Life After Graduation...Tour of Esfahan

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

"Esfahan is Iran's masterpiece, the jewel of ancient Persia", one of Iran's top tourist destination and home to another UNESCO world heritage site, The Masjed-e Jāmé.

This beautiful city located in central Iran, with its tree lined boulevards, its magnificent mosques, expansive bazaar and charming tea houses and friendly people, has a lot to offer. I didn't really know what to expect of this city.

I was here for the new years celebrations in 2004. This was my first new year outside Ireland and not in a million years did I even imagine that the new year would be celebrated on a different day in this country!

The trip and the adventures continued to exceed my expectations




Join me for some experiences on a trip from from the UAE to Syria. There were highlights in each place that will stay with my forever. I am writing now many years later but I would like to share some of the memories that have stayed with me. Travel is so much fun, if you get the chance, get out and explore this great world.


Esfahan

This city has been described as the most beautiful city in the world, few could argue. After a long bus trip from the desert city of Yazd I arrived and checked into my hotel/hostel in the city centre. As luck would have it I got talking to some other tourists and we went for dinner and ended up spending some time together for the next few days. While travelling you meet the most interesting people, have great conversations and even have some adventures. New years eve that year was quite unforgettable.

Imam Square

The city is dominated by the central square, The Naqsh-e Jahan (Imam) Square and its beautiful mosques, that include a UNESCO heritage site.





Persian Bazaars

The Bazar-e Bozorg runs along the side of the square and links it with the Jameh Mosque. Be warned, you won't enjoy visiting this city if your in a hurry or if you don't like tea. As I browsed through the first memorable middle eastern bazaar I encountered in the middle east, I was frequently stopped for tea and conversation. "Where are you from?, Oh Ireland, Damien Duff Damien Duff", a reference to an Irish footballer.

Near the end of one end of the square I came across a shop "Flying Carpet" which sold the most beautiful Persian masterpieces. I stopped here to admire one my favourite mediums for Persian Art, the humble carpet.



Bazar-e Bozorg



Don't forget to look up, the ceiling of Bazar-e Bozorg

Imam Mosque

This mosque was a place I came back to again and again while I was in Esfahan. Each time was a different experience as the light captured the blue tiled mosaics and the magnificent entrance portal in a thousand different shades. In a word breathtaking.



Entrance Portal to the Imam Mosque

















































Lotfollah Mosque

A feature of this mosque at one side of the square is how the roof tiles change colour through the day, with the light. The Esfahan signature blue and turquoise tiles are quite striking around the domes summit. This mosque is unusual as it doesn't have a minaret nor a courtyard.



Ali Qapu Palace

This was built in the 17th century initially as a monumental gateway to the royal palaces but later served as a seat of government where the king received notables and ambassadors. The elevated terrace gives one of the best views of the Lotfollah and Imam Mosque.







View from the terrace





The Revolution

When I travel I try to find parallels, something to relate to, some common ground. In Esfahan the murals of the Imam Khomeini and others reminded me of the Murals in Belfast, in Ireland.





You don't have to look far in Iran for reminders of the change this country went through over the last 30 years. On the following money a stamp of an Islamic symbol covers a picture of the last Shah of Iran.



Bridges of Esfahan

The Zayandeh River runs across the city separating North from South. For me one of the memorable features of the city, and indeed Iran, was the old bridges across this river. There are tea houses at either side on the river bank but in the middle of the Chubi Bridge is a charming old tea house where I got to spend new years eve drinking tea and eating biscuits.
Did it matter I couldnt speak farsi and not many spoke english? Not at all. With some friendly smiles communication was not a problem. When it got to midnight I got up and wished everyone in the room happy new year. They didn't have a clue what I was doing but they were happy to shake hands and smile back at this crazy foreigner.



Si O Seh Bridge



Si O Seh Bridge



Beneath the Si O Seh Bridge



Chubi Bridge and the tea house where I spent New Years Eve
Not only was there no new year in the tea house, but it Iran time is GMT +3:30, which is different than neighbouring countries.



Join Locals strolling feeding the ducks

The Armenian Quarter

The Jolfa quarter is the Armenian Quarter of the city. As a westerner the impression of Muslim countries can be how intolerant they are of other religions. At the risk of opening a can of worms, there are many examples across the middle east of where Muslim, Christian, Jew coexisted in the past and I hope one day again we will be able to accept each other for what we believe and tolerance and peaceful coexistence will prevail. In Esfahan there is an Armenian Christian population, pictured is one of their churches.



Wibble Wobble

Manar Jomban about 7km west of the city is a tomb of a 14th century Dervish where someone has the job each half hour of shaking the minaret resulting in a vibration that causes the whole roof to shake. I am not sure it was worth the visit but it's an unusual sight.

Modern Iran

There are a lot of magnificent monuments and ancient sites in Iran. But the modern can be just as breathtaking. The Abassi Hotel was just refurbished when I was there and I stopped in to marvel at how a modern 5 Star hotel blends the rich history and culture, thousands of years of tradition with the modern. I wished I had been able to stay the night there.








I was only in Iran for a week but there was too much to cover in just one post on Iran. I have split the trip to Iran over several posts. Esfahan was my last stop before heading back to the UAE. Still to come photos and stories from Yemen, Syria, Jordan, Israel and Lebanon.


Previous Posts in this Series




Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



All Images are from my personal library.


Sort:  

Unfortunately I have come to the end of my trip to Iran, thanks for the resteem.

you should make another trip to Iran then :)

A friend of mine is planning a trip later this year. Unfortunately I don't think I will make it but it's on my list to return. I have yet to visit the north of the country, Tabriz, Kashan, Tehran, Masuleh. There is so much to see in this beautiful country.

Nice places you mentioned here, and you should try west too, Hamadan, Kermanshah, Kordestan.etc..., great places to visit

Someone promoted your post. Promotions help every steemians.
Your reward is an upvote and 0.037 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, see you next time in Promoted! ;)

Excellent, thanks @pipes

seriously speaking, it is a beautiful place to be

It is a beautiful country

that's true

What a beautiful place

I only got to see a small bit. You could easily spend a month here travelling around. I would highly recommend it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56430.09
ETH 2323.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35