The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town

in #travel7 years ago

The Irish Pub is an institution. This may sound strange to people from different parts of the world but, to this day it is very much part of Irish life. Every apspect of life's journey is celebrated here, from wetting the baby's head to waking the dead. In recent times it has been (in)famous as a place where brown paper envelopes have been exchanged but also much loved for; the lockins, the stories, the music and the great craic. A version of the Irish pub has been exported all over the world and from Mozambique to Shanghai you can visit a "Molly Malones" or "Murphys". Each incarnation will have an Irish sounding name and be distinguished by Celtic writing above the door but there is no substitute for the real thing.

Join me as I visit some of the great pubs of Dublin, discover some secret watering holes, and help me bring Steemit to the masses!

Dublin

I have been in Dublin, the Dirty Old Town, for 13 years and I still regularly come across a hidden gem. A pub, I previously didn't know existed. A Pub that has been there for years and may even have the best Guinness in the world.


Hapenny Bridge
Image Source: http://www.ireland.com/

This realisation has inspired me to embark on this journey around our nations capital leaving no stone unturned in my search for the best pubs, and best pint in Dublin.

Steemit & The Irish Pub

Each week for the next few months I will be visiting a pub on my list and I will post a review here on Steemit. I will write about the pub I am visiting and give some insights into how pubs have become an integral part of life in Ireland.

Join me to talk about Steemit.

I am inviting anyone that is in Dublin to join me. If your new to Steemit and you want to learn more about it bring your laptop and we will get you set up. If your free on a Monday evening send me a message @eroche on Steemit Chat and I will let you know where I will be.

On my journey I also am also hoping to get at least one bar in Dublin to try STEEM as payment. You never know they might develop a taste for it. :)

You are likely to meet anyone in a Dublin Pub. From John F Kennedy to Barak Obama there have been 7 American Presidents spotted in Dublin Pubs. I am unlikely to get to talk to President Trump if he visits but if I meet any other celebrities in my travels I will be sure to introduce them to Steemit and get a Selfie.

The Black stuff, not the Craft stuff

I am a bit of a traditionalists and creature of habit. My favourite tipples are Guinness and Whiskey. I never was into craft beer so I won't be rating craft beer pubs on my tour, of which there are many in Dublin. I will be looking for old traditional pubs that serve great Guinness and have a traditional atmosphere. Pubs that are welcoming and friendly and STEEM friendly.

Previous Attempts

There are not many places in the world where someone will write a book about drinking 968 pints of Guinness, even keeping the receipt for each one. The Dublin Pubspotters' Guide by Mac Maloney lists over 900 pubs that he visited in Dublin. I will be using his guide as well as my local experience and word of mouth to shortlist the best pubs to visit the next time your in Dublin.

I am not the first person to follow in the footsteps of Mac Maloney.


No tour of Dublin Pubs would be complete without a quote from the famous Brendan Behan.

“I'm a drinker with writing problems.”
― Brendan Behan



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

Nothing like a pint of Guinness in Dublin! Wish I'd had some of your recommended bars handy before I visited last summer. Will look forward to seeing your posts about it though.

Sure you will just have to visit again, nothing like some local knowledge :)

Brendan was a modest writer/Genius🙄

ill add a quote with each pub. he has some good one's :)

oh,nice of you....will like to read more of his Gentlemanly post

Check out THE CONFESSION BOX Marlborough Street or Dublin's Smallest bar on Dawson Street

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84