Life After Graduation... Dune Bashing in the UAEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Join me for some experiences on a trip from from the UAE to Syria. There were highlights in each place that will stay with my forever. I am writing now many years later but I would like to share some of the memories that have stayed with me. Travel is so much fun, if you get the chance, get out and explore this great world.


Life after Graduation...

This is the fifth post in this series. Links to previous posts can be found below.


Dune Bashing

This exhilarating roller coaster is common for tourists in the UAE. It's the main opportunity, as a tourist, to visit the desert and leave the bright lights of the city behind. Each time someone came to visit me in the UAE we got to go out. It was so much fun. There are many tour groups that have professional drivers to take people out for half day or full day tours usually finishing with food by a campfire in a Bedouin Camp (made for tourists).


Dune Bashing
Leave the city behind in a souped up SUV. Our ride had a 6 litre engine, 15 gears and a roll cage.
Dune Bashing
The edge of the Empty Quarter. The search for suitable Mountains of Sand begins.
Dune Bashing
Is this steep enough?
Dune Bashing
This will do. Our driver asked us did we want to take it easy or not?
Dune Bashing
We said no. Let it Rip!!!!
Dune Bashing
Lets see what this can do
Dune Bashing
As the sun begins to set we look for a good spot for the sunset
Dune Bashing
Experience a beautiful sunset as the setting sun casts shadows over miles of beautiful desert.
Dune Bashing



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.
All Images are from my personal library.


Previous Posts in this Series

Join me in reliving my journey.


Sort:  

Stunning images, it would be amazing to visit Im sure.

It has been a few years since I was there. I would love to go back. I am doing a post on Skyscrapers in a few days and Dubai now has 18 buildings over 300ms. It has many cool things to see from the beautiful desert to man made wonders of the modern world.

It is good you managed to go to Syria at that time. I am not sure this trip would still be safe today.

I was so lucky. It was a very peaceful time in the middle east.
When you get a chance to travel you have to go for it. The situation can change, your situation can change. I hope these posts inspire people to go see the world, learn about different cultures. Break down barriers.

It's important to be safe though and not take unnecessary risks. At the time I made the decision to go to Syria I was based in the UAE and I knew and worked with people from there who knew what it was like on the ground.

That's indeed a good way to asses the risks: talk with the locals (and forget a little bit at least about our media that interpret everything ... ;) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99