«FOOD ON FOOT» - Street food in Hanoi

in #travel6 years ago

DSC_001.jpg

Walking the streets of Hanoi, tasting and learning about Vietnamese food culture is an amazing experience. A guided tour that took us to local restaurants, food stalls and portable kitchens along busy streets on a 3 hour tour.


After several visits to Hanoi, doing the usual sightseeing stuff, this was a different experience. We had never tried street food before. But we learned that it is possible to dine along the streets in Old Quarter for less than a couple of US dollars per day. The best thing: it is so tasty!



Every noodle restaurant is specialized and makes soup with only one type of meat. This means you do not go and ask for the menu, thinking you can choose. The first thing to do, is to decide if you want beef, chicken, pork, snails, etc. Then you simply go to the noodle restaurant selling the meat of your choice that day.


After a delicious noodle soup with chicken, we crossed the street for desert. Deep fried bananas, made on the street in a portable little fast food kitchen.


We continued walking through the narrow streets. Luckily we had a guide. If not, we would not have known what to eat or where to eat. Strange food like worms and goose eggs with fetuses, among others, were too strange and unusual to us!

Cooking is done in the street. You eat standing, or while you are walking. The dishes are done in the street with cold water from a water hose. Maybe this was the reason we have not tried street food before....


The tour was great fun and full of surprises. Great flavors. Cheap and tasty food. Next time in Hanoi, I definitely know where to eat and how to eat.


Before leaving Vietnam we had the most expensive dinner on the whole trip on Phu Quoc island in South Vietnam. Back at the hotel that night we got diaries that lasted for 10 days! And when I tell you our flight from Vietnam went from Phu Quoc to HCMC - Singapore - Dubai to Mauritius... I will leave that to your imagination!


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen

Sort:  

I have featured this post in the @pifc curation contest for undervalued quality content.
You can see the details here.
https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-19-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-92fbc29bace4cest

Thank you :)

Thanks again, i resteem it and gave you a upvote. Btw, here is the weekend content, part2 of Street Art Mauritius :) enjoy :)
https://steemit.com/art/@digi-me/street-art-mauritius-part-2-the-latest-development-of-street-art-in-mauritius

Thank you for such a great post! I love the photos, the food looks delicious! It's always great to see how different cultures 'operate' too.

I found your post because @headchange featured you in our Pay it Forward Curation contest. You are most welcome to join us next week with an entry of your own :)

Hey thanks, how do i enter for next week with an entry. Already postet a new one, I would like to participate with this; https://steemit.com/travel/@digi-me/porlwi-by-nature-a-cultural-festival-and-a-feast-for-the-senses

Hey @digi-me, I like your post but this is a pay it forward contest; your entry would be showcasing two posts from people other than yourself :)

Here's the link for this weeks if you're still interested : https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-20-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-71556c5823d6cest

Now you have a taste of Southeast Asia. 😊 I wonder if you tried chao long noodles? I did not know about it when we were in Ho Chi Minh. I tried it in Palawan when we were already back here in the Philippines. That was when they said it is actually a native menu from Vietnam. It tastes good!

Are those deep fried bananas wrapped in a spring roll wrapper? If yes, we call it turon in the Philippines. Have you tried the goose egg with fetus? We don't have goose egg in the Philippines but have duck eggs we call balut. I don't know any part of our country that eat worms, though. 😂 We have fishballs and barbecues along the streets... Though I have to admit that yes, sometimes you have to be careful with street foods. If you have a tour guide who recommends street food cart then I guess that is fine.

You did great in sharing your food trip in Vietnam. Thank you!

I came across your post through @headchange who featured it here: Pay it forward curation contest.

That sounds like so much fun! Did the guide end up costing more than the food? It was probably worth it at any rate. I can just imagine myself ending up with something like worms by mistake. :D

It did not cost that much for the guide. And it was worth it, because, before the tour we did not dare to try. But after the tour we learned so much. The only thing I would recommend is to start with this tour. Do not wait untill the last day, as we did. Then it will be so easy to find the right places to eat.

I don't blame you a bit

before the tour we did not dare to try

I am pretty sure that between the water hose and the snails I would have been a bit cautious myself. Pretty smart move getting that guide. Better late than never.

I came to your post because @headchange featured you in his entry to our Pay if Forward Curation Contest.

You make me hungry @digi-me, now I'm going to blame @headchange for featuring you in her pay it forward contest for this week... briing me the fried banana now! LOL.. what a culinary adventure and great photos too @digi-me, love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 62843.32
ETH 3475.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53