The Golem (Iceland Day 8)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

On the eighth day (almost done folks!) we made a stop at a very beautiful spot.

IMG_20180408_122318.jpg

The dirt trail, the interesting mounds of dried grass, the sea and mountains in the back make for an interesting composition. I wonder why the dried grass clumps like that.

MVIMG_20180408_122326.jpg

Those people are taking another path down to the beach. We stayed on the cliffs above the beach and it was a very short hike to the overlook where we would see a gorgeous overview of the beach.

MVIMG_20180408_122902.jpg

The lone rock structure towering above the rest of the beach. If I didn't know any better I'd say some nasty spell turned a monster into stone as punishment for eternity.

And if you zoom in, there appears to be someone meditating on the middle of the island. At least according to my imagination.

This place is called Hvitserkur.

MVIMG_20180408_123106_1-EFFECTS.jpg

Another shot, with some light effects.

MVIMG_20180408_123206-EFFECTS.jpg

I really like this shot of a stream snaking its way to the bay. And again with the mountains in the distance.

In the back to can see the people that took the other route down. It's possible to get down from here but it's a bit of a steep trail.

We enjoyed the view from above and didn't bother going down to the bottom. Most of us aren't hikers.

That was a brief stop with a light hike, some deep conversations, some giggling and hopping, snapping photos, and back to the car we went. Did I say deep conversations? Nevermind, not really. Though wandering around these landscapes certainly gave us plenty of time to ponder life.


Iceland Travel Series

Here's a link to the beginning...

And the journey continues here...


eonwarped_tax.png
steemengineBanner.png

Click the banners to learn more about each community!


Get Universal Income:
MannaBase and SwiftDemand
Trade STEEM on Binance
Sola.ai :: Earn.com :: Refereum :: STEEM for Tasks :: Sweatcoin
Sort:  

Its beautiful😁

The rock does like a stone golem from The Witcher. One day i'll get there, Iceland I mean.

it do looks like one. a wonder it it has a name it most have it very spesical.
maby not deep conventions but good memory fore sure. :)

This place is called Hvitserkur. Added to the post, forgot! Though I should also probably see if it has some sort of translation.

Iceland is one of the many places I would love to visit, especially to see the northern lights, it looks such a beautiful place thank you for sharing.

Thanks! It was beautiful

Great photos @eonwarped! What did you use to take those?
Iceland seems so beautiful!

I have a pixel 2 xl for these photos. It really is amazing the photos I was able to snap from it so far.

Its probably a Golem summoned by a witch a long time ago, don't the Icelandic folklore have mention of witches, fairies, elves and other such creatures?

I should find out haha. There's definitely something.

The photos you took are beautiful! Good job!
This looks like a wonderful place to spend the day! ♥

Yeah I was thinking that if I lived there I would definitely want to hike the area. Unfortunately we were on a tight schedule.

Thats a bummer! Maybe next time!

Nice imagination. To me it looks like part of an isis human sacrifice to the stone monster :P

Lovely pics and writeup.

SIGNATURE.png

Why does it have to be ISIS :P

:P

I'm a bit colourblind. On first glance the 'sacrifice victim' looked like it was wearing one of those orange jumpsuits. Time for some therapy probs :P

SIGNATURE.png

Your series is beautiful!! Thanks so much for sharing your travels to Iceland. I didn't know you were doing this until I saw you in the Inbox Runneth Over.

Thanks for checking it out! I'm basically going through chronologically. I think I'll probably do a summary view at the end as well.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55