So You Ask How My Trip Was?

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

12486010_10153917345183711_3659190444060545138_o.jpg

I’ve seen more injustice than museums, more poverty than waterfalls... For the few people in my life who ask how my trip was, it’s hard to sum it up in a few words, but I will try to tell through my writing. I was more of a world observer than a traveler, and what I had experienced were things that shaped the way I think and see the world today. My trip was a mixture of freedom, joy, pain, excitement, pouring rain, maximum comfort, and discomfort. I was feeling alive, useless, tired and home.

I’m sorry that I don’t have a lot of photos of food and places, most of the time I was too busy being in the moment. I was too busy laughing with the locals, listening to their stories and having dinner with my host family. There were too many things happening at the same time that I didn’t have time to take my camera out. I didn’t want to miss every single moment.

I was tired complaining about my petty problems and my own little life that I decided to forget and leave it all behind. It was a sudden shift from being a participant in this society to a person moving from one home to another, one story to another, one life to another. I was part of everything. There's a much bigger world out there, more legitimate worries than rambling about my coworker.

The world does not revolve around me.

12628367_10153917329528711_2717462198069496559_o.jpg

I didn’t travel just to elevate my comfort. I embraced discomfort like a good friend. I want to know how the others feel, I want to feel their pain, I want to learn, I want to understand.

I was volunteering in a small English school in a small town in Sumatra when my host who also owns the school recounted how he was not able to receive the school supplies donated by his Dutch couchsurfer guest. The customs was trying to ask him to pay a hefty fee, but being unable to pay, he just cried and let it go.

There were times I felt useless, I didn’t know what to do but just to listen. I traveled and went out of the system only to witness the same system that enslaves many people outside my own little world.

And here we are living up to our Ayn Rand’s fantasies, running out of real problems, trying to escape the life many people out there wish to have. Fighting for the kind of life we deserve, by getting more, consuming more and being ahead simply because the choices are laid out upon us. It is easy to turn a blind eye, turn off the news because we choose not to be filled with negativity. It’s easy to just argue over stupid things on the internet, and waste our precious time in this of ‘us vs them’, ‘right vs left’, ‘women vs’ men’, ‘independent vs corporate’, and all this neverending fight. There are actually people out there who would rather fill their stomach than buy a book.

Why can't we just unite instead to achieve our common goal - peace, freedom, abundance, good life!

But you won’t know the real thing if you are just sitting there in your comfortable little world. Oh, thank the social benefits your grandmother does not have to work hard and sell bracelets on the streets, thank the internet you can isolate yourself even more from the realities of the world, thank the buildings and the metros you are so proud of. Those that were already there before you were even born.

Are you claiming you are the happiest country in the world? I'm sorry but I've seen the real happy people during my travel. They are actually those who have nothing much and those who created a life they don't need to escape from.

And here I am writing this, recounting my experiences from my trip, exposing my belief, the things that I have learned, and risk being judged by the unforgiving crowd.

12715991_1766450546910428_7871786525643395600_o.jpg

I found myself waiting by the road side to hitch another ride being ignored by those nice cars when a truck full of smelly pigs stopped to give me a ride. And there I was sharing the story of my chosen lifestyle to a complete stranger, then being dropped off at my destination taking his ‘be careful my child’ advice.

Sick and tired of those bad things people are doing to other people? Are you losing faith in humanity now? Believe me, there are actually people out there who had nothing to give, but still they shared their food, their homes and their lives with me.

It was madness if you want to call it that way, but thanks to this madness I appreciate my life even more. I appreciate all these things I have - a roof over my head, good food, clean water and fresh air. I do not need to complain further.

I was in a small village and asked about who could guide me to trek to a volcano, and some men from the indigenous community wanted to earn a little bit offered to help. But I had nothing much to give, perhaps the money I was going to pay was not even enough for their hard work. But in the end, they shared some space in their hut where I could spend a night. Apparently, they had no meat to put on the table. There was no factory animal meat beautifully packed and stored in the refrigerator. Hunting an animal, or eating meat is only for a special occasion here. But they have fresh vegetables from their farm and water from the spring.

I stayed in the favela in Brazil, camped alone in a mountain in Indonesia, walked through the slums of Buenos Aires, slept outside in the icy Andean cold, kicked out by churches, hosted by firemen, accommodated by strangers...

So are you still asking how my trip was?

11794460_10153558615973711_289328495204292018_o.jpg

It is too long but I can only sum up the things that I have learned. I cannot say that travel is the primary key to have a meaningful life, otherwise, I am condemning the majority to a worthless life.

It is a unique and life changing experience I would recommend if you want to appreciate and be grateful for what you have, to have a fresh perspective of the world, to experience more and learn more, to restore your faith in humanity.

I look back at those times during my journey when I was exhausted, sad, overjoyed and afraid… but these feelings just made me a stronger person. I sacrificed many things in life - relationships, career, things, friends but in return I gained more from my journey. And all I have left are memories, a mind full of vision and colors brought by my own adventures, and lessons I have learned in order to move forward in life.

Sort:  

There is a lot to attract the eye in our daily life, be it in social media, brands, packaging of food in our big cities, but not much to attract the heart, what you are seeing and experiencing is something very few can do and feel. Once again, keep it up and enjoy those small things that make your heart and soul feel better and stronger because that is real.

True. Thanks for your kind words @digdaga.

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 25.00 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @diabolika.

I like the ‘be careful my child’ dig...enough to raise anyone's hackles I'm sure😉

I know... Thanks. :)

Great post and interesting pictures! Like it!)

Very nice summary of your post-trip mental state. I wanted to make something similar when I finished my trip, but words failed me. Your posts have been excellent.

My biggest takeaway from traveling is that no one has a monopoly on the right way to live. Just because everyone around me is working themselves to death and choking on their possessions, it doesn't mean I have to join them. The world has shown me other ways to live happily.

I agree @fronttowardenemy, people are free to live the kind of life they want, there's really no correct way. What is good for me, might not work or true for the others.

The world has shown me other ways to live happily.

The world has shown me too.... :)

Congratulations for your excellent post, I invite you to follow us and we grow faster, greetings

This post has received a 16.67 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @diabolika. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

hey @diabolika, this is the second time I have heard you mention Indonesia in one of your posts. When I lived on Sumatra, I meet many caring and giving people like the ones you are sharing about.

It is a humbling experience when families who have very little offer you their very best.

Thanks for sharing. Thanks for reminding me about my second home.

I spent like 2 months traveling in the not so touristy places in Indonesia. It is true, I might come back to visit some friends there soon! To Yogyakarta especially!

Thanks. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by diabolika from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Good story, giving me a lot to think about.

And you're right, we are usually caught up in our own (little) problems, and don't see how others are.

I do not completely agree with your sentiment though, also here in the "rich worlds" there are plenty of people that have virtually nothing. People depending on hand-outs of others or maybe a governmen.
People that may have worked hard all their lives but now find themselves in a situation where all they can fall back on is themselves.

The rich countries may have gotten wealthier, but also a lot more egocentrical. If you don't fit in, you're cast away like you're nothing.

;-)

Point taken. I agree, people are depending on hand-outs from the government. Believe me, I've also met people who are traveling using these'hand-outs'... in order to have that privilege to travel.

The attitude of people have changed or not, I guess the way we behave towards others is the result of the environment that shaped the way we think and act.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94