Why Learn to Scuba Dive?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Why try scuba diving? This is what I'm going to answer today. After learning how to scuba dive 3 years ago, life has never been the same again. It totally changed the way I travel, it gave me a purpose to go around the world. I didn't know what the future holds, everything just started to unfold. From not knowing anything about scuba diving to diving in the best dive spots in the world. I was able to fulfill my dream of scuba diving with the hammerhead sharks in The Galapagos and it also lead me to pursue a startup project in tourism. I can't wait to scuba dive again when the weather is better and share my scuba adventures here while I work on my project.

Now, do you see what I mean? I don't know what your purpose is but scuba diving gave way to many great things in my life. I can say now that I live to scuba dive. This is probably something to mark off people's bucket list. Here are the reasons you should try scuba diving.

Experience a different kind of adventure

It is an amazing recreational sport like no other and it is not for everyone. Experience an adrenaline rush, imagine doing what only the lucky and adventurous ones can. Take it to the next level by mastering a different kind of scuba diving adventure, from wreck diving, ice diving, cave diving to technical diving. There are so many things to try and it gets even more exciting. You get to explore the unexplored and unlock a whole new world. And it is totally safe, as long as you go through all the courses and follow the safety procedures. And of course, don't panic!

Explore another world

It is a whole different world underwater, there are just many things hidden from us. Fascinating creatures, from small fishes to dangerous animals, it's really worth checking out while you are still alive. Besides, 70% of the earth's surface is covered with water. If your goal is to see the world, then you should learn to scuba dive. If you haven't scuba dived then you haven't seen the whole world yet.

Be weightless

Scuba diving is the closest thing to become weightless here on earth, and this is why Astronauts also dive. It simulates the condition of weightlessness in space. You will learn how to master buoyancy in the open-water course so you can be free to roam in the deep, with a dive buddy of course. It is such a good feeling to be able to stay underwater, to swim and float freely. Get into a cave and avoid obstacles just by breathing. Trust me, it's pretty magic.

Erase and unwind

Looking for ways to get away from it all? To unplug? Then strap a tank and dive. Listen to your own breathing and feel the present moment. Scuba diving is the best way to meditate, stop thinking and just enjoy the beauty around you. You need to focus on staying safe, being alert, taking care of your dive buddy and admiring those sharks. Underwater, you just become totally present and all your worries are suddenly gone.

Stay connected in the deep

Don't fancy people? Then underwater is better. There are better creatures out there that humans are so willing to destroy these days. But then there's a few of us who take care of them, scuba divers are all connected in protecting marine life. The sport connects us all in the deep. And if you are a bad diver, then someone will show you a hand signal. Don't step on the corals, don't touch anything. Scuba diving also lets you master the art of non-verbal communication. Finally, someone is not talking.

Invest in life experience

Don't know how to spend your money anymore? Then learn to scuba dive or donate it to someone who can't afford to scuba dive all the time. If you want to know what it's like to really live then take a new adventure. Scuba dive for a good cause and help protect marine life. There are many ways to spend that money before you die. Scuba diving can be expensive, but if you have the money, you can invest in all those fancy gear that will give you more safety underwater - dive computer, BCD, regulator, diving fins and mask. Then pack it all in one bag and scuba dive around the world. It's all worth it.

Sort:  

Great post!

I was able to fulfill my dream of scuba diving with the hammerhead sharks in The Galapagos and it also lead me to pursue a startup project in tourism.

Wow, that is what I would call a true adventure!

And it is totally safe, as long as you go through all the courses and follow the safety procedures.

I am glad to hear that because the first question people ask is, "is it safe?"

If your goal is to see the world, then you should learn to scuba dive. If you haven't scuba dived then you haven't seen the whole world yet.

How true! It's a completely different world out there, visited by so few humans.

Scuba diving is the closest thing to become weightless here on earth, and this is why Astronauts also dive.

Something that most people would love to experience, like being on the moon!

Scuba diving also lets you master the art of non-verbal communication. Finally, someone is not talking.

It is getting more and more tempting. :-)

I do have scuba diving on by bucket list, now all I have to do is search for the time and resources to make it happen.

Thanks for the good read!

If you have time, it would be great if you could please check out my Missing Steemit FAQ, my latest post.

Thanks for the comment, I hope you get to try it soon too! 😊

Ok, I will check it.

Scuba diving sounds pretty awesome.
I should definitely try it before I am dead.
I would never go in a cave though...

Yeah lol. Cave is fun, but ok try scuba diving first. 😊

...cool. You've sold it.

You're so brave to dive with sharks! For some reason sharks are my biggest fear, but I still did the PADI course it Thailand, and it was one of the best experiences I ever had. Maybe I'll have the courage some day to scuba dive with sharks

The reef sharks can be pretty shy and hard to see. Good luck! 😊

Nice post..!!! Thanks for sharing

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Want to try that scuba diving ;(

I love it! Somehow I was able to "shallow" scuba dive when I was on an island in the Caribbean as a teenager. I think we were somewhere in the range of 20-30 feet underwater with scuba tanks .. I can't recall wearing a wetsuit but the water was like being in a bath so it probably wasn't necessary.

The best part (for me) was: No certification needed! We were given a 15 minute tutorial about equalizing and a scare story about not rising up too fast.

I love it, and would love to get scuba certified to do some barrier reef scuba!!

Maybe you did 'discover scuba diving' where you get to try to dive even without the certification. It lets you decide if you want to proceed with open-water course.

Yeah, I will continue the scare story here on steemit 😊

Hurry, the barrier reef is dying.

Yeah, it is very possible / likely that I did a discover scuba diving Excursion. Or I just found a "shady" shore excursion in the Caribbean in the early 2000s haha. I'll hope that it was all safe and legal and allowable and such :)

I know :( the poor barrier reefs are all in danger from dumb people. I need to make some solid plans to cross off a bunch of my bucket list items, before I kick the bucket too far down the road!

I'll hope that it was all safe and legal and allowable and such :)

Hmmm maybe, sometimes not haha. I have known some shady practices of scuba dive shops lol, we are just talking about life anyway.

Okaaay, I hope you dive the barrier reef soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69557.92
ETH 3792.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52