NEW YORK through my lens (PART #6) - CITY PHOTOGRAPHY - and New Year's Eve on a flight to Argentina !

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

I celebrated the New Year in three different countries, in three different languages (at least), taking three different flights in a 18-hours journey on my way to Buenos Aires. I will keep you entertained with everything that comes my way down here in Argentina. I wanna start the year dancing Tango and learning Spanish. I need your support for that!

However, first and foremost, I want to make my congratulations to all of us, we made it...

From NEW YORK to BUENOS AIRES...Welcome in 2018 !!!

happy new year.001.jpeg

IMG-20180101-WA0010.jpg

20171231_212350.jpg

20171231_212231.jpg

I am not incredibly rich (like some of you successful Steemians!) and therefore I had to take the cheapest flights. As a result of that, today I end up being almost alone, in a flight with more flight attendants then passengers, on New Years's Eve, stopping in Medellín and Lima, and it feels more and more like an endless Odyssey. I take advantage of these long hours in all these airports to catch up with my last post about New York and show you a few more pictures before the landscape is going to change...radically.

I36C0329.JPG

Now, do you have 5 minutes to hear my last episode of NEW YORK through my lens ?

Just in case you are planning a trip to NYC, I want to recommend you a really special place, somewhere a bit off-track from the usual touristic attractions of the city. My family came to visit and we spent Christmas together in an Airbnb flat, with a typical Italian meal and all that. It was their first Airbnb experience, and as they got in the flat they found a used condom under the bed...not a good start. My mother had a harsh time to find the right ingredients, too. However, I tell you this so you know who the subjects of some of my photos are, down below.

First thing you wanna do is taking the Subway on Manhattan bridge, direction Brooklyn.

I36C0332.JPG

I36C0333.JPG

25th Street station on the R train. Walk east one block to Green-Wood at 5th Avenue and 25th Street. You will find the gate of the Green-wood cemetery standing before you. It's a monumental place, really grand and vast, and the gothic arches at the entrance are very promising. Right at the entrance, I stumble in this incredibly sensitive, delicate tiny mausoleum. It was made by Thomas Millington of Norwich in 1595. It's dedicated to all the children who died prematurely during Victorian times. 'Babes in the Wood' is a traditional motif of children's tales (think of 'Hansel and Gretel' by the Brothers Grimm!).

I36C0338.JPG

I36C0335.JPG

This is the English version of that same motif. Two young siblings are left in the care of their uncle after their parents' death. The uncle hires two men to slay the children so that he can take their inheritance. While on their journey through the woods "to London," however, one of the two hired killers has a fit of remorse and slays the other, leaving the children to wander on their own. Unable to fend for themselves, the babes die of hunger in each other's arms and are covered with leaves by birds.

I36C0340.JPG

I36C0341.JPG

I36C0344.JPG

I36C0348.JPG

More than 5,000 Civil War veterans are buried in Green-Wood. Most of them fought for the Union, but there are some Confederates too. Given the controversy which is splitting the American society in these days about all the Confederate statues around the country, I was surprised to see this one here...at the highest peak of the hill.

After a long walk, searching for my Italian ancestors who emigrate to the US in the late 19th century, and finding a section where thousands of them were buried, I moved back to Manhattan, walking on the Brooklyn bridge, in the cold sea breeze.

I36C0451.JPG

I36C0467.JPG

I36C0471.JPG

I36C0478.JPG

I36C0479.JPG

I36C0511.JPG

I36C0513.JPG

I36C0515.JPG

Look where this place is on the Steemit Worldmap : steemitworldmap 40° 42' 51" lat 74° 0' 23" long description d3scr

It's 2018, be gentle and kind to each other, travel and love with all your strength...

* #steemitbloggers * - @appreciator

Let me know if you wanna meet in Argentina, I will be here for a while!

Truly yours,
Alessandro & Elena

Sort:  

some day i wlll be doing the same thanks for the picture they are good and beautful perpect

Thanks @azizulhassan there will be more photos coming from Argentina

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @elenahornfilm to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

This post has received a 0.44 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @elenahornfilm. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Very interesting and amazing! Happy New Year. I wish you all the best in 2018 and more interesting posts like this one)

Hey @bilta thanks a lot for your encouragement!

This post has received a 0.65 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @elenahornfilm.

Amazing, this post is witnessing that you had a great time. Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Happy new year to you and your family.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Thanks @chireerocks look forward to seeing what you share next

Welcome, everyday i post in three categories, first smartphone photography, quote series where i give short messages from quotes and then video series of quotes, where i give short message from quote through video, so i cover photography, writing and video content.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Hello, please follow the rules of the group ►Resteem to steemit◄ and you will be upvoted by me and resteemed by the most active members in the group.

yeah but the next time you don't have to tell me what did you resteemed, just post your link and I'll check and approve it, thanks for following the rules. ☺

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Very atreactive journey. Nice share.

@hayirhah thanks and have a great 2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50