Why Do We Get Attracted to the Unknown? - The Beauty of Mystery

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

12696920_10153957670678711_7657949130133040591_o.jpg

The unknown seems to be my definition of beautiful, the beauty of mystery. I'm an endless seeker with no past. There is this hunger for knowledge, to know what I don't know and to have what I don't have. I have learned to get out of my comfort zone to look for adventures, to brave new lands and to make something out of my annoyingly short life. The hunger of knowing and experiencing everything just pushes me out of the known. There must be something about the unknown that will give me satisfaction.

I am to adventure just as a man is to a mysterious woman. He likes to hunt, the thrill of the chase. He gets satisfaction from something he worked hard for. She becomes more attractive when she is not too revealing, as there's something left to his imagination. She might be something that he can't have, so he tries to know her, get her and keep her. There's something intimidating about a mysterious woman, this sense of danger.

The same thing that I search for adventures in these unknown parts of the world, traveling the off the beaten track gives me unique experiences. I was not really bothered when I arrived at a strange place during an ungodly hour. There is this feeling of danger that makes me addicted to it, anticipating that something might or might not go wrong. It is being addicted to risk. And also one of the reasons I like some extreme sports such as free diving and scuba diving. The feeling of danger or being close to death makes me feel alive.

These people who are attracted to extreme sports, speeding, drugs and other dangerous behaviors are usually impulsive and easily bored. New experiences release the pleasure chemicals in their brains that give them feelings of satisfaction. Sometimes, this type of behavior has something to do with their past, that could shape the way they are today.

For some reason, there was also this unknown pleasure when I feel that my money could run out anytime. Even though, during those years that never really happened. I seemed to become unaffected by my own worries. My own worries became a trigger to seek for new job experiences during my trip.

Unknown to me is the equivalent of freedom. If you are not used to risks and the pressure of uncertainties, you might find it such a big responsibility. This is the other side of freedom.

It is not that I don't have fear anymore, in fact, I am always afraid. It is true that it makes you happy when you do something that scares you. Traveling still makes me feel scared deep inside, but the beauty of the unknown just keeps pulling me back in.

Being attracted to the unknown or to risks also mean that I am prone to binge drinking and drug abuse, so that is why I try my best to control myself and to stay far away from people who are into destructive things. This is still about seeking for new experiences.

Being drawn to the unknown or danger does not mean a bad thing, it can give a new meaning to life. It can make you live life to the fullest. For the society to function, it needs risk takers as well. We need to push boundaries and embrace the beauty of the unknown.

One is never afraid of the unknown; one is afraid of the known coming to an end.

Sort:  

Are you jumping in my head, pulling out my unformed jumbled up thoughts,
and eloquently translating them?

....feels like it....
very strange.

Was just about to comment the same thing... @diabolika seems very good at doing this. :)

eerily, spookily, so. ( don't tell her, but she scares me)

lol thanks. (That's a compliment).

Hell yeah it is!! :)

I seem to be getting comments from the adrenaline junkies here lol.

lol - I'm weaning myself off that drug, at it's fine !
(VERY occasionally go for a quick dopamine blast, and have a party)
Gotta try and keep my brain cells - I lost too many in Mojave desert, raving lol

You are mid 30's right? - oh those were the days ! lol

You are mid 30's right?

lol thanks for the reminder

HEY @diabolika it was awesome to read that the sense of risk gives you the kick in life. And there are really very few people like you. But don't you feel at some point of time that you should settle down in life and have loving family.
From seeing the above post i can say that you don't have any commitments (maybe i can be wrong and sorry for being so judgmental) .
but seriously we are attracted to the unknown i have experienced it a lot and suffer a lot too.(i like a girl and she never shows interest its been 7 years that i have been chasing here, i feel helpless at times. )

I find the unknown and mysterious go hand in hand with freedom as well. Being comfortable with this state of being allows yourself to feel secure with uncertainties and become more open minded. Control and tyranny feed off of fear.

Thanks for posting!

Control and tyranny feed off of fear.

I agree. Thanks for your comment.

He have a saying:"eu nu strivesc corola de minuni a lumii" a rude translation would be " I dont crush the worlds corolla"

I still don't understand the translation.

He used a tehnique " the beauty of uglyness" meaning that he wont solve any mistery in the world, because the mistery or not understanding something...is the true beauty

Oh yeah, I agree. Thanks!

the mistery or not understanding something...is the true beauty

Beautiful and stirring writing. I also love the unknown... it's like a switch turns on, your senses all fire at 100% power... it's a feeling of being truly alive.

I'm not a thrill junkie as such... high, fast rides don't attract me any more. But yes, going somewhere I've never been, and doing things I've never done... that's a different story.

Wonderful stuff. :)

Beautifully written. I could never be this kind of person taking risks and live life outside of my comfort zone, it simply ain't who I am. But for a short moment I feel like I just got a peek at the mind of those who do :)

Beautiful comment. Thank you!

Humans are curious by nature and the reward of adventure is usually worth it. We tend to find amazing things and places that way.

Dude you should really get on our Be Awesome chat, linked in all my posts. It'd be awesome to chat with you.

Sounds awesome, but I'm not hanging out that much in the chatrooms here. The comment section is already a chatroom lol.

Excellent thank you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by diabolika from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32