauty of the site.
Source: http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/385

This bustling town is the seat of government. In the heart of the tribal North this town is an experience, well worth the trip. It has it all

Enter the Old City of Sana'a


Old City

There are Bustling Markets

I finally found real Arabian markets that haven't changed much in thousands of years. It was like stepping back in time.


Market

Beautiful Crescent Topped Minarets

The skyline in this ancient city is topped with the most beautiful buildings with the most unique designs. The minarets stand above the rest.


Mosque


Mosque

Distinctive Houses

The style of house in Sana'a is unmistakeable and makes for the most beautiful photographs. This is not a film set, this postcard view is a real everyday house!


Houses

More Beautiful Mosques


Mosque

Old City Streets

Every Mosque, Minaret, side street and house is a picture.


Mosque and Old City Streets

The narrow side streets typical of Arab cities make for some great exploring.


Man on Street in Old City

At Altitude everything is an effort

I wasn't prepared for the effects of being at such altitude, I was always tired and everything was an effort, but the locals just got on about their business. These Yemeni people are built of strong stuff!


City Life Old City

The views are worth the Trip


Old City

At night the City Changes

The city transforms with the lighting in the evening. Every mosque and minaret is lit up and you have to photograph the buildings all over again.


Old City at Night

Bring a tripod to get perfect shots of the Crescent Moon


Old City at Night

These towers date back hundreds of years

The hotel I was staying in was one of these old buildings.


Old City


Old City of Sana'a

There is an occasional oasis in this desert town


Old City of Sana'a

Night falls and the city lights up again


Mosque at Night

One Last look at this beautiful Mysterious town


Sana Mosque

With Shadows gliding thought the streets

Everything about this ancient land was mysterious. Travelling here you get an appreciation for a completely different culture, you may not understand it at first but if you give yourself time you begin to respect a different way of doing things.


Shadows

Still to Come

I was in Yemen for a short time, the Arabic course I was taking only lasted a few weeks but there was so much to this vast country, and I have such great photographs and stories that I could not fit them all into one post.

Still to come on Yemen; The Markets and the People, a Trip to Manakah, and some extracts from my diary about the experiences I had while I was there. Follow me to hear why I needed to write my diary in Irish.

What was I afraid of?


Previous Posts in this Series



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



All images are from my personal library.

Please note: In recent years, there has been a civil that is ongoing in Yemen


Sort:  

looks like a beautiful city. I would love to visit. What is the best time of year to go?

Unfortunately there has been a civil was ongoing in recent years and it is not advisable to visit at this time.

Pictures are amazing thanks for sharing this lovely post!
Followed You:)

Thanks for reading, there is more to come :)

Nice shots you have there. Religion has done more harm to the middle east than any other thing. I wish they can de-emphasize religion in their life.

Is religion the cause of the issues or a way people define themselves?

Ways of life linked to religion can be very positive, extremism on the other hand is a different issue. I see religion as a positive force but I do wish for tolerance.

Perfectly said but in reality it does not happen so. Religion is good but not being able to put a Godly interpretation to it is chaotic. A situation where someone thinks that spilling blood takes him to heaven is against God itself!!! Opposite of religion. The middle east is a centre for this type of counter productive religion right now. I do wish that things get normal so that people can love again. There is no love in killing your fellow human for anything!!!

It's our dream to go to the middle east. Did you ever felt "unsafe"?

A very interesting question.

Crime
There is very little crime against tourists in the middle east. In contrast to practically any city in the west you could be mugged, robbed or attacked, especially as a tourist. So for those reasons I did feel safer than I do walking down the street in Dublin at night time.

Living Standards
In the middle east there are different dangers, Yemen for example is quite a poor country so your at risk from dangerous vehicles, poor hygiene or stuff like that. I was terrified of the Drivers especially in remote Manakha where I will visit in subsequent posts. I felt unsafe for these reasons.

Terrorism and War
As long as you don't go to dangerous regions or war zones your life is probably not at risk for reasons of war or terrorism.
For example I didn't visit Marib in Yemen as there was unrest at the time which has since escalated into full scale civil war. Having said that terrorism is something that can strike at any time and anywhere. I stayed away from these places but I did have a lot of prejudice that I struggled with from time to time. I had a very interesting encounter with a man in the Airport on my way home from Yemen which I will write about in a subsequent post.

The Khanjars and Guns
Yemen is a tribal region and the everyday dress of the men is quite scary at first. That took a bit of getting used to.

In general because I was careful with where I travelled to I did not feel unsafe, I researched my tip well in advance and took advice from Embassys, travel forums and locals who I worked with. There is no substitute to up to date views from people on the ground. There is always a risk with any trip, after-all your in the unknown out of your comfort zone.

Wow! Thanks for the detailed information!!!

Great! By the way, I hope you already know that at the moment 100% Power Up option is not the best one in terms of author's reward.

I need to give this more thought and be more proactive, your right. Thanks for that @deanliu.

Edit: For other readers @papa-pepper wrote a great post on this a few days ago.

The Key seems to be to convert your SBD using an external market, not the convert to Steem button.

Nice one man Following you :)

Thanks @umangkochar1996, I will check out your blog too.

It is cool you had the chance to visit all of this before these days. I guess most of it is now destroyed or not safely accessible :(

I haven't been following the situation too closely but id say most is probably still there. The city was quite extensive and the old city was pretty much all like in the photos.

An important part, for me, of this series is to urge people to get out and see the world while they can. You never know what will happen. Many of the sights i saw in Syria, which i will get to in subsequent posts, are no longer there not to mention some of the wonderful people i met.

This makes your posts twice as important as witnesses from the past! History is important, otherwise it is forgotten and the same mistakes are repeated.

Actually the same mistakes are always repeated... :(

We have a very short memory.

Wow - what beautiful pictures. You make me want to travel to Yemen (if it wasn't for the civil war!!)

fascinating post, thanks

Thanks for reading @clumsysilverdad, I have much more to write about in this series but I have not gotten around to it in a while. I must get back to continue the journey soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80