I Found My Way Back to Nature - Musings From The Heart and Other Madness

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

C360_2016-11-07-20-35-38-399.jpg

“I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead. (I think I made you up inside my head.)” ― Sylvia Plath

For a long time, I refused to need anyone special or anyone to call my own, I had found comfort in solitude. I found solace in nature, where there’s nothing but pure bliss. Happiness was awakened from a deep sleep. I didn’t know how to love nor express it to people who deserve it. I was a selfish being who was heavily guarded, brought about by the things of the past.

I found myself staring at the sunset every day as I walked along the shore, such a paradise to spend some time with myself. I knew that it would also be nice to share the beauty of the moment with a good company. But I had to go through it all, I had to first appreciate what nature's beauty was like, even stare at it through tears. I never knew what enjoying life was like until I broke free from the chains of the past. My heart has taken me to a vast desert of solitude, where there was no one with me, absolutely no one.

Until I found myself nowhere to rest my head on this journey called life, I started to see with a clear vision and without fear, that the best things are yet to come. Through all those lonely walks along the beach, as I watched the sun fade behind the horizon, I began to appreciate the good things in life. The good things in life are just around me - wild and free.

As I traveled, I had the chance to go back to nature and appreciate both its beauty and power over me. Its power to change the way I feel, both happiness and sadness, as both are necessary for my own growth. I had this little conversation inside my head, reflecting on the past, savoring the now and understanding the uncertainty of future. At the same time, wondering how these wonderful creations come to existence. It became a spiritual exercise for me to just silently gaze at things, and to be aware of the present moment. I’m not a spiritual person or anything you want me to be, but as I traveled, I had confirmed myself what those gurus were trying to teach. But I formed my own religion, I worshiped myself and nature. I celebrated life!

C360_2017-07-06-11-58-23-905.jpg

The moment I decided to die to the past and live in the now, was the start of the rest of my life.

I tried to cure loneliness through emotional dependence on people, when all this time, happiness was just there in my heart, waiting to be awakened. I started doing the things that I love to do. I went away from the crowd and had an orgy with the sky, the trees, the sea, the stars and the mountains. This is how it is to be happy.

Until you know how to seek for that happiness on your own, until you know how to be ceaselessly aware of the present moment, then you will be able to spread the love and joy to those around you. I didn’t deny my own feelings, I was happy when I’m sad, I was happy when I’m alone, I was happily feeling all those feelings and bringing them into the present. I tried to recognize these feelings, I didn’t fight them. I felt it all.

I found my own madness a rare quality that I’m not ashamed of. I can be extremely happy or sad, and I can also find myself being in between. I can be diagnosed with whatever disorder or dysfunctionality you want me to have...but,

I am what I am.

“I find it wholesome to be alone the greater part of the time. To be in company, even with the best, is soon wearisome and dissipating. I love to be alone. I never found the companion that was so companionable as solitude.”

― Henry David Thoreau

Sort:  

I found this post interesting. I think you did a good job

U are welcome, plzzz visit my blog and help by Upvoting

This comment has received a 0.12 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This comment has received a 0.13 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Nice article, experience nature is a deal worth trying. People you think can make you happy might disappoint you, you own yourself a duty by ensuring that your happy all the time without the help of anyone. Nature will help you see beyond the present, it will help you see how great God is, seeing how the trees and grasses survive without anyone feeding them will make you know that God is wonderful and that he will take care of your need. Good one on nature. Keep it coming.

Exactly, when there's no one else to turn to, nowhere to go, the only way is up. Nature is a place to reflect and appreciate the beauty of being alive. Thanks @hynet

You are welcome. I really enjoy your work.

I agree. Our connection to nature has a way of taking us into ourselves and freeing us from feeling the need for companionship. During my travels, I've also experienced the same journey and returned a little more whole and happy with myself. I believe I learned to be happier because I had found peace in my heart . I believe peace can be achieved through the process of much contemplation and reflection spent in solitude. Nature surrounds me and it is there every day if I look for it. It is the friend that accompanies me and inspires my moments of solitude.

Exactly my thoughts @anavictoriakong, we'll know a great deal about ourselves by having some time to be on our own. Nature is the best remedy for those who are lonely, confused or afraid. It is also where we can be happy and free.

Wow... very well said thank you for sharing. you have my upvote

I would define, this as a poetry of words as the rhythmical creation of Beauty. Good writing. Enjoyed a lot. 👋👋👋👋👋👋

Thank you! :)

A beautifully soulful piece and photo ❤🌼

Thank you for reading @jaynie :)

Had a look at your profile. All your pieces are good. Right up my alley 👌🤗 so have followed. I love REAL stories. You know... the good stuff 😎

I followed you back @jaynie. Thanks, I really appreciate it. :)

Thank you :) - I hope you enjoy the feed too :D

@jaynie I gave you a long comment lol, on "what you think you have learnt from steemit" post ;)

thank you so much :) I will take a look soon :)

How did I not know about you so far. I absolutely loved this. You wrote from your heart and it really got through to me. Thank you.

I'm happy that you love this post. Thank you @things :)

You're welcome. I am always looking for fellow nature lovers. It is my solace.

hi nice view...love it..kindly check also my travel post,https://steemit.com/travel/@mrblu/travel-with-mrblu-unib-island-surigao-the-mans-island hope you like it..

I will, thanks!

Wow that was a beautiful read 💜

Thank you! :)

This was so wonderful, thank you for sharing. :-) Starting with Sylvia Plath. <3

And the orgy with nature. lol I loved it. "...[D]ie to the past and live in the now." Very nice. I'm working on that now, but I'm also a Cancer, and I cling so hard to things even when I KNOW I shouldn't. lol

Just learned all of these from authors, spiritual gurus and people I drew inspiration from, and also from my own travel experience. We are all working towards being the version of ourselves.

We are "getting there". :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99