Into the Donguri Forest

in #travel7 years ago

There's a few more travel posts I'd like to make about my recent stay in Taiwan, and I will intersperse with other content as well, so stay tuned!

A while back I stumbled upon a post about a particular Miyazaki Store, and decided that I had to go visit while I was in the area.

IMG_20171019_141943.jpg

The store has some very cool decorations, as anticipated. Above is the Totoro cat bus, with some Halloween accents.

IMG_20171019_141939.jpg

A little Totoro hides in a tree house.

IMG_20171019_141912.jpg

Noface in the corner! I didn't want to be eaten so I left Noface be.

IMG_20171019_141743.jpg

A giant sleeps. There's a little hut where you can peek into the window to see.

IMG_20171019_141651.jpg

Totoro standing guard.

So that's Donguri Republic. It was fun to see all the Miyazaki themed merchandise, and it really makes me want to revisit the movies. We didn't buy anything, but that's because we already bought a really cute one.

A couple days back we had gone to a related store called Donguri Forest.

IMG_20171017_140621.jpg

Looks like "Dangur Forest" with mispelled danger. After a closer comparison, I am now realizing that these stores are probably not the same. Here is the branding from the republic:

donguri republic.jpg

But anyway, we were shopping for some gifts, and stumbled upon this store with more Miyazaki film themed merchandise.

IMG_20171017_141542.jpg

Meet... Jiji, the cat of Kiki's Delivery Service, and now a new member of the family. This cute little fellow is a backpack, and can store a few small items! The non-backpack version of Jiji was way more expensive, for some reason. So of course we got the backpack. My wife commented, gosh, don't let the brother-in-law's daughter see this one, we may have to give it to her! She actually saw it, and was unimpressed. Maybe too young. We ended up finding other gifts.

IMG_20171018_134433.jpg

The envy of the town. Spreading happiness by wearing this backpack. You could hear the gasps of delight as we casually browsed around with Jiji manning the back.

I've never watched Kiki's Delivery service before. So that'll be next on my list! I wonder if I can rock this bag in NYC. Maybe it'll be too cute for that. Actually, I wonder if that many people know of this cat in the first place here...

In other news, Opal seems unimpressed as well.

Sort:  

I've never travelled there, but one day I'd like to be able to do it, there are so many brilliant things to see in Asia in general, I really liked the photos, thank you for sharing your experience. :)
Greetings!!

WOW. Its like they love cats so much in TAIWAN. Amazing pictures. Even a school bag. Lolx. ENjoy @eonwarped.

NOT SURE I WANT TO VISIT THERE ANYTIME SOON ,BUT YOUR IMAGES HAVE APPEALED TO MY TOURIST-SIDE.

HOLD ON LEMME PACK MY BAGS.

This is so fucking cute. Seems like a good place to visit with the children (which I don't have).

Huge cat fan as well. I bet if this place was in Germany everyone would laugh at you for visiting it.

Whatever tho.

Awesome! Great coverage. I'd love to check this place out - my child loves the Miyazaki world as well!

Really a cute store! Those stuffed creatures are really huge. I bet it would be fun to spend some time in there. The cat backpack is really cute! I think I would wear it. I once, as a college graduate, carried an umbrella that was a bright red cat and had pointy up ears. I wonder what happened to that umbrella... Anyway, cool post! :) #theunmentionables

Ah, the happy things in life.

Slightly trippy, like something from a bizaare dream. I used to watch the Miyazaki animations. They are strange. @ironshield

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Voting on this post since your @ocd nomination had been paid out. :)

Keep up the good content!

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67368.20
ETH 2618.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68